We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location let down with Pan-European Staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel
Ranked #183 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good Location let down with Pan-European Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I am currently staying here on a four day business trip. I have two nights to go. I have stayed here before, but I did not review it then. As this week has been 'eventful' I shall tell you the story so far . . . .

Monday.
Parked in the Mall car park (with a reasonable overnight charge of £5 for the location) and went to level 1 to check in. Automatic check-in gave me an even-numbered room overlooking the Stratford International Railway Station. Entered the middle lift. Card reader failed to work (which is needed to get to your room). Used another lift. On entry the room was clean and comfortable.

Tuesday.
5:55am. Woken by a group of Japanese tourists talking loudly in the corridor outside my room. Their apology in broken English was pointless when I challenged them.
6:30am. Went down to breakfast (as it is supposed to start at 6:30am).
6:31am. Overheard waitress shouting "I'm not rushing because someone is waiting early".
6:40am. Seated for breakfast. Had to have tea as the coffee machine had not been replenished. Had to find a bowl and cutlery for cereal. Staff did not care about customers wanting service (incidentally, it appears that there are no English born staff member present for breakfast).

Wednesday.
5:45am. Woken by the first Eurostar train passing at speed 6 floors below me.
6:55am. Breakfast was slightly better. Very busy and seated at an uncleared, uncleaned table. Coffee machine working. Bread still partly frozen. Butter too cold to spread.
14:15pm. Arrived to my room to find the cleaner still working. Her three words of English were of little comfort. She finished and I placed the 'do not disturb' sign on the door.
15:30pm. Disturbed by a tap-tap-tap on the door as (yet another) non-English member of staff needed to gain entry; possibly to inspect the room. "Can't you see the sign?".
"So sorry. So sorry". Pathetic!!

This room has cost my company a considerable sum for the four night stay. I have two more nights and two more breakfasts to go. Wish me Well.

Room Tip: Even number rooms will be disturbed by passing trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    753
    179
    58
    44
See reviews for
1,006
625
107
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband & I stayed here while visiting family locally. More than just the bog standard premier inn. As it's a new hotel felt very clean. Great views over Olympic village. Great customer services. Great breakfast. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrst131012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ideal location for underground, rooms as expected, comfortable and have everything you need for a visit.staff will accommodate you the best they can as in my case an early check in if you contact in advance. Great staff with not one hassle.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackihig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first stay there was so great that we booked another stay months in advance. Second time around it turned out to be a nightmare. I have been waiting for 10 months for Premier Inn to resolve an issue but never got back to me. Anyway our first night stay with 3 kids which one was 3 months old, we encountered bed bugs to our horror at 3am when it was time for a baby feed. Hubby was riddled with bites and thankfully I didnt put the baby down long on the bed for her feed for her to get bit. We complained to the night manager and she took care of us, got us another room on a fully booked night and helped us move our stuff. Hubby was even told by employees that heard what happened to us that the 10th floor had to be closed off to treat an infestation of bed bugs, so we werent too happy to hear a whole floor had an issue. Finally went to sleep at 5am but then woke up to fire alarms and a hotel evacuation at 6am. Couldnt get back to the room till almost 8am. After catching up on sleep that day hubby and kids woke up to bites that were now swollen, red and itchy. One child had a severe allergic reaction in several areas that we cut our 5 day trip to 4 and because of the swollen bites and lack of sleep due to the bugs we hardly did anything we previously planned to do. Even though we got compensated for our stay, it was definitely a wasted trip. We even had to throw away a lot of items to ensure we didnt bring home any bugs and then need to do costly treatments. We asked that it was only fair for Premier Inn to pay for our luggage, baby bag, kids backpacks and pyjamas that we threw out, but they replied to say we need to supply them with receipts of our items, but who has receipts for items bought months or years ago??? Just very disappointed that they didnt do the right thing by replacing those items and that due to their bug problem we had to shell out money to replace those items as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jencf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stay in a lot of premier inns, this one is unfortunately overrated. The parking is only available offsite which isn't too far though, so it's not a real problem. On entering the room I was welcomed by a fusty smell and on closer inspection there was a great big brown stain on the carpet which was also wet. The beds were very uncomfortable which gave me a bad nights sleep and lower back pain in the morning. Great location, just a bad experience with the hotel standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treemanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the team at the hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If arriving in the day, fab. From Stratford International walk out the station and it is in front of you slightly to the right. If arriving from Stratford Regional walk through the shopping centre by the Forever 21 entrance, go straight through and just before the Waitrose/Market section take the exit to the right and turn left. The hotel is then on the left. However if you arrive late at night, via Stratford Regional the shopping centre is closed so you have to walk all the way round & it is not lit & not signposted. Walk out the station and keep the shopping centre on your left the whole time, walk past the bus station and the back of the shopping centre where all the bins are, just keep the shopping centre on your left & you won't go wrong even if it is a bit desolate.

Arriving at the hotel, there is no check in downstairs - you have to take the lift to the first floor. If you have checked in on line, just go to the screens and you search by your name and it prints out tickets and keycards for you. You need to swipe your keycard in the lift before you push in your floor number otherwise it won't move.

Breakfast was fine. The second morning we were a little late getting down (about 9.30am) and it was heaving and there was a 20 minute wait, even though we had pre-booked. It's all buffet but was warm enough. Both days we had to ask for either plates or bowl and mugs but they were brought out promptly. We also asked for hot chocolate for the girls and sachets were immediately brought out for us to make up with milk from the machines.

The room was the smallest Premier Inn room we have ever had - probably due to space & being in London. There were 2 adults and 2 teens in our party & although one of the single beds was a proper bed, the other was a put up bed. Both single beds were put next to the double bed which wasn't very convenient so we moved the put up one. The mattress was very hard, and it was uncomfortable. There were not enough pillows for everyone to have 2, so the first night 3 people slept well and one didn't. The following morning I asked for another pillow and quilt to fold up & lay on the mattress & when we arrived back in the room later that night they had been provided, which made the put up bed much more acceptable.

For position if you were visiting the Olympic Park or Westfields Shopping Centre the hotel is in a really good position. If you were travelling in to London for the sights, work out where you need to go in advance & check out which station you need to leave from. International is really good for closeness to the hotel, but the Regional hotel might be better for where you want arrive/depart from.

We would use the hotel again now we know our way round.

Room Tip: Leave the air conditioning on when you are out the room, so it is cool when you arrive back. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loud65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights as a base for shopping at Westfields and sightseeing in London for our wedding anniversary. A couple of very minor problems at the hotel but overall a good standard of service and the room is pretty much what you would expect from a new(ish) Premier Inn. We were on the third floor and I didn't hear any noise from outside the room. Had a good cooked breakfast both mornings and the coffee machine makes a nice latte!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumbleweed4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#373 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel
Address: 9 International Square | Westfield Stratford City, Montfichet Road, London E20 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in London
#85 Family Hotel in London
#111 Romantic Hotel in London
#163 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over 200m from the Olympic Park - or 19.19 Seconds if you're a certain someone - Premier Inn London Stratford holds the record for 'Closest Hotel to the Olympic Park'. Based inside the Westfield Shopping Centre, it's also the ideal spot for retail therapy or whizzing into central London. See where history was made at the Olympic Stadium and park. Catch a show at the O2 Arena. Hop on a train to the Excel Centre, just a few miles away. Then return to amazing views, spacious rooms and our extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Stratford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing