We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real hidden gem”

La Porchetta Pollo Bar
Ranked #3,451 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a real hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we stumbled on this little restaurant when we were going to see jersey boys at the prince Edward theatre (now showing miss Saigon)
it doesn't look much from the outside and don't expect crisp white linin and candle-light its the food that sells this place
the food is fantastic very cheap for London west end prices and very plentiful the starters are good but because the mains are so big you may struggle to finish them
drinks prices equally reasonable
would HIGHLY reccommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northernlass2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    148
    38
    24
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just keep on coming”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have visited this restaurant for lunch and dinner about 10-12 times over 2 years. This is probably one of our favourite Italian restaurants. It also happens to be one of our favourite restaurants in London. It is inexpensive, consistently high-quality, and very high-value.

The pizzas are a mainstay, and are large, tasty, and done very well. The pastas and risottos are sized generously - the seafood pasta and risotto in particular are loaded with calamari, clams, mussels, and shrimp, and are really a treat. Last but not least, their mains are _amazing_ - a little bit pricier than the rest of the menu, but definitely worth it. The stinco di porco (pork shin) is a huge shank of pork, coupled with a platter of rice and vegetables. This is close to American-sized portions, for a _very_ reasonable price in London.

The service is friendly and efficient, and the location is very accessible - right on the edge of Soho, a short walk from Leicester Square station, and right around the corner from Cambridge Theatre.

I can't recommend this restaurant strongly enough. Fantastic food for a fantastic value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iclaprim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my god!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend has been coming here for at least 12 years and has raved about it so much, so whilst on a trip to see Miss Saigon, why not give it a go. Now this is a no thrills place, but the food is totally amazing, and cheap as well. A shared starter, a pizza each, a bottle of house wine and a pint of shandy for less than 45 quid. In the west end. In the soho area. Am I telling porkies? No I'm not. The food is amazing, the prices are outstanding, and made to feel welcome. Well worth the visit!!!

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here twice in a week after not visiting for a few years. They still have my favourite dish 'Gamberetti alla diavola.' A spicy seafood soup/stew. To be honest this place was even better some years ago before the refurbishment. Now the wine glasses have stems, the house wine has a label on it an the tables are marble. Previously the tables were Formica, the wine came decanted and the glasses were small tumblers. The place is still deliciously unpretentious but the food is excellent. I love this place and I am glad the frontage is so un imposing as it means it is not always rammed. This place is metres from several theatres but most often frequented by people in the know or people who work in the theatres. You won't find haute cuisine but you will find honest Italian food and a relaxed atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“reasonable priced italian”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well cooked pizzas, pastas. Good portions and pretty large salads if you pick right one. Reasonable priced wine by the glass in central london and handy for theatres and soho. Larger tables downstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_PLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porchetta Pollo Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to La Porchetta Pollo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing