We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad London St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #41 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the 1st December 2012, just three days after it had opened – having booked through Lastminute.com. Our room – on the sixth floor overlooking the interior courtyard, was small but extremely stylish with an excellent bathroom. Lots of nice touches - coffee machine, high quality toiletries, collection of magazines. Although this hotel is only yards away from New Scotland Yard and Westminster Abbey, it’s an oasis of peace and we had no problems having a relaxed night’s sleep.

We chose to eat in the Blue Boar Smokehouse restaurant and the quality of the food was extremely high – the restaurant manageress was very attentive. There were signs here – and over breakfast the next morning – that the staff were still settling into their roles and the odd hiccup was being ironed out but all of the staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. We left the hotel with the feeling that – if standards were maintained and wrinkles sorted, this would be a hotel to use in future.

When my brother and his wife came to stay with us for a week and we planned an overnight stay in London, a deal appeared on Secret Escapes for this hotel so we booked a night – Friday 12th July. We emailed the hotel direct to mention that we would be arriving early on Friday morning – to go to the Coronation Festival at Buckingham Palace – so could we leave our bags and formally check in later in the day, also mentioning that it was my brother and his wife’s wedding anniversary.

When we arrived at the hotel it was to find that both parties had been upgraded to Club rooms and that evening, the hotel provided my brother and his wife with a decorated plate and sweets to celebrate their anniversary. Again, both rooms were extremely comfortable and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was first class.

We would certainly recommend this hotel and will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the internal courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear KennethB23

Thank you for the fantastic review of your second stay with us in Westminster and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your return to us so much.

It is also nice to see that you enjoyed your dinner in Blue Boar Smokehouse and that you enjoyed the anniversary celebrations with some of our treats.

I do hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you once again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    475
    107
    31
    18
See reviews for
461
1,265
142
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The InterContinental London Westminster is a beautiful brand new hotel near Buckingham Palace and superbly located across the street from St. James Park tube stop just far away enough from the throngs of tourists that visit the city. The rooms are tastefully appointed with excellent amenities and lovely spacious washrooms. The Studio Suites on the upper floors in particular are gorgeous and highly recommended. Above all, the staff at this establishment go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and looked after. Every interaction we experienced with hotel employees was very pleasant, in particular with Petra from the Front Office who took great care of us. We will definitely stay at this hotel when we visit London again.

Room Tip: Make a reservation at the Blue Boar Smokehouse for Sunday brunch – you won’t regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in this relatively new hotel in the heart of Westminster. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite at every level from the front desk to the cleaners. We stayed in a junior suite which was amazing. Plenty of room, very very clean, great TV, great shower and separate bath and a Nespresso machine!! We informed the staff that it was our friends 50 birthday - he also stayed there with his wife, and they sent him a card and a lovely bottle of Laurent Perrier! Now that's what I call good customer service. I couldn't fault them and believe me, I am a fussy old bugger!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Intercontinental Westminster is well appointed and well positioned. Beautiful executive king room (free upgrade) despite being a reward night.
Lovely hotel, and so convenient in central London right next to St James tube station.
Will stay again and might even pay next time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

From the moment we arrived and were greeted at reception and shown to our room by Linda our 5 star experience began. We were upgraded and had a room which could only be described as luxurious and spacious. The facilities were superb and all interaction with staff was extremely positive. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travellers. Value for money at this heavenly hotel. Stayed 3 nights and dint want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed one night to avoid travelling home late after a night out in London. The fire alarm went off at 6:40 am. After several minutes with guests at various stages of evacuation it stopped. No members of staff came round, no announcements were made, no calls were made to rooms. After about 15 minutes it went off again. And then again, and so on. By the time we gave up on trying to sleep and checked out, at about 9am, on the Sunday morning, it had gone off over ten times and no one had attempted to reassure guests. The person on the desk checked our details and said the manager would be in touch - by Thursday night the promised contact failed to materialise so I tried the website but the only contact details I could find were for the concierge, so I sent comments to the main group website. Another ten days on and there has been no reaction from that either. Having a faulty fire alarm is unfortunate but the hotel did not deal with this well: we would have been better off getting the late train and having a lie in at our own home.There were lots of nice things about the hotel but we will remember the faulty alarm and the lack of customer care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tiptop_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Tiptop_65,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I apologize for the inconvenience the fire alarm has caused you and regret that this has negatively affected your stay with us. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
380 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were seeking a family friendly hotel for an extended family group stay involving several rooms. Our past London stays were either too costly or too unsatisfactory for our needs on this trip. The visit was primarily tourism related, so location and ease of access to sights and activities was important.

We are happy to report we made an excellent choice. The location is within easy walking distance of Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, river cruises, Buckingham Palace and numerous other sights and activities. The only location weakness we identified is the relative lack of decent restaurant choices nearby, though there are a handful.

The room quality was excellent, with the feel of recent and modern updating. We had the opportunity to use the concierge services several times and received outstanding service from several. As it turns out, the hotel restaurant is one of the best in the neighborhood, and if you like upscale barbeque style food, it was outstanding.

A couple of negatives...the breakfast menu and buffet is very limited and wait staff for breakfast was very close to what we would rate completely unacceptable. One server in particular (who we also experienced for dinner) was really bad, but only one out of the 5 we had was what we would consider "good". Hint: For breakfast or lunch, eat in the bar. The menu is almost the same and service considerably better. And expect to wait...and wait...

Room Tip: We were upgraded to superior, which were excellent rooms...can't speak for the classic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#94 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#24 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing