We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch at the Blue Boar Smokehouse highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #56 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very friendly welcoming staff, attentive and the most fabulous feasting tables of fresh seafood, cold meats and a variety of salads...and that was just for starters! Then we had the choice of mains before being able to help ourselves to the dessert table. All this and unlimited bloody marys and bucks fizz. The food was of such a high quality, we were really full but were comforted by the fact we had eaten fresh, well sourced produce. A lovely way to spend a Sunday. A good walk needed afterwards but luckily St James's Park is on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,964 - 2,970 of 3,367 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

To choose to stay at a hotel that has been open for only 1 day is quite a risk. Nevertheless, I decided to risk it with my stay at the Intercontinental Westminster because the hotel was just blocks away from Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, and a number of other key London tourist sites, yet it was a small, intimate hotel located in a quiet area not totally overwhelmed with tourists.

It turned out to be an exceptional decision. Before the hotel was officially open, I sent an email to the general concierge email address with some questions and requests for my stay. The very next day the head concierge, Ashley Harman, took the time to call me personally. He said “it’s so much better just to reach out and make the personal connection.” He listened carefully to my questions and requests for input, subsequently making fabulous recommendations and all of the necessary reservations. He not only arranged for an exclusive tour of Buckingham Palace, he put me in touch with a guide service that arranged a private tour of Leeds Castle. When we arrived at Leeds, we literally had the caste and the grounds completely to ourselves for the first 2 hours before it opened to the public. Ashley even sent one of his staff members to the vicar’s office at Westminster Abbey on our behalf to confirm the protocol for attending the midnight mass on Christmas Eve.

Upon our arrival, it was as if the entire staff already knew who we were. The fact that I remember all of their names including Adrian, Raphael, and Zsolt of the concierge staff and Julius, Liang, and Giorgia of the front end staff says a lot about how they engaged us, and were so personally helpful and attentive to us during our stay. For example, I inquired whether the hotel could bring up a humidifier to my room, but being so new, they did not have one. The next thing I knew the staff went out and purchased one. Giorgia was there to greet us when we arrived and she was there at the front desk at 6am the day we checked out. Based on her demeanor, it was clear that she (and all the staff at the hotel) truly cared about the quality of our stay and genuinely wanted to receive any and all feedback on how we could help them improve. It was a pleasure staying at the InterContinental London Westminster. I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Regularly come here for breakfast, exceptional service in the lounge and beautiful setting. Does not feel like small compact hotels in London. Shame the gym isn't open to out house guests. Any chances of it being?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayesha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We can’t say enough about the hotel, a truly beautiful and luxurious place to stay in a great location. Our stay was just wonderful. The staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful and they couldn’t do enough for us. Our room/suite and bathroom was plush and luxurious, equipped with top quality up-to-date technology and appliances. We were amazed by the range of dining options in the hotel and the variety of menus available. The food was truly delicious. The hotel proved to be ideally located for sightseeing and shopping. Many well-known landmarks including Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye only a short walk away, and it only took us about 25 minutes to walk to Harrods, and having the tube station directly across the road was an extra bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Intercontinental Westminster and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is extremely beautiful, located just opposite st James station, minutes from Abbey and Parliament. It is brand new and its decoration is adorable. The lobby lounge is the most elegant ever and everywhere you can smell fresh flowers. The room is perfect, the bathroom huge, the linens and towels bring you to heaven. We visited the executive club that was one of the best I have ever visited. Breakfast, sweets and canapés were delicious.
Service is the strong point of this hotel. Everybody here works to make you happy. Yes, they do not speak all perfectly English, but you are in London, the most international city in Europe! Congratulations to all of you guys, working at reception, concierge and executive club, because you do your job perfectly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

What a lovely weekend we had. Tucked away suspiciously close to New Scotland Yard, this hotel is amazing. Such great style and quality surroundings.

Room was fabulous, lots of little touches which were excellent. Lovely bathroom with the most massive towels of any hotel I've been in! Some great IT with media hub for your lap top or ipod - would have liked clearer instructions on how this worked but managed to Bluetooth music to the speakers. They even leave you a natty little weather forecast on your pillow after turn down :)

The lounge, bar and restaurant were equally good. Surprisingly the prices were much lower than I expected, particularly beverage prices, just your standard London prices instead of the big hotel mark up you get elsewhere. The Blue Board Bar had a lovely selection of local beers, although it closed a little early for my liking!

The best aspect of this hotel though was the staff. The front of house staff, from receptionists to concierge, made this trip particularly special. They remember your name, room and where you've been off to, welcoming you back and asking how things went. Nothing was too much trouble.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brighton_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Using one of our PCR Rewards stay occasions, this was an opportunity to visit a hotel I had seen being renovated over the last couple of years.
It was worth the wait and is a fine product that is worthy of the InterContinental Brand. From the attentive check-in on arrival, through to the following day's departure, it was a perfect stay. An upgrade to a Superior room was appreciated, and although being an Platinum Ambassador member, there was a little disappointment in not getting access to the Club Lounge. However, to be honest, the quality of the rooms and overall customer service, other than missing a few evening snacks and a free breakfast, it wasn't an issue in the end.
A great location, right across the road from St James Tube, and London is at your disposal.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are wonderful, with separate batch and rain shower. Good size but view was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy09H58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Andyo9H58

Thank you for a wonderful review of your stay with us in Westminster, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay in particular how our team stood out.

As you point out the location is fantastic, the political heartland of the city on one side and the St James Park, Buckingham Palace and Mayfair only a short walk away.

I do hope you will visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you if the opportunity arises.

Kind Regards
Scot Turner, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,077 in London
3,079 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,077 in London
4,231 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#52 of 1,077 in London
3,532 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £176 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing