We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, modern, well-located luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New, modern, well-located luxury”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We loved this hotel for many reasons: beautiful, great location right across from St. James tube station, new, luxury rooms with amazing beds, comforters and pillows, great technology, free wifi, nice minibars, etc. But a few things were not so great that the hotel needs to work on: (1) our room (353) was able to hear all of the garbage truck loading/unloading in the back alley; my father's room was an interior room and did not have this issue; (2) one morning, a fire alarm went off at 6:20am. My husband and I got dressed, grabbed passports and before heading downstairs called the front desk to see if it was a false alarm. It was, and no announcement followed indicating a false alarm. Eventually the alarm went off. To make matters worse, the alarm went off falsely off and on for 3 (THREE) more hours!!!! and an announcement was never made, no apology was ever made, no mention at all. I am/was pregnant, and we had Wimbledon plans that day, and given my lack of sleep things did not go well. No credit or anything was issued. (3) The housekeeper never cleaned or removed any glasses that had anything in them. I had a glass of orange juice sitting in the room for an entire day (they come 2x a day) until I finally set it outside in the hallway. They did the same thing again with a glass of water. It was just never cleaned. Very odd. (4) I joined the Ambassador program at the end of May. For some reason it did not register with the "system". When I was in Boston, the woman at the front desk saw the confirmation email and updated my status. At this London IC, the woman at the front desk said "I'm sorry, the system isn't registering." All I wanted was my water and basket of fruit, which my father got (he and I registered on the same day.) So obviously they have some service kinks to work out, but the physical hotel is awesome, really pretty, new modern and luxurious. The food options are not great though. We never ate at either the lounge or the restaurant after a less than average but expensive breakfast. Fortunately there is a Starbucks, Pret a Manger, convenience store and another coffee place within a block (many food options, even a pub next door.) I would stay here again, with slightly lower service expectations.

Room Tip: Not facing the alley with the garbage trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmd108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,194
    501
    113
    35
    21
See reviews for
491
1,324
150
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

There is no reason to look elsewhere! Great location, friendly staff, top notch accommodations, super comfortable. We stayed here at the start of our European adventure across three countries and, except for our hotel in Mykonos, all others were downhill after our stay at the Intercontinental. You are literally right across the street from a tube station so travel is very easy. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We felt really well taken care off and were especially enchanted by the concierge who parked our car near the hotel for us to save us the valet charge as the local parking was free and we were running late. So so sweet and thoughtful. Also the charming young man who brought us a midnight cheese and pickle sandwich and a pot of tea after we walked back from a concert in Hyde Park and had missed supper - he had really beautiful manners.

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious with a fantastic shower and bath.

My only criticism is that when they were under pressure at breakfast time the service did get a little frayed. But everyone remained very friendly (even if the toast was rubbery) and the eggs benedict was delicious so I forgive them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel before check in and our room was ready. First opinions of the hotel are very clean and modern with the Westminster element clear. The reception check in was very efficient and friendly, with small talk ie why we were in London etc. We were shown to our room and asked if we would like a description and explanation of the various things within the room.

Our room was a Studio Suite was was a reasonable size for London. This Hotel only opened in November therefore everything was very new and clean. A nice touch was the Nespresso machine in the room with capsules which were topped up daily. There was also a small bottle of milk in the fridge which was better than the horrendous milk capsules. The room was very clean, modern trendy and light with the 2 large windows. Air conditioning was set at a good temperature and it worked !! The bathroom had a large bath and walk in rain shower which was fantastic. It was nice to see that IHG had gone back to the fabulous Molton Brown with plenty of choice and this was topped up twice a day. The only little negative I have is there was no full length mirror.

We used room service twice and this was excellent, very efficient and good quality food.

The club lounge is very modern and the staff in there were excellent, very attentive but not over powering. The lounge it's self was quiet and relaxing.

The concierge were helpful and gave good advice and information and were always happy to organise transport etc.

We have always used the intercontinental park lane but having used the intercontinental westminster, we will definitely use the westminster as our first choice. We hope to return very soon and are looking forward to it.



Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenBateman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here on our final night in London, and the hotel fell slightly short of expectations. The location is a strong point, not too busy at night but not far from the Underground and many attractions. The hotel itself is quite new, and the lobby and public spaces are quite nice. Check-in was very friendly, but when we got to our room, the bed wasn't made and it clearly hadn't been cleaned very thoroughly (if at all). When we went down to get this fixed, they were very apologetic and remedied the situation by giving us a couple of free drinks at the bar while they got another room ready and also giving us free breakfast the next morning. When we did get to a clean room, it was nice. Fairly spacious by London standards, with a large bathroom and ample room to spread out. The design was very "modern traditional" with clean lines and neutral colors. Unfortunately, during our stay little problems kept popping up. The bar, while very cozy and a nice place to sit and visit, also had some sort of fly problem, which was gross. Breakfast in the morning was fair-to-middling, with lackluster service and OK food. Overall, I felt as if the hotel had gotten 85% of things right, but wasn't quite trying hard enough to create that ideal experience for visitors. I would consider returning, but probably not for what I paid previously.

Room Tip: Rooms are relatively large; we considered an upgrade at check-in but found our room to be quite larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. It was the last night of our two-week trip. Our room was spotless, large and clean. The king-size beds were comfortable. The location is excellent. All the plumbing worked as it should. The staff was accommodating to our needs. We arrived and were told we had two twin-size beds. They corrected us immediately and gave us a room far more suitable to our needs. We ate in the restaurant. The food was well-presented and perfect, especially since we were exhausted and didn't want to walk around to find a place to eat.
Their large morning buffet was filled with fresh fruit, yogurt and plenty of other pastries and delicious butter. The breakfast was free. One could also order from the menu. I prefer a yogurt and fruit breakfast, so this was perfect for me.
The coffee was up to standards for Americans. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be certain to call ahead to clarify the type of room that you want. There are excellent gastropubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location (across from St. James Park tube station); gorgeous rooms (they upgraded us to a king); toiletries, furnishings, all first class. Booked on Priceline and got a great deal. Would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing