We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location and Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad London St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #41 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The quality of Intercontinental properties is consistently high, and this new(er) location is no exception. The most memorable aspect of our stay was the excellent customer service we received from all of the staff members we encountered - from Reception, Concierge, porters/bellhops, to Housekeeping. I wish I had remembered to jot down their names. The rooms we had were ultra-modern, and I loved all of the lighting options. The only complaint about the room was that our shower door seemed to have a gap at the bottom, so water seeped out onto the tile. Maintenance promptly came to the room when I was away, and the next day it was better but still not full resolved. Saying that, the other room we had didn't have this issue.

The location, as others have mentioned, is ideal for sightseeing with a tube stop right across the street, and walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament/Big Ben, and St. James Park/Buckingham Palace. There are also several chain coffee and sandwich shops (Starbucks, Costa, Pret a Manger) nearby. A short walk takes you to Victoria Street with several dining options.

I love how the hotel renovated a historic building (Queen Anne's Chambers), but that also means that the lobby and ground-level seating areas are limited in their size. One wonders if the toy sculpture could be removed to allow for more seating! I like the other art pieces but this one seemed cheap (plastic figurines all painted in a metallic color). Oh well, it didn't detract much from the experience, and I still consider this an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCR_NBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your charming review of your stay at InterContinental London Westminster, it is always especially pleasing to hear such great feedback from our valued guests. The concierge and front of house teams are a hand-picked specialists, who pride themselves on their outstanding level of customer service and always going the extra mile to exceed our guest’s expectations. The hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of London’s top tourist sights within walking distance and is adjacent to a central transport hub. We could not wait for you to come back and create wonderful memories.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    475
    107
    31
    18
See reviews for
461
1,265
142
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

i have been in this very comfortable hotel last month with my family, evrything is very efficient,and clean . location is central and the have a very good restaurant
rooms are wellequipped and clean. expensive

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your kind review of your family stay at InterContinental London Westminster! Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to see you again when you visit London next time.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for one night during my visit in london and really enjoyed it!
Warm welcome at arrival by the staff members and after check in they will show you to the room which is great if you keep in mind they have 300+ rooms!
The room is clean and modern with nice amenities and separated Shower/Bathtube! The standard room is not very big but ok for london.
We visited also the restaurant which served good quality and a great porterhouse steak! You have to try the ribs aswell they are awesome!! Definitely worth a visit!
It was a great stopover at a new hotel with caring staff always having a smile for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWorldTravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments from your most recent stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and it was a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your experience at the InterContinental London Westminster. It is always pleasing to read great news from our most valued guests. We hope to welcome you once again on your next trip to London.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed for one night in May. From the moment we arrived the doormen were fantastic and everyone was very accommodating towards my mum who is in a wheelchair. Room was beautiful - fab bathroom, although, I am 5 months pregnant and if I were anymore pregnant or a bigger person I would have really struggled to get in and out of the shower as the door space is quite tight. I had a super nights sleep, room was so quiet and peaceful. Location is amazing. Tube station on the doorstep, taxi's always outside but really you are in walking distance of all the major attractions. The only thing stopping me staying at this hotel again is the price as it really was a special treat for us and not somewhere I can afford to stay often. Also, I think complimentary biscuits and/or fruit should be provided for what you pay. Breakfast is also expensive at £32 but we found the sanctuary pub next door does a fab full English with toast/tea/coffee/fresh juice and continental buffet all for £12.50

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Our outstanding staff are great assets to the InterContinental London Westminster and I am very pleased that their efforts have not escaped your keen eye. We are truly grateful for your most kind words. We recommend you to try our A la carte breakfast which is priced reasonably when you visit next time. We do hope to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday Expensive but worth it, great hotel and great location. Being a platinum IHG reward member we had a free upgrade to superior room. Great room with a fabulous bathroom with separate shower which was gorgeous!! We would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samdanfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

You've made a fabulous decision in choosing the InterContinental London Westminster to celebrate your husband's 40th birthday. It is very important to choose the right hotel especially in celebrating special occasions and I am pleased that you loved your stay and would love to return again. The doors are always open.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Regularly use this hotel through Lastminute for overnight stays instead of the cost of commuting and I have yet to find fault.

Lovely, quiet hotel, which whilst St.James' isn't a noisy part, it's incredibly easy to forget you're in central London bar the sound of Big Ben chiming! Usually have a superior room which is spacious and has everything you could need. Staff are a pleasure to deal with and I feel the customer service balance is just right - there to help you at every point without being in your face, something either lacking or done via overkill these days elsewhere.

Early check ins and leaving luggage was not an issue both at check in and check out. Breakfast was delivered promptly and still hot to the sixth floor. Having asked for the 0900 - 0930, it was arrived at 09.04!

When funds allows this is my first choice hotel in Central London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentvisitor310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for trusting the InterContinental London Westminster. We are grateful to you for not only observing the service excellence, but taking the time to put it in writing. We are looking forward to have you here once again and create fond memories.

Warm regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A first visit to this hotel for six nights, was perfection: Exceptional and knowledgeable staff, a walkable location to theatres and Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Parliament buildings, Harrods, St. James, Hyde and Kensington Parks, and a lovely accessible room. My adult son
uses a wheelchair and electric scooter for mobility. The staff was consistently accommodating and made us feel comfortable and respected. The Head Concierge, Mr. Ashley Harmon, made arrangements for a bed board providing a firmer mattress for my son. I cannot adequately express the accolades earned and deserved by all the staff. We look forward to a future visit to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Donna,

We make every effort to maintain the high standards of quality service delivery we are renowned for and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. Thank you for recognizing our colleagues who impressed you by their attention and professionalism especially to Mr Ashley Harman. Rest assured your fantastic feedback will be shared to them. We hope to have you here again at the InterContinental London Westminster.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#94 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#24 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing