We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent upscale london hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad London St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #40 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering
Level Contributor
123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale london hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night using reward points. Amazingly chic hotel, relatively newly opened - high level spec and service throughout from bell staff through to reception. Got upgraded room - disabled friendly but didn't matter to us - lovely tea, nespresso machine and free water in fridge. Huge TV in screen wall opposite bed - took while to work out as no docking station but could Bluetooth phone music to TV. Great rain shower and bath - only gripe was no convenient accessible mirror for shaving, or wife to do makeup, but overall great quality room.

Breakfast buffet wasn't included so we ordered a la carte, was ok but pricy for oj and average coffee (£4.50 each!). Buffet didn't really look worth it vs other 5 star hotels. Service in restaurant wasn't great, but rest of hotel fab.

Great location in quiet part of Whitehall - st james park tube station entrance directly opposite entrance. Definitely would go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the InterContinental London Westminster and for posting your review about your recent stay. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to constantly improve the quality of our service and product. We are able to provide extra mirrors in your room (whole body mirror and/or table mirror) if required. Please let any of the team members know. We sincerely apologise if the breakfast we offer did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be highlighted to the Restaurant Director and we hope this has not tainted your view about the hotel. Thank you for choosing to come back and we could not wait for your return.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,101
    476
    107
    31
    18
See reviews for
463
1,266
142
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have used this hotel on a couple of occasions - and plan to go back in August again.
The location is fantastic for all things London - a tube station is located right outside
The staff are always helpful - and its been great for a weekend break as well as for business meetings
For a London hotel the rooms are beautifully appointed - just a little small - but perfectly adequate for their use

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Steve,

We are very grateful of your loyalty to the InterContinental London Westminster. Thank you for highlighting many of the aspects that sets the hotel ahead of the competition. Furthermore, thank you very much for not only observing the service excellence, but taking the time to put it in writing. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent a night at the Intercontinental Westminster and I can only describe it as absolutely fabulous. The room was the best I have ever stayed in, the location is phenomenal, and the service is impeccable!!

Thank you for a wonderful trip

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommydeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tommydeano,

It is such an honour to know that the InterContinental London Westminster is the best hotel you have ever stayed in and we will do everything to keep it this way on your future stays. We also hope that you will have opportunity to stay with us for a longer period of time so you may fully experience and enjoy what we offer. I recommend to try our very popular Champagne Afternoon Tea and our culinary offerings at the Blue Boar Smokehouse if you haven't done so. Please email me personally at icwestminster.info@ihg.com on your next visit to make sure you have a seamless stay.

Regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were here for three nights in July. This hotel is pricy (most are in London), but provided a comfortable, relaxed end to a busy trip. The interior is well insulated and the street off the busiest routes, so the atmosphere inside provides an excellent break from the busy city yet a close walk to the places in St James/Westminster/Trafalgar Square areas.

A very close walk to Westminster Abbey (you can see it from the front door), Parliament buildings, Big Ben and the River Thames. The Eye is just on the other side of the river. A 5 minute walk to these sites. About a 15-25 minute walk to the theatre district just beyond Trafalgar Square and safe to walk at night. About a 20 walk to Buckingham Palace. Be prepared for big crowds in all these places!

The bed, shower and service were excellent. The concierge and font door attendants were incredibly helpful, arranging theatre tickets, giving directions, sharing the weather report and recommending restaurants. The room was serviced more than once a day, offering turn down service, an excellent espresso machine, plenty of closet storage and amenities. A daily newspaper and free coffee, tea and water and soaps/lotion are provided. Wifi is free and the media strip in the room provides plugs for several countries, including US to allow easy charging.

We had breakfast included. There is a nice buffet plus ordered hot food options. The first day the food and service were excellent, but the second we had difficulty getting hot coffee and the eggs were over cooked -- seemed like they were having kitchen challenges the second day, so would have to say the breakfast service could be spotty.

The only disappointment was the cost of transportation to Heathrow airport. We thought it would be a little more direct by tube, bus or train to the airport. It turned out that changes were necessary and we did not feel like navigating it with bags (should have researched this more); a taxi to the airport costs 60-90 lbs or the hotel can arrange a town car for 90lbs.

Room Tip: We opted for a room on the interior court for more quiet and this was achieved. No view from the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much enjoyed reading your detailed review about your most recent stay at the InterContinental London Westminster. Thank you for highlighting many of the aspects that sets us ahead of the competition. We could not be prouder upon reading your well written comments. Taking the tube would be the fastest and a cheaper alternative to get to the hotel and yes you will have to change at one station. We welcome constructive feedbacks from our valued guests and I hope your breakfast experience on the second day will not hinder from coming back.

Sincerely,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Redington Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The best location ever. Right at the Tube stop and around the corner from a great Pub and the Double Decker Bus stop. Within walking distance to Westminster Abby, Big Ben and The Thames. Take the boat ride.

Room Tip: Take the bus all day on and off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I could not agree with you more that the location of the hotel is in a perfect setting to explore all what the city has to offer. The hotel enjoys a superb location, adjacent to many of London’s must-see sights and activities, yet tucked away in a quiet corner for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Thank you for staying at the InterContinental London Westminster and we hope to have you again.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Recently had a one night stay here with my husband. The hotel is in a good location and right across the street from the tube so very easy to get around. Is a short walk to Big Ben, buckingham palace etc.
the room was quit small but the bed was very comfortable.
Service was outstanding esp the concierge who helped us plan an excellent day of sight seeing. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessmess71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Though only for a night, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm confident that you will have more opportunities to stay for a longer period of time and truly honoured that you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to London. Thank you for acknowledging our Concierge team and I will be happy to share your comments to them. We look forward to your upcoming stays at the InterContinental London Westminster hotel.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I really enjoyed our weekend shopping break based here. Hotel staff were very attentive, we dined in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and dinner and the food, service and ambience was excellent.
Only downside is that the maid service are very eager and seem to walk in and knock later - rather effecting our privacy! Luckily this only happened once to us. Being picky but I would find it more useful to have a mirror over the desk rather than a picture- perhaps the hotel caters more to business users than those who like to sit down whilst applying make up.
Fabulous hotel will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm very happy to hear that you had a fantastic weekend stay at the InterContinental London Westminster. It's great that you managed to try our restaurant during your stay and enjoyed your dining experience. However, I'd like to apologise if you were disturbed when one of our team members tried to clean your room, we hope this has not tainted your wonderful view about the hotel. We do have table mirrors available upon request. Should you need anything on your future stays please let any of the team members know and we'll do our best to provide it for you. Looking forward to have you again.

Sincerely,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing