We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Room 482”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #463 of 842 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of Room 482”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is good and clean and so is the Dolphin Inn annex. Staff are also good but 2 Italians living in the room thinks that they own the room and have the right to dictate how the new travellers should do or live.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbelievable2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    21
    11
    15
See reviews for
18
9
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Me and 3 mates stayed here last night after seeing The Stone Roses at Finsbury Park. Yes the place is a bit old and needs an update, but for £99 for the night (LESS THAN £25 EACH!!!!) you cannot complain! We were in room 282, the bedding was fresh, the room was clean and the bathroom was small but very clean. Literally a 2 minute walk from Paddington station as well so the location is perfect! If you want somewhere posh to stay then this isn't the place for you. Do not listen to the reviews below, if you're a group of mates who will only be in the room for somewhere to sleep then this is spot on and cheap! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Dolphin Inn's annex, presently called the Lodge, with a group of high school students. It's a very simple hotel suitable for school groups and the like. The single room which I had as a leader was clean and had ensuite facilities but quite small. Walls are thin, so one can hear people coming in at night. My class was well-behaved and quiet, but I can imagine that a group of noisy teenagers would be very disturbing indeed. The students were not happy about being up to six people in a room and having to share the toilet and shower.

Breakfast was served in the Dolphin Inn and not at the Lodge. Food was adequate but not thrilling. The location is, however, perfect -- close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube stations and with lots of nearby bus stops.

One thing I would like to mention is the hotel's honesty. A student forgot 10 pounds in a plastic bag and the money was sent on to us! Amazing!

Would I use the hotel again? With a school group, yes; with my wife and family, never!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unhappy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is most unfriendly staff and the managers are a disgrace to the name manager!!! Most unhelpfull, ask to phone the taxi and explain where the front door of hotel was, because the adress we received via email were wrong, the manager said is was not his problem! Check in tine was 14h00 arrived at 14h30, the rooms were not ready, told by staff to come back in an hour!!! Smallest bathrooms and narrow stairs are nothing in comparison with the rudeness of the staff and managers!!!! All travellers please stay away from this HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heloise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Great location .....but it would be better if I had stayed somewhere alse . I spend there 5 horrible days I really regret my choise . I know its a hostel I wasn't expecting much but there are limits. They gave me a room upstairs ( those stairs were really narrow I was about to fall ) the walls were so thin that I could here people talking from the room next to mine .There were people who maintain that were very noisy in the morning and extremely rude when I complane to them . They were just shouting and yelling to watch other on the backyard of the building were my room was . I will never come back to this hostel ...ever .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is the worst establishment I have ever stayed at. The bed covers were soiled (brown, yellow, and red splotches - the full spectrum). But this pales in comparison with how soiled the attitude of the manager was. We paid for two beds, recieved only one, and were forced to spend the night in horrible dicomfort. Upon complaining in the morning, the manager's response was not a refund of any sort, a discount for the mistake or anything of that sort. He said you can leave if you want, that it's not his problem, and in the ensuing 45 minute argument, he at one point used the analogy of shooting us. The fact that this man somehow got one of those certified hotel certificates makes me doubt the "British standard". Additionally, it was rather curious how his entire staff were young, scared-looking, and rather incompitent women. Going in, we did not expect any luxuries (we're young students travelling on a very low budget and we've thoroughly enjoyed the UK and all the other hostels and hotels we've been too), but the discourtious manor in which we were treated outshown any dirty room, cramped space, bad location, and incompetently staffed hostel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hayskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2006

The couple in the check-in counter was INCREDIBLY RUDE! They didn't care about the guests at all. Their only mission was to ruin our vacation.
The toilets were in a horrible condition and didn't work properly.
I would recommend other travellers to stay as far from this hostel as possible.

I guess that just about sums it up.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#615 of 1,067 in London
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#644 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#670 of 1,067 in London
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#788 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#594 of 1,067 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 44 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 842 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Dolphin Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing