We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #480 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this place with another couple on a weekend during the school holidays. The staff: excellent, professional and friendly! The room: clean, spacious and comfortable with a good shower and a fan. The price: very reasonable and excellent for this part of the city. The location: struggled a bit for a beer on the Saturday night as this place is in the finance/office area of London. Nearly all the bars were closed on Saturday afternoon and all were closed by 8pm. The plus side is it is a 1-2 minute walk from bank tube station and can street tube station and a 7-9 minute walk from St Paul's tube station! There is a bar that opens Monday to Friday on the outside of the hotel and they were very welcoming. All good and an excellent hotel to stay at! Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    263
    102
    46
    43
See reviews for
53
301
50
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only a few steps from Bank or Cannon Street tube station. The hotel is down a walk way so very little traffic noise. There is a sainsburys and M&S nearby for snacks or breakfast stuff if you don't want to eat out. The Tower of London is within walking distance as is the Thames. A lovely hotel, not masses of storage if staying longer than a few days, but we managed. The reception staff were friendly and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank queenofcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall exactly what you would expect from a Travelodge. Clean room, all the stuff you need, everything has a purpose, nothing is just fancy crap for extra money.

With this particular stay, though, I'd like to point out a few things that were a bit weird. Note that these are just the observations of one person, and you most likely won't encounter any of them. But just in case.

1. The shower - a couple times, it just started switching randomly between freezing cold and burning hot, right in mid-shower, even though it was set on a specific temperature. This always happened in the evening or at night, so I assume it might have something to do with a lot of people showering at once across the hotel.

2. The truck - there was a truck coming every night with clean bedsheets or something like that. It made gargantuan noises that would make the Old Ones crap themselves with fear, and it made it pretty much impossible to sleep for the 15-30 minutes it was there. If it can't come in the afternoon, could it at least come in the morning, when people are actually kind of awake for the most part? Anyway, ask for a room that does NOT have windows looking into the back street (Sherborne Lane), if you value your ears.

3. The maintenance guy - we had bought the late check-out option, just in case we needed it. It lets you check out at 2PM instead of noon. We were all packed up and ready to go by noon anyway, just making some final arrangements, when a guy (presumably a maintenance man) knocked on the door, and tried to kick us out at 12:18. I tried to explain that we had the late check-out thing (confirmed later by a receptionist asking us why we're leaving so early, so I know we definitely had it), but he didn't seem to understand much English, and insisted that we go now. Since, as I said, the late check-out was just a "what if" thing, and we would have left within a few minutes anyway, we didn't really care, and told him we'd be gone in a bit. But I can see how someone who buys the late check-out option for a reason, and needs to stay a bit longer, would feel annoyed, or even insulted, by a guy forcing them out of their room.

That's pretty much it. Not a huge deal - to me, these were all just minor glitches. But if you think you'd be annoyed by these things, beware.

Other than that, the room was good, the staff were friendly, and it was all around a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank mhx327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night 31st July warm welcome on reception and were given lots of information and asked if we needed anything just ask. First room had an issue but this was resolved quickly and we were moved this was handled very well and professionally. The room was quite big, clean and comfortable room wasn't that hot considering it being hot that day.

Nice to stay here as it's in a work district so at night is very quite which is great for a good nights sleep.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is excellent for a base in the city BUT at weekend there are no facilities to eat close by mespecially on the Sunday.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful especially a young lady named Vanessa who helped us to transfer to a larger room.The only drawback is the lack of air conditioning and the extractor fans not working in the bathrooms-we had the warmest weekend so far.
We were ten minutes walk from St.Pauls Cathedral where we attended the wedding of Bren's godson.
Buses travel close by and there are two underground stations within two minutes walk which we used to go back to Euston as the taxi fare was just short of £30.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed with a friend a week ago, and well... i can say that everything was fine, even though i'd like to have the aircon but apparently almost all travelodge don't have it... the room was clean, the bed comfy...

a particular thanks to the night receptionist (sorry i don't remember the name, dark haired, italian, robert? albert?) he saw us hungry after we came back from a party (we were tryin' to buy the whole vending machine) and he stopped us and ordered for us some take-away food. you saved us from eating the pillows :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

An excellent Travelodge. We were warmly greeted by the reception staff. The rooms were excellent, just what you expect of Travelodge. No real downsides at all. The only thing to note, is it is in the business district, and the bars get full really early and quickly. We went into a local bar at 5 and it was rammed. Also as it the business district, most of the bars and restaurants are shut at the weekend. Will return for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#254 of 1,069 in London
425 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Property: Travelodge London Central Bank
Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing