We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #502 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room was very clean with comfortable bed. We arrived late at night, everything was so easy, check-in was seamless. The location was key for us, few minutes walk to Earls court tube was awesome. Additionally, there were a lot of restaurants around the hotel. It was just so great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nepali_Kancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Nepali_Kancha,

Thank you so much for your great review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest Regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    597
    300
    124
    75
See reviews for
206
573
153
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Found this hotel online and stayed for 3 nights Saturday - Tuesday for £260, which in London is an amazing price for a 4* hotel. We chose it mainly for the location and the price.

The location is brilliant for people who want to visit an attraction in Kensington. It's 10 minutes walking time from Earls Court Tube & Gloucester Road Tube, 15 minutes from the Natural History Museum, Science Museum & South Kensington Tube and 20 minutes from Harrods and the Knightsbridge Tube. Like a lot of places in London, there's cafes, restaurants and supermarkets clustered outside the tube stations so it's really easy to find what you need.

Our room at the hotel was not massive. I could have booked a "small double" for even less but I went for a "standard double" which was sufficient for 3 nights. We seemed to be in a corner and had walls at funny angles. Anyway, the room was perfectly comfortable and clean as you would expect from a 4* hotel. We had plenty of coffee but only 2 teabags (strange!) and even biscuits. Towels were changed frequently and the room was always immaculately made up when we returned to it.

There was a little difficulty checking in, which really shouldn't happen when you've booked online, but I was relieved I'd taken a printout and eventually my booking was located. Phew!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sticky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Sticky11

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal.

When it comes to the room size, some of our rooms are indeed very compact. We do, however, have a range of room types from small doubles to king executive. My suggestion for future stays would be to book one of our executive rooms as they are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Best Regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked a room on the day through Laterooms - rate was £155 no brekko. There were cheaper hotels but the rooms here looked nice and spacious and so we went for this. One of the deciding factors was also that this offered parking and we needed parking for a van overnight. Arrived and was shocked that we were given a room that was tiny! Barely big enough to fit a bed and you had to side step to get to the the side. I had a lot of luggage as had been travelling for a month and I had to use the small coridoor to the hall. The parking was also a bit on the dodgy side - it was a space next to a building that didn't feel entirely secure and we were charged £35 for the priviledge! I looked online to check the room size and was appaulled to see they were offering the same room at £145 with breakfast. I asked reception about if we had the right room as it really was tiny. I was told that the room size was quoted on the paperwork in square feet - I went on the pictures (am sure most of us do) which looked a lot bigger. Asked why we paid more and had no breakfast and wasn't really satisfied with the response - Prices change! My issue was more that the room was so ruddy tiny! Very uncomfortable night - am not convinced the bed was a double (more of a 3/4) and just the lack of space made the whole experience very claustrophobic and at £155 - not worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickabeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just stay for one night but i really enjoy it. Clean room and very nice buffet! Desk staff and Miss Raquel really help me with the city transport and places to know in London. Location in great close to Earls Court Station we can walk from station to the Hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBeites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear MBeites,

Thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and have found our breakfast buffet nice.

Your comments have been shared with the team and Raquel in particular and they are all very grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a kingsize room but was upgraded to an executive room. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. There are many complaints about room size fr other reviews however we found it to be sufficient. Location is excellent with lots of dining options. Earls court and Gloucester rd stations are only minutes away. The staff are very helpful and are always smiling. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Leong Y,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Privilege room.

Our aim is to offer memorable stays and enjoyable stays tour guests. It is a pleasure for all of us to see that we have succeeded in your case.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#595 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing