We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect quiet respite in busy London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #51 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“perfect quiet respite in busy London”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a new property tucked neatly away on a small street (Broadway, in Westminster) directly across from the St. James tube station. While everyone has different needs from a hotel, I can say this is the best European hotel I have found. It's expensive, but unlike so many properties where all the money goes to opulent lobbies and crummy rooms, this one is the opposite - the investment is in the hotel room itself, and the rooms are wonderful.

Here are my priorities for a business hotel, and this hotel gets an "A+" on each and every one of these:
1) Quiet room not facing a busy street - fully 1/2 the rooms are inner-courtyard facing and it gets no better than this - perfectly quiet. Even the rooms facing the street are not bad because the streets are pretty quiet in this part of town.
2) true in-room temperature control - this is the best I have found anywhere worldwide. I like to be cold at night and it was November in London, so I wanted to run the fan but have no heat. Many units will not allow that, but this one did. The unit is in-room and can be switched to hot or cold with no restriction of temperature. Fan speed is also user controlled. I had the best sleep of a city hotel - ever. Window to courtyard also opens. I could tell this would be as nice in summer as it was in winter.
3) large bathroom with counter space - again, perfect in every way! Lots and lots of space. I divine shower with marvelous hot water and rain shower jets. Perfect.
4) comfortable bed - my bed had an amazing mattress - firm but not hard like a board, and the most lovely fluffy comforter and clean crisp sheets.
5) work area - great in-room internet and huge desk with BUILT IN US plugs for direct connect of a US computer plug and multiple plug adapters are also available.

In short - truly a spectacular property. I will never stay anywhere else in London. An easy subway trip to any spot in town and super convenient access to Waterloo station. Local area is lovely for walking and St. James park is beautiful. I simply cannot gush enough about this hotel. I spend 50-80 nights per year in hotels and I have had so many horrible nights in hot, noisy city hotel rooms. This one is just simply the best I have found. Thank you IHG for investing in this amazing property.

Last thing ... the concierge lounge - if you are on club level - is also nice. Daily breakfast includes hot items from the menu (eggs, pancakes, French toast) as well as a great assortment of fruits and breads. Afternoon tea features heavenly clotted cream and scones plus pastries and afternoon hors d'oevres selection offers salads, cheeses and some type of hot appetizer/canapé. Truly, a great bonus.

Try this amazing property. Staff is lovely and hotel is superb - especially if your priorities are aligned to mine listed above.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,264
    510
    115
    35
    26
See reviews for
511
1,364
157
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I needed to relax during late afternoon as attending evening business event and just out of hospital after heart surgery. Asked for quiet room. Not possible to relax: constant loud banging as they changed the carpets on another floor! I changed rooms eventually but lost my time slot to snooze. Refused compensation when checking out as they 'had not planned to change the carpets'- as if that mattered to us. Disgusted at that attitude. A waste of a lot of money. Took the bar bill off- one bottle of mineral water! Stay in similar hotels a lot and think this very poor treatment. Breakfast service- staff clearing and making tables for lunch all around as guests eating- again, not relaxing. Staff pleasant but no use if unable to respond to perfectly reasonable problem of hotel's own making.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear PatriciaHaslemere,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the maintenance noise of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, is really close to the Big Ben, the Westminster station and St. James station is in front of the hotel, this is good if you go to the airport to the hotel in the tube. The hotel is new and the rooms are really amazing and comfortable. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilaVWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Probably my 6th hotel in London this year and the best.
Very nice modern rooms, great food, nice facilities and outstanding service.
Highly recommended if you are wanting to stay in the Westminster area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warsaw_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed for three nights , rooms well appointed , not too large but good layout. Breakfast a little chaotic in the way it is served , and was commented on several times by other guests during our stay. Afternoon Tea and Dinner much better coordinated. The location is ideal for those wishing to visit the central London attractions and shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Lovely staff, super nice front desk though the highlight is the concierge team. Don't think twice to ask them to help out with sightseeing, bookings etc.
The hotel just had its one year anniversary, so everything is still new, it's refreshing to stay in a hotel and not spot the previous guests' marks on walls, carpets etc. It even smells new.
The highlight of our stay was that we ran everyday as St. James' Park (and Green Park) is around the corner. It should not be more than 35 steps away. We would beging our day by going for a ran in the morning. If you are a runner, you should stay here!
I only wish there was a window at the restaurant where breakfast is taken...it would be nice to be able to watch the busy people of Westminster to walk by...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask where your room is located to avoid surprises. Are there twin beds? Are you able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice hotel. Very comfortable. Nice big bathroom with bath and shower. Was quiet on 6th floor. B'fast was very good and the staff where lovely. Didn't think there was need for the door man to walk us to the reception desk all of 10 steps to hand over our reservation docket. He was a bit to smothering! The hotel is nicely decorated. Didn't like the hotel restaurant. Too much meat, all male clientele, a bucket load of salt and service was poor. See my issues on restaurant on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,067 in London
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#111 of 1,067 in London
4,572 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#35 of 1,067 in London
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing