We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very wam room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #432 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very wam room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location however the room was really small it was very warm when I got to the room I opened both windows to let some air in I came back 2 hrs layers and it was still like a sauna my room was also over the courtyard so it was rather noises .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbie24Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room barbie24Liverpool, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    242
    97
    37
    36
See reviews for
46
276
45
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rude staff, no air-conditioning and unclean. The location is good and the price is ok (but not great - there are better deals around), but do yourself a favour and avoid. For 40 or 50 GBP extra you can get a 4 or 5 start room in the City.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice room, quiet area, just a couple of minutes walk to 3 tube stations. As with other reviews a lack of storage if you're intending to stay more than a couple of days but clean. Careful with the shower, a short curtain meant a small flood!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vick_99_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful location. Think budget, think cheap, think small TV, no fridge, no storage, no chairs, bad decor then dig deep into your pockets unless you get a fabulous deal - which fortunately we did! Don't pay more than £70 a night, the bed is great, the rooms are clean and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Vivswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from our 2nd stay here, and will defo return. Paid £140 for 3 nights - bargain, after all only sleep & shower there. Excellent location a minute walk ( exit 6) bank tube station & crossover rd down st swithens lane, quiet, comfy bed. Easy check in , polite friendly reception team . Easy to walk to tower bridge, Thames, St. Paul's or hop on tube.a clean comfy quiet hotel, suit those who don't need luxury and who have a budget to stick too- don't discount it

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jaywhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Then you'll enjoy this Travelodge. Well situated if you are working in the City (as I was) and expect to only sleep and shower in your room/cubby hole. Bed comfortable, shower and sink are design disasters, very little air (but try the fan!). Also a good choice if you don't like interacting with front desk of hotel staff generally because they are hard to find. I booked for the night before my very early morning arrival so I could get access to my room and get ready for work. Despite sending an email and calling to notify about my late check in, they gave my room to someone else and it wasn't ready when I arrived.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shartyOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

It's a Travelodge, but at least it's been refurbished; so the bed is comfy and the decor is still on the right side of skanky. Handily placed for access to the City, tubes and buses, and reasonably quiet until the early morning building, traffic and crowds start up.

That said, there's no air con and the windows only open a couple of inches, but at least there was a fan in my room. As other reviewers have noted, the basin in the bathroom is so ridiculously small and shallow that running water pretty much leaps straight out of it. But you shouldn't worry about that if you've already showered, because if you have the bathroom floor will be knee-deep in water anyway, owing to the fact that Travelodge have chosen to use a shower curtain that contributes absolutely zero to keeping the water inside the shower. Which is a shame, because it's a pretty good shower otherwise.

My room smelt slightly damp, which may be as a result of the combined ventilation and water challenges. Towels were of a quality that convicts would reject as being too thin and skimpy, and the toilet paper followed similar design guidelines. Room doors also appeared to have been designed to slam as noisily as possible. And there was no space for a wardrobe or even a shelf in my room, so I had to make do with the 3 hooks just inside the door - each of which sported a hanger purloined from a well-known dry cleaning chain.

None of this is insurmountable. Travelodge is a budget hotel chain so it would be unfair to expect luxury, but a little more attention to detail on the facilities that ARE offered would do so much more to raise the brand status and justify the sometimes high pricing. For around £150 I'm pretty confident I can do better next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPants69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#228 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Property: Travelodge London Central Bank
Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing