We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anwar House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Moonlight(London)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
8
23
29
22
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
23
29
22
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorthird floorsingle roommin walkheathrow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Would gladly have escaped to somewhere else had the lady in reception not asked for payment in advance, perferably cash - and we arrived late in the evening. Water, or even the whole bathtub in the room above must have been on its way down to our room - brown stains and cracks in the ceiling suggested that.On the hottest days in summer we could only open one window - about ten centimeters. The result was an incredibly hot room to stay and sleep in! The windows were old and rotten - the double bed seemed to have been sawn across in half and later patched up with pieces of plywood in the middle, All beds were old and worn and you couldn't turn around in the shower or bathroom or even shut or lock the door towards the main room...! The bathroom door did not fit the actual opening in the wall and got stuck if you tried to shut it, and there was no door handle on the outside.(Thank God for pub toilets...) We were warned by a note saying that if any water was spilled from the bathroom into the actual room - we would be charged for the damages! In a bathroom without any drain or threshold towards the main room - thats pretty rich...! It was not even clean in the bathroom - the towel holder was full of old dust and the toilet had brown stains on the seat... The shower head had to be held by hand, as it constantly would fall off its loose rack. There was only one light in the main room - the big one on the ceiling - nothing by the beds. There was a kitchen sink by the door that looked like if someone had driven a car into it, with just the back plate of a long gone cupboard hanging on the wall above. There was, however, enough hot water available for the four of us. The staff were friendly enough, but were very persistent about payment in advance. They charged us extra for paying by credit card, as we did not have cash payment on hand on arrival.
Sorry, but his hotel cannot be recommended. Stay away!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fender012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHL, Manager at Anwar House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

I am sorry to hear that you found your experience with us 'Awful'. We take great pride in our place and yes leaks do happen because our building is over 120 years old. We constantly need to maintain them and leaks happen in ALL buildings this age if showers are left running on the bathroom floor (hence the note), this was not meant to cause you any offence and if it did we sincerely apologise.

The room that you stayed in was had it's own private bathroom and we apologise if the look was broken but I assure you no one would have entered your private bathroom in your room.

We always ensure that are rooms have hot water 24 hours and take pride in ensuring that our rooms are clean.

Our window frames are the original Victorian Sash windows which we as all Londoners love and appreciate. Yes they need a bit of a strong push but our staff would have been more than happy to do this for you.

It is the procedure that payment is taken when you check in all hotels. We are a small business so don't automatically charge your card, we do this while you are present, so again we apologise if this came across as negative.

kindest,

Anwar House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Room Tip: Very poor accommodation overall. The toilet is problematic to flush and there was no lock or place to hang once cloth inside the toilet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Room Tip: I had a single room with private shower which was in the process of being decorated but should never have been occupied in that state. The chest of drawers had the bottom missing out of one drawer and the cupboard door almost fell off when opened. Didn't feel that I wanted to spend more time in the room than I had to.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have stayed in several low-budget hotels in London in the past but they were full by the time I got around to making reservations this time. The Anwar House is without doubt the worst room I have ever had. Peeling paint, broken towel rack, squeaky pipes, slow shower drain, broken toilet seat, only 1 light (in ceiling), skimpy pillows, poor quality mattresses (on boards to make them firm). Another 5-10 GBP for a nicer hotel/better room would be worth it. The only plus was the short walk to Earl's Court Station. It was also quiet at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews