We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #502 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over August Bank holiday weekend while heading to Wembley. Good central location with bank tube stop only two mins away.

Hotel was fine, staff were friendly. Sleep quality was okay, but loud outside from passing people and construction work. Room was clean, but definitely no frills. Would have been nice to have had some storage and a wardrobe for example.

Not much around as it is in the business district, there was an all bar one very close by but it closed early and is not open on a Sunday. Having said that you are a few stops from central London and it is nice walk down to St Paul's and then across the river to southbank!!

All in all its a cheap hotel in a good location. However I would probably look for alternatives in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank philipt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the travelodge for 5 nights.Found the staff on arrival friendly and welcoming as we arrived late on and were glad to book in .Room tidy comfortable and cosy a thank you to the cleaning staff who done a good job and also were helpful.Area close to tube and has several small shops nearby if you need things during your visit.This area has an early start time for work and you can hear the footsteps from early morning say from about 6.30 no need to set your alarm but not a problem if like us you intend to be up early to sightsee and enjoy the day. would certainly recommend this travelodge and would hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ferando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

While this hotel was probably not the most holiday central of residences, it was as central to the tube as we could have hoped. The rooms are well proportioned and fresh from renovation with all the necessary extras. The staff here were wonderful and helpful. I would say that there could be more air conditioning in the rooms as we happened to be in London during the hottest weeks of the year thus far, but it's Britain, how are we to know it'll get that hot? All around lovely, though!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank CSuiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this place with another couple on a weekend during the school holidays. The staff: excellent, professional and friendly! The room: clean, spacious and comfortable with a good shower and a fan. The price: very reasonable and excellent for this part of the city. The location: struggled a bit for a beer on the Saturday night as this place is in the finance/office area of London. Nearly all the bars were closed on Saturday afternoon and all were closed by 8pm. The plus side is it is a 1-2 minute walk from bank tube station and can street tube station and a 7-9 minute walk from St Paul's tube station! There is a bar that opens Monday to Friday on the outside of the hotel and they were very welcoming. All good and an excellent hotel to stay at! Would recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only a few steps from Bank or Cannon Street tube station. The hotel is down a walk way so very little traffic noise. There is a sainsburys and M&S nearby for snacks or breakfast stuff if you don't want to eat out. The Tower of London is within walking distance as is the Thames. A lovely hotel, not masses of storage if staying longer than a few days, but we managed. The reception staff were friendly and lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank queenofcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall exactly what you would expect from a Travelodge. Clean room, all the stuff you need, everything has a purpose, nothing is just fancy crap for extra money.

With this particular stay, though, I'd like to point out a few things that were a bit weird. Note that these are just the observations of one person, and you most likely won't encounter any of them. But just in case.

1. The shower - a couple times, it just started switching randomly between freezing cold and burning hot, right in mid-shower, even though it was set on a specific temperature. This always happened in the evening or at night, so I assume it might have something to do with a lot of people showering at once across the hotel.

2. The truck - there was a truck coming every night with clean bedsheets or something like that. It made gargantuan noises that would make the Old Ones crap themselves with fear, and it made it pretty much impossible to sleep for the 15-30 minutes it was there. If it can't come in the afternoon, could it at least come in the morning, when people are actually kind of awake for the most part? Anyway, ask for a room that does NOT have windows looking into the back street (Sherborne Lane), if you value your ears.

3. The maintenance guy - we had bought the late check-out option, just in case we needed it. It lets you check out at 2PM instead of noon. We were all packed up and ready to go by noon anyway, just making some final arrangements, when a guy (presumably a maintenance man) knocked on the door, and tried to kick us out at 12:18. I tried to explain that we had the late check-out thing (confirmed later by a receptionist asking us why we're leaving so early, so I know we definitely had it), but he didn't seem to understand much English, and insisted that we go now. Since, as I said, the late check-out was just a "what if" thing, and we would have left within a few minutes anyway, we didn't really care, and told him we'd be gone in a bit. But I can see how someone who buys the late check-out option for a reason, and needs to stay a bit longer, would feel annoyed, or even insulted, by a guy forcing them out of their room.

That's pretty much it. Not a huge deal - to me, these were all just minor glitches. But if you think you'd be annoyed by these things, beware.

Other than that, the room was good, the staff were friendly, and it was all around a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank mhx327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night 31st July warm welcome on reception and were given lots of information and asked if we needed anything just ask. First room had an issue but this was resolved quickly and we were moved this was handled very well and professionally. The room was quite big, clean and comfortable room wasn't that hot considering it being hot that day.

Nice to stay here as it's in a work district so at night is very quite which is great for a good nights sleep.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#276 of 1,076 in London
453 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £58 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing