We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pub food in London ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Pea

Green Pea
Ranked #51 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Greenwich
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best pub food in London ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited Tom's on a number of occasions recently. My husband is very fussy when it comes to pub food as he resents paying for food that he can cook better at home. However, after convincing him on one occasion we now visit frequently. The pies are incredible. He also has an extensive veggie menu which is great. All food comes in huge portion sizes with lots of fresh, well cooked veg. The puddings are also worth trying if there is any space left.

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    67
    17
    4
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We live in the Greenwich are but had never got round to trying this restaurant. After seeing so many positive reviews we decided to visit on a Tuesday night. It was not what we expected. The owner, Tom, greeted us and took us to our table. We were given no menus. Instead Tom just told us what he had made that day. All of it sounded delicious but I went for the lamb shank while my husband chose the steak pie. Children are offered smaller portions of pies or Tom will make chicken bites which are homemade nuggets. All our food was delicious and very fresh - nothing was frozen. We also had desserts and drink and our bill was less than £50 which is pretty remarkable for the area. Tom also told us that we could bring our own wine for a small corkage fee so I will be taking advantage of that on my next visit

Helpful?
Thank Nilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Super food and host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

What can I say. Tom is a true pleasure to meet and a great host. The food was good old fashioned English grub cook perfectly and extremely good value for money at under £45 for 4 with dessert and he also gave us some free chocolates and coffee. Super

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bazza1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try,if you are walking from Greenwich go past the maritime museum on your right past the queens house and about another five minutes walk and you'll see a pub called hardys it is to the right side ,you could easily miss it.I'm really glad we didn't ,we got a warm friendly greeting as soon as we walked through the door and we were made to feel at home the entire time we were there by tom and his glamorous assistants,nothing was too much trouble and the food was amazing,we both had pie although there was plenty of other things to chose from which I would think are equally as good.i can't believe it's taken so long to go there but can't wait to go back for my free glass of tap water .
A fantastic experience thanks to everyone there.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real chill out - lazy Sunday afternoon lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having driven or walked past The Green Pea over the last 20 years decided to pay the place a little visit and boy I'm glad I did!
What I found was a real gem and the restaurant and pub is a great little find. A typical old fashioned Irish pub. Little booths, comfy sofa's and chairs and a real chilled vibe.
Booked a table for four on Sunday, as I booked on Sunday we missed out on certain dishes but need not worry as what we ordered was freshly prepared and freshly cooked.
Two of us ordered the pies, one streak and one chicken. Both well cooked with my steak being cooked very slowly so that it melts in the mouth and the other members of party had roast lamb and beef which smelled and looked as good as it tasted!
Don't expect an in and out place, Tom, the owner, lets you settle, enjoy your food and relax after eating. He described each dish to the very last ingredient and doesn't push you to make decisions! Always attentive to all his customers despite the fact that he never wrote a single item down!
And CHEAP! £60 for four meals, three desserts, a round of drinks and a LARGE pot of tea!
Would be an ideal place to pop in and avoid the hustle of Greenwich or a great way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon!
Will be going back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonychaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Pea also viewed

 

Been to Green Pea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing