We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some staff very pushy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #482 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at the Travelodge at approx 1pm and was met by Patricia. If this lady hadn't been so pushy about us putting a good review up she may have been polite. She told us if we give her a good review she would look after our bags. She asked us for a good review 9 times in the approx 20 mins we were there. Well I'm sorry but she needs to sort out her attitude before I would ever consider giving her a good review! Good reviews come from good service NOT bribery! I was staying in the hotel with my parents and there's room only had one bath towel. I gave them mine and went downstairs only to be met with the most polite attentive receptionists. Now Patricia take note, THIS is how you EARN a good review. Not only did he give me a towel promptly but he then went on to offering me a hairdryer. Without me asking. He was polite, not at all pushy and made me feel that he actually grateful for me using that hotel. Credit where credit is due Michael thank you for making us feel welcome and making our stay more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quackers_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Receptionist not very helpful, had to change rooms due to wet carpet, very noisy outside due to restaurant skips, inside also with doors slamming, no air conditioning, no hairdryer, only 1 towel for 2 people, no bar or seating area outside the room - not very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank SomersetSue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us SomersetSue2014. We do want our customers to have a great sleep when staying with us and in an attempt to reduce the noise inside and outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing and insulated walls. While this particular hotel does not provide air conditioning we do offer fans at reception, subject to availability and we also allow our guests to borrow hair dryers at reception. We do however expect our rooms to be set up correctly with the correct number of towels for the occupants in the room. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location however the room was really small it was very warm when I got to the room I opened both windows to let some air in I came back 2 hrs layers and it was still like a sauna my room was also over the courtyard so it was rather noises .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbie24Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room barbie24Liverpool, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rude staff, no air-conditioning and unclean. The location is good and the price is ok (but not great - there are better deals around), but do yourself a favour and avoid. For 40 or 50 GBP extra you can get a 4 or 5 start room in the City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice room, quiet area, just a couple of minutes walk to 3 tube stations. As with other reviews a lack of storage if you're intending to stay more than a couple of days but clean. Careful with the shower, a short curtain meant a small flood!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vick_99_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful location. Think budget, think cheap, think small TV, no fridge, no storage, no chairs, bad decor then dig deep into your pockets unless you get a fabulous deal - which fortunately we did! Don't pay more than £70 a night, the bed is great, the rooms are clean and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Vivswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have just returned from our 2nd stay here, and will defo return. Paid £140 for 3 nights - bargain, after all only sleep & shower there. Excellent location a minute walk ( exit 6) bank tube station & crossover rd down st swithens lane, quiet, comfy bed. Easy check in , polite friendly reception team . Easy to walk to tower bridge, Thames, St. Paul's or hop on tube.a clean comfy quiet hotel, suit those who don't need luxury and who have a budget to stick too- don't discount it

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank jaywhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#634 of 1,076 in London
1,565 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £54 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing