We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great indian food”

Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen
Ranked #698 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$52
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Using home-grown spices and fresh ingredients, Potli brings Indian market-style cuisine to London. Serving a huge selection of griddled starters and curries cooked in traditional clay pots, the menu features a fantastic array of tastes and aromas. Already included in the much coveted Tatler's Restaurant Guide 2013 & Michelin Guide, Potli brings the best of Indian bazaar spices from the whole of India to Hammersmith & Chiswick districts of London. Potli offers you fantastic value for money. Along with an extensive wine list, authentic Indian-spiced cocktails are popular choices. Non-alcoholic varieties are also available, as well as fresh churned yogurt drink called lassis.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been there on my hubby's b'day. Restaurant was good,they have two seating ground floor n downstairs. Restaurant was full n they kept our table booked downstairs as our toddler was with us. Kitchen is open in downstairs so we can see how they r cooking through the glass of course. Food was delicious with some thing different. Food quality n quantity both was fine. Price is also fine.Staff was very good,polite n friendly. I recommended this restaurant to our friends. We will go again there

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swatipareek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. Next time please let us know your choice of floor (seating) so that we can reserve a nice table for you.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    97
    29
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

They looked after my table, and tweaked dishes for my kids too. I've had takeaways also from this place, simply great value for money, and leagues ahead of the usual curry house.
We eat out a lot and I'm Indian, so know what I'm eating , everything is fresh, well spiced and nicely served with polite staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sp1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. Next time please let us know in advance for any more special dishes you may require for the kids.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever...ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just try this place it has a great bar, amazing cocktails, food to die for and friendly staff. My partner and I visit Potli so many times now we love the team and food

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MercedesMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. We try to bring innovative spiced cocktails to get you started with the Potli experience.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What an outstanding Indian restaurant- a cut above the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Visited on a busy Friday evening with friends who knew the restaurant and had raved about it and was not disappointed. Set in King Street in west London this is not an area short of good eateries either. Very warm welcome, friendly service. Outstanding and slightly different Indian foods with a range of flavours and origins. Great prices too. Ample portions. Good value wine list and Kingfisher on draught. Will certainly revisit and boking recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. Next time we will suggest you to try our spiced cocktails before your pint of Kingfisher!
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A superb dining experience. Great service - excellent cocktails, starters and main dishes. The Horton and Garton team all 10 of us thoroughly enjoyed our evening and we look forward to visiting Potli again soon. Well done Potli.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
We are delighted to have the entire Horton & Garton Team here.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing