We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off merchants!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
37 Collingham Place London
Ranked #982 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The cold tap did not work & the shower was broken. On top of this I had an extra personal guest come visit me for a few hours. The hotelier then expects me to pay an extra £20 for this?! On top of my own fees as the one travelling down... I don't think so. Are you telling me hotels don't know people sometimes have a guest? Contacted my bank about this. The staff were rude and condescending, what a piece of work one older guy was. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for 37 Collingham Place London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We rent the room for 6 people. It was globally ok for the price we paid : i mean we could sleep, it wasn't too dirty, and it's well-located, but i wouldn't recommend that hotel. I'm sure you can find something better for the price.
Be careful if you need the hotel to store your luggage (beofre check-in or after check-out), they just leave it in the entrance corridor (which I haven't been told when I sent an e-mail to ask if they could store our luggage).
The room had a fridge and a micro-wave. However, I'm not really sure how clean they were... The bathroom wasn't really clean either, but it could have been worse.
When we arrived, there were only 2 towels (for 6 persons) and 1 roll of toilet paper... They knew we were 6! However, when we asked they quickly bring the missing items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The room was so dirty that my partner and I actually had to leave and find another hotel. Our room was in the downstairs part of the hotel, and upon entering the air was noticeably dank and musty. Both of us felt that it was difficult to breath and my partner's allergies immediately began to act up. There was mold on the ceiling in the shower stall, the toilet seat was not actually attached to the toilet (it was just sort of resting on top), and there was a strange stain on the wall of the bathroom. In the main room only one of the three beds had pillowcases on its pillows. One of the uncased pillows had hair on it and another one had a blood stain on it. The blinds on the windows were broken and the lock on the door was loose and barely hanging on. The owner had seemed friendly enough when we checked in, giving us a map of London and directions to the nearest convenience store. When checking in there were no indications that the room would be so neglected. When we informed the owner that we could not stay in the room because it was so dirty he offered to switch us rooms. We declined because we were so disgusted by this point that we were unwilling to stay there. He refused to give us our money back, so we lost out on 50 pounds by leaving, but honestly, neither of us felt safe staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leasha892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

AWFUL. only nice thing abotu this place was the bathroom tiles. SO many things missing and in need of attention in this place, no milk for the provided tea/coffee (WHY??!) was given directions to local tesco for this!!, no teaspoons, no hand towels, no hand soap, no shower gel. (given cheap sachets on request. told no hand towels or spare pillows (ownser said too much laundry cost!) (pillows u could fold in half!) cheap tattty knocked together furnture completely useless, toilet seat handging off, shower drain blocked. Headboard not fixed on, ripped and stapled back together. we moved rooms second night at short notice as we decided to stay another night but had to move, Manager helpful here and allowed us to keep our stuff and moved moved to new room. New room even worse with peeling paint in bathroom (extractor fan broken, cubicle tray frame rotting, tiles mouldy, carpet stained, paintwork badly chipped. Clearly these owners dont beleive in spending money on maintenance of any sort and for £60 for a double room in this location you cant afford to be that picky but still to call themselves a hotel is pushing it and you do expect the basics!
Would consider coming again as managers were lovely but only if the place improved and would happily pay a bit extra if this was done. Location brillinat 5 min walk to tube.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms. You have to tune the tv in yourself on arrival!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Jamesgeorgelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in this Hostel in January 2014 and we were very satisfied. We were on a tight budget, and we knew that we weren't staying at the Ritz, but that was okay, we just needed a clean and safe place to stay.

The rooms are very basic and nothing is high quality, but it is a hostel. This place had a microwave and a TV, which was a far better deal than another hostel we stayed in in Elephant & Castle. The shower and bathroom are outdated, but who cares? We came to London to see London not to sit a hostel.

And the staff and management were incredible. They were friendly and at the front desk for the majority of the day and night, which made us feel safe. In addition, they made special accommodations when we had problems getting out of London on our flight. In other words, their rooms were completely booked up, but they reached out to their business partner two doors down and got us a similar priced room in very short notice.

Some people on tripadvisor complain about cleanliness, I must say that I didn't think cleanliness was an issue at all here. In fact, I ALWAYS saw the cleaning lady throughout the day. And if I were to complain about anything it would be that it smelled too much like cleaning products, but really...is that a complaint at all?

Also, the 3% credit card fee. Yeah, it was annoying but seriously? This is a small business in a foreign country. Credit card fees can cost a lot, and I came across this sort of thing a lot in London. I think Americans may not be used to this, but whatever, it was either a 3% credit card fee or we go to the ATM and get an ATM fee and a foreign exchange fee, so what's the difference? Plus, if you know you are stay several days in advance, you won't have to keep recharging your card.

Overall, we really liked this place and opted to stay here longer as opposed to finding another hostel. We liked the management and we are satisfied with the price and accommodations. Not only would we recommend this place, but we fully intend to visit again when we are back in London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCNYC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Dont be fooled by photos.its a slum.You pay 3% extra for credit card payment. Heating doesnt work.floor is broken, windows are broken.blankets are dirty. Bathrooms are ugly.its a hostel not hotel by any standards.theres not a single good thing i could write about this slum. Please stay away like a plague

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank drmastoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Pay nothing get nothing. When we arrived we saw a mouse running in the room. Everything in the room was old and dirty. Staff was unfriendly, surprisingly they cleaned our rooms though. The "hotel" was in a very good neighbourhod so that was the only advantage of staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpoelhekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#788 of 1,072 in London
653 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 37 Collingham Place London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 37 Collingham Place London

Address: 37 Collingham Place | Earls Court, London SW5 0QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 37 Collingham Place London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing