We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #480 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Went for the travelodge because of price and location. Both were perfect. Just a two minute walk from tube, so you can be anywhere in london in no time at all. Hotel was a usual travelodge, clean rooms, comfy beds and not many staff to be seen. I liked it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owls1867j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

I will have to admit I am not usually a big fan of Travelodges but booked to stay here primarily because it was so cheap (£59) and ideally located for my requirements and I only needed it for one night. The hotel is situated on a lane running between Lomard Street and Cannon Street so is easily accessible (1 minute walk) from Bank tube station and being off the main road makes it quite quiet.

The hotel appeared to have been recent renovated and the room, whilst small, was well furnished, bright and clean. The bed was particularly comfortable with decent pillows. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate with a good shower, although the shower curtain was a bit too short which meant the bathroom floor got soaked!

Being a Travelodge, the hotel doesn't have any 'facilities' to speak of. The check-in is automated although there is someone on Reception until 10pm in case of difficulties. They can provide a 'breakfast box' but since there were a number of coffee shops/supermarkets nearby this is probably unnecessary. WiFi is chargeable, always a source of annoyance to me in this day and age (even Premier Inns give you 30 minutes free!) and there is no air conditioning which whilst OK for a mild October day could be an issue in the summer, especially as the windows only open a few inches.

I would certainly consider using this hotel again if it is available for the same price!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for two nights here with my partner whilst visiting London from up North.

We were a little worried about finding the hotel but being just off a main road it was pretty easy. The road nearby has numerous eateries and two underground stations so location wise this is pretty fantastic especially for the price.

Pros: Good location, clean, comfortable, pillows and duvets may have been brand new, very little noise for being central.

Only con: Room is a bit on the small size - would not recommend for staying more than two nights if got two suitcases.

I would stay again for a short break - bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisalives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Clean and tidy. Central location. Nice big bed. Close to at least 3tube stations. And close to weatherspoons for a decent breakfast. Builders close by made some noise during the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed Friday & Saturday night. There is currently building work going on so if you want to lie in after 8.00am you'll be out of luck. This did not effect our stay in anyway.
We used the early check in facility which was great as we travelled by National Express and wanted to dump our luggage so we could explore. There are three tube stations in a five minute walk and it's only a short walk down to the river to access the KPMG Clipper service.
The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I’m quite a regular Travelodge user – some are good, some not so good, but this one is tucked quietly away in a little courtyard off a narrow pedestrian street, brilliantly located just yards from Cannon Street and Bank tube stations so you can get just about anywhere quickly from here, and surprisingly quiet considering its very central City location. All else is standard Travelodge fare - efficient check in, clean if simple room and bath (shower) room, comfy bed and on this occasion (booked last minute and using a voucher code) all for £56 on a Friday night! Still irks me that this company don’t provide shampoo/shower gel although I've learnt to bring my own!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean, nice hostel with good location, Didnt store the bags when you checked out, a bit ennoying.. Highly recommend it if you rather wanna shop and eat well instead of pay alot for livining. 1 min from the Bank underground station, witch is on the "red line", same line as Oxford street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#670 of 1,077 in London
1,521 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#300 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £46 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing