We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel spoiled by Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #49 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Reception refused to let my wife come to my room despite having asked me to sign her in and leave her details at reception. When she arrived they were rude to her and a guest who I had also signed in.
A pity, because apart from that the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Whilst I am pleased that you liked the hotel, I am deeply concerned about how you described your encounter with one of our receptionists. I am genuinely sorry if this is your impression. Guests' safety is one of our priorities, thus we require identification to whoever needs to enter the room. Nonetheless, we hope that this incident will not stop you from coming back to the InterContinental London Westminster. We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your feedback.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,220 - 2,226 of 3,209 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

First stay in the IC Westminster. Hotel is located well and the room was a good size although our room had no view other than roofs and air conditioners.
We opted to upgrade to club level which was OK ,but no bubbly at all on offer. This surprised us as the IC Park Lane always offers Moët during the happy hour.
Although we have no complaints of note we still prefer the IC Park Lane and in future will return there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the InterContinental brands and for staying this time at the InterContinental London Westminster. I understand how important it is to have the best view however the hotel is located next to high rise buildings. On your next stay kindly make a note in your booking of your request and we will do our best to allocate you on a better view. We recommend for you to try our Unlimited Champagne Afternoon Tea in the main lounge for bottomless champagne. Looking forward to have you again.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Needing a night away without kids we booked this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a great bed although for my female taste a little too male. We did not eat in the hotel preferring to explore London and get out and about but it's location is superb and it's very close to lots of the major landmarks. I get the impression it is a hotel mainly for business and political visitors although there were a good number of tourist types in the lobby area. There is free WIFI but it's v slow and for fast efficient WIFI you have to pay £14 per 24hrs. In this day and age super fast wifi should be everywhere and either free or very inexpensive. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WifeMumWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this commentary from your most recent stay with us at the InterContinental London Westminster. I recommend for you to visit and try our Afternoon Tea at the Emmeline's Lounge and hope this will give you a feminine feel about the hotel. We also have exciting culinary offerings from Blue Boar Smokehouse so you might want to try that as well next time. It's a shame that the WIFI connection did not meet your expectations. Nonetheless, we are very happy that you chose to stay with us and for thinking of staying with us on your future visits.

Warm regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great modern hotel with a perfect central location on a quiet street, walking distance to many important attractions and you have an underground station just in front. Excellent service and fantastic rooms! Worth the stay. 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsfel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is indeed very gratifying to learn that we were able to deliver the high level of customer service that we are renowned for. I am pleased to read how highly you have praised the location, the staff and the rooms. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again at the InterContinental London Westminster.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a last minute escape to London and we were so pleased that we chose to stay at the InterContinental Westminster. All of the staff we dealt were friendly, helpful and efficient. The superior room was modern, clean and well equipped with large bathroom and separate shower room and separate toilet. The room was exceptionally quiet for a London hotel - we heard no street noise and very little from elsewhere within the hotel.The turndown service (with cards indicating the next day's weather placed on the pillows) was a lovely touch. We ate in the hotel's Blue Boar restaurant on our first evening and had a delicious meal, where the waiting staff were extremely attentive. The Blue Boar bar is also well worth a visit, especially to try the beer cocktails. Breakfast was also very good, with a choice of options cooked to order. The location was perfect - just opposite St James Park tube. Lastly, for anyone with an interest in British politics, the decor in the bar and restaurant and the 'do not disturb' cards will bring a smile to your face.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We could not be happier to read your well written feedback. Thank you for your detailed and lovely feedback. We are always pleased to hear when our guests feel extremely satisfied during their stay with us. We would love to have you return for another stay when you come to London next time and I am sure your experience will be just as great as this time.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The quality of Intercontinental properties is consistently high, and this new(er) location is no exception. The most memorable aspect of our stay was the excellent customer service we received from all of the staff members we encountered - from Reception, Concierge, porters/bellhops, to Housekeeping. I wish I had remembered to jot down their names. The rooms we had were ultra-modern, and I loved all of the lighting options. The only complaint about the room was that our shower door seemed to have a gap at the bottom, so water seeped out onto the tile. Maintenance promptly came to the room when I was away, and the next day it was better but still not full resolved. Saying that, the other room we had didn't have this issue.

The location, as others have mentioned, is ideal for sightseeing with a tube stop right across the street, and walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament/Big Ben, and St. James Park/Buckingham Palace. There are also several chain coffee and sandwich shops (Starbucks, Costa, Pret a Manger) nearby. A short walk takes you to Victoria Street with several dining options.

I love how the hotel renovated a historic building (Queen Anne's Chambers), but that also means that the lobby and ground-level seating areas are limited in their size. One wonders if the toy sculpture could be removed to allow for more seating! I like the other art pieces but this one seemed cheap (plastic figurines all painted in a metallic color). Oh well, it didn't detract much from the experience, and I still consider this an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCR_NBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your charming review of your stay at InterContinental London Westminster, it is always especially pleasing to hear such great feedback from our valued guests. The concierge and front of house teams are a hand-picked specialists, who pride themselves on their outstanding level of customer service and always going the extra mile to exceed our guest’s expectations. The hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of London’s top tourist sights within walking distance and is adjacent to a central transport hub. We could not wait for you to come back and create wonderful memories.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

i have been in this very comfortable hotel last month with my family, evrything is very efficient,and clean . location is central and the have a very good restaurant
rooms are wellequipped and clean. expensive

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your kind review of your family stay at InterContinental London Westminster! Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to see you again when you visit London next time.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £207 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing