We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of War Horse

War Horse
Ranked #3 of 343 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unbelievably brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Wonderful story, wonderful puppetry, and surprisingly a brass band and singing in places. After half an hour, we forgot the horses were puppets and thought they were real. The acting was brilliant and now we will go and see the film and read the book, we had delayed doing this until we had seen the play.
Go and see it, any seat in the theatre will have a good view, all the seats are staggered.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackieHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,372
    702
    216
    75
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, Ca USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“War Horse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great show, had stall tickets, last row on ground floor,sound and view great. Definitely worthwhile on a London trip~!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Entrancing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I do not like war stories, they are not my cup of tea- but, this one is the exception as the puppetry makes it unmissable. From Joey, the eponymous hero to the farm goose, all are beyond wonderful and soon transport you into a land where unreal becomes real. You will care about puppets, you will laugh with them and want to support them and dare I say love them. The story is a sad but beautiful tale, but there is no doubt in my mind that it is the pure genius of the puppetry and staging that makes this into the show it is. One not to be missed in my opinion. And if you go say Hi to Joey for me !!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonChipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warhorse- New London Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A powerful story well acted especially by the "horses". Book well in advance

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAKD133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamoille, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this production”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

If you can only see one play in London, go to this one. The experience with the puppets (not a very accurate description of the animated horses) is wonderful. I have six horses, and I was swept up into the magic of the play.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheHorseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed War Horse also viewed

 

Been to War Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing