We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable dish at this convenient restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antalya

Antalya
Ranked #377 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Unforgettable dish at this convenient restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were on a cruise that began in Turkey many years ago (long before TripAdvisor!), and one of the standout memories was a little restaurant where we ate upstairs on a kind of balcony overlooking a quiet street below. We’d not tried Turkish food before but found it very memorable, and we decided to book Antalya restaurant recently to see if our memories were correct. Conveniently located about midway between the British Museum and the Russell Square Tube station, is a real find.

The restaurant is beautifully decorated with bright colours and designs reminiscent of our trip to Istanbul. But the food was the real stand-out. Our waitress was pleasant but seemed to have a bit of trouble with English. Nevertheless, there were plenty of staff around to help, and we ordered two very different dishes, Tavuk Topkapi (Chicken Ottoman Style) a somewhat creamy and tender chicken with subtle spices and the Meyveli Kuza (Chef’s Special Poached Lamb), a dish cooked with prunes, apricots and cherries, giving it a hint of sweetness. Both were wonderful, but we can honestly say that the lamb dish is one we will not forget!

We can highly recommend Antalya to anyone looking for something convenient, different and reasonably priced!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTravelerReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    209
    53
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have been travelling around Europe for the past month and this was the best meal of our trip! The lamb shish from the grill was amazing! Complimentary bread, and when we'd finished they even gave us complimentary fruit and baklava! Service was fabulous, highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find for 4 weary travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This Turkish restaurant was just what we needed after a tiring day walking round London. I rang to book but they said as we were early we didn't need to. It was a large roomy restaurant with an attentive Turkish welcome. Extremely ornate paint work on the walls and ceilings making it feel very exotic. We had 4 delicious meals and a ton of cocktails. The menu was varied to suit everyone with average to reasonable prices. Service was ok but we had to do a fair amount of arm waving to get their attention for another round of drinks. All in all though a very enjoyable evening for a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was back home in London, last week, and had friends visiting. A fellow Brit had recommended Antalya to me, so we thought we'd give it a try. It did not disappoint any our international group (one Brit, one American, one Mexican and one Czech Republican). Excellent food (at a fair price) and super friendly service. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's a little off the beaten track, which makes it more appealing to me. As it's not in a very touristy area, where the food usually isn't so good and over-priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very friendly staff and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We went with a family of six. We had a very friendly staff member called Bahar (means Spring) serve us. We all felt very welcome and found her extremely friendly. She recommended excellent dishes from the menu. The food was very good and the prices reasonable. We recommend it highly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pradu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antalya also viewed

 

Been to Antalya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing