We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #434 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good location, clean comfortable room”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights costing £189 for total stay.

We arrived at 11pm but found hotel easily from bank underground station. It is a few minutes walk to either bank or cannon street underground.

It is down a lane which we felt bit uneasy walking down late on Friday night but apart from that was an excellent location. It's also only a 5 minute walk to london bridge.

Check in was quick and we were given room 220 on 2nd floor it looked out onto the lane so we had to close window as was a bit noisy. The room itself was a good size and clean. Bed was comfortable. There is hanging space and tea/coffee facilities. I believe you can ask for hairdryer etc but none in room. It was perfect for our needs as we were hardly in room other than to sleep.

The bathroom only had a shower - no bath and the shower curtain was too short so the floor could get bit wet.

On the sat evening there was a disturbance in a room near us but that wasn't hotels fault and could have happened anywhere. The hotel did speak to us about it on check out. A phone in the room to reception would have been helpful in this situation.

We read the reviews and visited the city harvest cafe for breakfast and can also recommend. Turn left and left again when leaving travelodge and its on cannon st. There is also a macdonalds just a long road.

Overall would definitely recommend for a stay in london. Location and price for a comfortable stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    247
    99
    38
    38
See reviews for
47
279
47
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good location for the Bank area and walking over to Borough Market and The Shard. The check in was easy with pleasant desk staff

The Room was spacious and clean which is all I need and expect when paying £35 a night.

The only downside was that there is some building work happening in the building opposite but that isn't the fault of the hotel. It may be worth asking about the quieter rooms when booking.

We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building work on nearby building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cemlynpesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Location is great with 2 tube stations within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Room was clean and tidy. I would ask for a room not to the left of the elevators as there is a building work which starts approx. 7:30. The rooms can also be a bit stuffy and require a fan. I was also hoping for some toiletries like tester size shower gels and shampoo but there was only a bar of soap. However I would still recommend this hotel as it is in a great location and is clean.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for your review Kris B, we’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is regrettable you were disappointed with the temperature in your room, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans which are available from reception. Although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in close succession now stayed in double room and single both were spotless comfortable and functional. First time I stayed we found it difficult to find but the second time I found it much easier to find, my tip get off tube at Cannon Street (although this station closes at times) come out of main entrance cross road and about the second small side street st swithens lane is we're the hotel is located tucked away down a side alley by the don restaurant.
Receptionist was friendly and helpful and let me check in a little early, both rooms I have stayed in are exactly what you expect from travelodges not luxury but clean comfy and have all the basics for a short stay.
The bathrooms were small and I think the wash basins to small for the power of the taps, it spills over on to the floor and soaks it and the shower curtains are not the best but all in all its clean and does the job which is what matters to me.
The hotel is centrally located close to transport links to both east and west end there are numerous bars food outlets close by including the city harvest cafe which does a sizeable and tasty breakfast for a very reasonable price particularly for london.
For £53 for the double and £35 for the single on each occasion I would recommend this place and stay again if the prices were comparable.
Room tips a room over the court yard is quieter but all in all had two decent nights sleep here given how noisy central london is.
8.5/10!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoverMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good location (2 minutes walk to two different tube stations) but shops and one tube station close on Friday evening and don't open until Monday morning. Bring your own hair dryer and toiletries as they are not supplied. A lot of building work going on so quite noisy. Could have done with a fan or air conditioning. Rooms clean but there is a lack of storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Phill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We’re happy to hear you found this hotel to be in a good location Phill A. Our standard is not to provide toiletries in our rooms although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. Similarly, whilst we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms, they can be obtained from reception anytime, free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed one night at Travelodge Bank. Rooms have been refurbished since my last stop there last year and are very comfortable. Room was at comfortable temperature, clean and comfy. Bathroom clean and well maintained. Only gripe was kettle lid was broken but fitted. Also the cost of WiFi is in my view excessive

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank bedlam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our room was fine, clean and comfortable although it got a little bit hot, but there were fans available if needed. The bed was very comfortable indeed, can’t remember a better Travelodge night’s sleep. All the members of staff we spoke with were friendly and helpful.

At the weekend there is very little open in the immediate area in the way of pubs and restaurants; however that suited us and meant that the hotel was very quiet during the night.

There are 2 or 3 underground stations very nearby and the number 15 bus, which runs between the Tower of London and Trafalgar Square, stops right opposite the entrance to St Swithin’s Lane.

We used the City Harvest café for breakfast, just round the corner, this was spot on.

All in all, we had a great long weekend and will certainly look to go back to this Travelodge in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Seagulldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#239 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Property: Travelodge London Central Bank
Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing