We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend at new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #51 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Long weekend at new hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

we visit London at least once a year, so city itself is know. As priority platinium ambassador it was interesting to found out that there is new Intercontinental Hotel so we decide to book this for our 4 night stay.

Location is nice, just a corner of Westminister Abbey and subway also near, but its pretty much same everywhere London, but if like to walk example to Piccadilly location is ok for that too, we used mainly taxi, reliable and fast and everywhere.

About hotel, we booked executive club room, and as ambassador got upgrade to studio suite. I also liked to test how hotel response about transport question, got by email prompt answer and we agreed that hotel arrange pickup from Heathrow, price is more that if booked airport taxi or use cab, but for us it was good to have pick up early morning, anyway cheaper than taxi back home.

Pick up went well, driver with mercedes was waiting and morning drive went smoothly. door stuff take care of our luggage as suppose to and we went to check-in, it was only 10AM so we didnt expect to have room ready, but check-in boy was prompt and polite and we had room ready too, but he had suggestion for extra pay we get upgrade to one bedroom suite, pretty much best in house we were told, I agree and then he left and show us club room, our room and explain all necessary things, everything went smoothly and we had early very nice room.

One bedroom suite has living room window faced front of buliding and bedroom are backyard which is very quite, nice walk-in shower, and clean room. I would like to have separate toilet with living room, but cannot get everything. Room was with excellent shape and nothing missing. We had late check-out, so used room at latest, I think only thing was that we needed to ask toilet paper, but that was it.

Club room was small, no window, its inside hotel. Decoration is clean, few soffa groups, if need there is big toilet with shower and amenities, so its good for those who do not have room and not yet time to leave. There is NO champagne, that you can get from Park Lane, but decent red and white wine, and snacks. All needed Sopirits at cocktail hour too and friendly staff who do and help for what ever you need.

We had breakfast also at clubroom, small and should have all needed. but I am sure there is very nice breakfast at restaurant too, our warm dishes came from there, those need to ask separately.

We arrived wednesday, had musical, shopping, meet Thursday friends, Friday our friend, also platnium ambassador came to join us at hotel, so we enjoyed club room togehter before dinners. We had to our benefit option to book meeting room at Club for hour and we did, three of us had meeting Friday to plan Saturday at London, it was fun, prompt stuff tried to help to get ipad plugged to big tv, it wasnt possible and also tv wasnt tv, only screen, so couldnt watch tv there or us it as screen with ipad, but we survived and had another meeting Saturday.

Club staff, Spanish and Italian girl was nice ans friendly, others not so happy, I could make checkout at club, but why not check-in happen there, anyway no complaint by stuff. At door, Latvian guy was friendly and helpfull as everybody there.

We used Blue Boar Smokehouse bar daily and Friday also restaurant. At restaurant food was good quality, prompt service as can expected and easy to walk at room after :) , use only once room service, having champagne, that was prompt service too.

At bar young boys looked tired everyday, but service was good, nice soffa arreas and chairs, had also lunch there, everything are as suppose to be. AT lobby there is valuable feeling, and nice service.

Overall experience where evrything was so well with hotel that we didnt think that so much, we concentrate other things, our own schedule, hotel, bar, staff was around service that and I think this was pretty much smoothist visit I have had to hotel, everything was perfect, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Jimmy2712

Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay in Westminster and as a Platinum Ambassador I am pleased we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed a number of different aspects of your stay in particular our team, who stood out in Club InterContinental.

I do hope you will visit us again on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    510
    114
    35
    26
See reviews for
509
1,360
156
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southend
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the InterContinental Westminster for one night, Saturday 8th June. All the staff throughout our stay were so pleasant and helpful and the service they gave was first class. We arrived about midday and were advised that our room was not ready (which we were quite prepared for, we really just wanted to drop off our bags) but we were offered complimentary coffee and told we would received a text as soon as the room was ready and our bags would be in the room waiting for us. Our standard room was very comfortable and quiet with excellent facilities. We particularly liked the fact that whilst we were out in the evening the room was tidied, the bed turned down and the bathroom cleaned and restocked with toiletries. We also enjoyed late night liqueur coffees in the lounge. All in all we had a wonderful stay. Thank you Intercontinental management and staff for making us feel so welcome. Gary Kempston and Sue Todd

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebtSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear suebtSouthend

Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay in Westminster and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team looked after you so well.

I do hope it won't be too long before you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Intercontinental hotel is located in a great location in Westminster and is right next to the St. James Park Tube station. The hotel is brand new and the rooms are extremely clean and nicely decorated. The staff is extremely helpful!! It's definitely a five star hotel. The rooms are a little small but that's typical European hotel rooms.

My only comment is that the hotel is located around the Parliament area so there is not many restaurants or stores that are open after business hours. However, it's conveniently located two stops away from South Kensington so it's an easy commute to local restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Dan L

Thank you for the excellent review of your stay in Westminster, I am pleased to read that our team stood out and made your visit so memorable.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We traveled from Paris to London for a few days and stayed at the InterContinental. I was so happy to arrive in England and was not disappointed when we got to our hotel. Our room was extremely nice, clean and had all the amenities that we needed. But the stafff was extraordinary. They were so helpful and made sure all of our needs were taken care of, from getting a converter delivered to our room, to personnally showing us what was available to us in our room, to giving us directions and making sure our travel needs (taxi, tube, etc) were set up for us in advance. A big thanks to Dave and Adrian who were always so helpful. Plan to visit the Intercontinental again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Andrea W

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent visit to Westminster and I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and our team were 'extraordinary', please be assured we will share this feedback with them.

I do hope on your next trip to London you will stay with us once again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We just returned from London and had a wonderful experience that was enhanced with the staff at the Intercontinental Westminster. Check in included an escort from the front desk employee (did not get her name) to the room and a quick overview of the room and the amenities. The room was a great size for a US hotel and exceeded my other experiences of European room sizes. Specifically, we had a wonderful experience from the concierge, and door men. Specifically, Adrian and Dave both went above and beyond to insure that we had specific directions to where we were going, and took care of taxi requirements for us in advance and made the stay first rate. It was definitely a benefit having the knowledge of London from both to best experience the city of London in the time frame we had in our stay.

Room Tip: We did not specify specifically a type of room other than King Bed, and the hotel was quiet and offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWHSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear BWHSV

Many thanks for the excellent review of your recent stay in Westminster and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit.

I do hope that on your next visit to London you will have the opportunity to stay again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinentl westminster for 3 nights and loved it. Had a junior suite which gave us access to the club lounge. Great breakfast, afternoon tea and evening wine and small plates. Room was very nice, quiet and good sized. Large bathroom. Had nice amenities like an espresso machine, nicely stocked fridge with free water and milk, nice shower. The service level was amazing. Most of the hotel staff are from Europe and very attentive and polite. We will stay there again if we go back to London

Room Tip: Book a junior suite in the back of the hotel - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear hyknski

Thank you for the review of your recent stay in Westminster and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and the benefits of access to Club InterContinental.

Pleased be assured we will share your excellent feedback with our team.

I do hope we can welcome you to the hotel once again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Jooloos and I stayed at the intercontinental on the occasion of Jooloo's birthday. Great location, great staff, great service, especially doormen who could not have been more helpful. Plenty of our American cousins for company and they know good service when they see it
Slummed it with a 'superior room' but it was great with the best bathroom ever (well, almost) rooms very well appointed, nicely thought out although Jooloos found the clock too bright at night. Yep, that was the only criticism. Location fabulous, opposite tube, walk to st James's park (wonderful) or on to Leicester square. Can also walk to river, houses of parliament, London eye.
Restored my faith in London hotels. Good job, well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Jooloosgoesnorth

Many thanks for the excellent review of your recent visit to Westminster, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team delivered fantastic service to you throughout.

I do hope it won't be too long before you have the opportunity to visit us once again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#110 of 1,067 in London
4,565 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing