We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #48 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From the moment I arrived here at this hotel I felt that the staff had my every need covered and every question answered with a smile.
The room was very comfortable and facilities clean and well taken care of. Slept well in a nice comfortable bed, no external noise that I felt may have been there based on location and view from the window.
Concierge very good and doorman from Forfar extremely polite and very helpful.
Location was good and not far from River Thames and great for getting to the places I needed to see.
One of the better hotels that I have stayed in for some time and once again a staff that were so willing to assist and please. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterNIcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mr Nicoll,

Excellent news! Thank you for your kind words on your most recent stay at the InterContinental London Westminster. I am particularly pleased that you loved your room and valued the service from the staff. Everyone in the team is committed to making your experience special. I will make sure to share your feedback to the team especially to Grant (doorman) and his manager. I look forward to being able to welcome you back for another happy stay when the occasion arises.

Sincerely,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,193 - 2,199 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is everything you expect from a 5 star hotel. The place is modern, stylish and smells wonderful. The staff are friendly and helpful without being overly attentive. Westminster Abbey is a 4 minute walk and the tube is directly opposite. The main bar is a pleasant change from your typical hotel bar and feels more like an upmarket pub that just happens to be attached to a hotel.

Bedrooms are not huge but well furnished and very clean with coffee machines and separate shower and bath. The beds are great with highest quality pillows and bedding.
Highly recommended for a holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

What a fantastic feedback! We are all thrilled to read about your wonderfully written review. Thank you for choosing the InterContinental London Westminster. We could not agree with you more that the location of the hotel is in a perfect setting to explore all what the city has to offer. Your comment will be shared to the rest of the team. We are all looking forward to have you here.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Exactly what you'd expect from a 5 star london hotel. Excellent! Great location. Walking distance nr St James Park, Westminster and West End. Also, very close to St James Park tube. Would definitely use it again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank blackmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are truly honoured of your fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental London Westminster. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights. We are all looking forward to your return.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We decided to stay for a Saturday evening at the last minute so booked a secret hotel with lastminute.com.
We arrived in the small lobby for checkin. We were asked what type of bed we wanted. We were then told they only had an accessible room left with a king bed. I was rather surprised that the only standard king bed rooms was an accessible one and a bit sceptical given we booked through lastminute.com. 10 mins later on the website using their wifi it showed there were still standard king bed rooms available. Having read previously reviews i noticed this wasn't the first time this happened. I however wasn't in the mood to argue about the room but was slightly annoyed with the checkin experience.
That said the room was nicely appointed with an extremely comfortable bed, nice big tv. We didn't like the bathroom as it was a full wet room and flooded the bathroom when the shower was turned on full power.
We tried the breakfast in the morning which was quite nice with great service. Overall a nice stay BUT be prepared to stay in an accessible room if you manage to grab a deal with the lastminute secret hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept an accessible room if you didn't book one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Conor,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your feedback. I apologise if you were allocated in an Accessible room during your stay and made you felt uncomfortable. The secret hotel booking is normally a Classic non descriptive room, thus room allocations depend on availability upon check in. However during your stay the hotel had high occupancy and the availability in our website might be in a Superior room. Nonetheless, we would like to apologise for the inconvenience we have caused and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to regain your trust in us. Looking forward to have you here again.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June. The room product is excellent. Well designed, functional & luxurious. Everything worked. Top marks. The windows though, do NOT insulate outdoor noise. Yes, its central London but there is a problem with these. Still, ear plugs did the trick but should we really have to do that in a 5* hotel? Not really, no. The other problems were staff related, sadly. Door staff, who were somewhat preoccupied upon our arrival to listen to our simple instructions. The concierge was worse though. Dependant upon who was on duty meant the that the service was wildly variable - swinging from helpful & friendly to totally uninterested & un-engaging. Not acceptable at all. Sorry IC but its just not good enough. Life is too short. Sort out these issues & it could be a winner. Will we stay again though? No, definitely not. There are other London properties who will benefit from our regular London stays because they have proven that they can deliver joined-up service and who address the issues directly with their guests so that they can enjoy the best of stays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank only-the-big-seats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to GM at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the InterContinental London Westminster and for sending us your feedback. Whilst I am very pleased to know that you liked our luxurious room, I am also very concerned about few instances which spoiled your wonderful view about the hotel. It is with regret that you encountered issues during your recent stay with us, as you will see from the majority of our posts this is not indicative of our usual high standards. Nonetheless, please accept our sincerest apologies. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your post further and would be grateful if you would contact me at your convenience through icwestminster.info@ihg.com.

Sincerely,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the Club Intercontinental Studio King room. We were made to feel welcome from the time we arrived the check in staff were friendly and helpful. The day doormen provided great service for our entire stay however we didn’t have the same feel from the night crew. Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed and having an Nespresso machine was a bonus. Breakfast was included in our stay and offered a good variety of options. We had breakfast in the Club area and the main area and thought that the main restaurant offered better service in terms of table service. The wifi worked well in and out of the room. The Hotel location is excellent and quiet and it’s within walking distance to all major attractions, St James Park railway station is directly over the road which is very convenient to get you around London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have chosen the InterContinental London Westminster on your recent trip to London. I enjoyed reading how highly you valued the service from our team. I will be delighted to share your comments with everyone here and we all look forward to welcoming you here in the not so distant future.

Regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend. It was a great hotel to stay, staff was well trained. I enjoyed the food, it was hot and had different varieties to chose from. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mynameiskhan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the InterContinental London Westminster. Thank you for your kind review and we are all looking forward to have you.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,937 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £209 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing