We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact room but nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #502 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Compact room but nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stopped at this hotel for 2 nights whilst working nearby at Olympia.

A 2 night stay for a single room with breakfast cost £330 though a booking website. I thought this was expensive based on the size of the room.

Check-in was quick and easy at the hotel, however they did insist on taking an imprint of my card as well as PIN authorisation.

I had a single room on the 3rd floor. The room was fairly small, with about 12 inches between the end of the bed and the wall, but it was a nice clean room with a small double bed. Perfectly comfortable for one.

The bathroom was clean and tidy with a wealth of complimentary amenities.

On the first night there were 2 complimentary mints on my pillow, along with ear plugs (for outside noise) and a tea/coffee selection. Unfortunately none of the mentioned was replenished on the 2nd night - which is a shame as the price paid should include this.

There was also a small work desk and LCD TV with freeview channels. A/C was also fairly effective.

Room service menu basic and quite expensive, but there are a number of restaurants within a couple of minute walk from the hotel, along with a Sainsburys supermarket.

I only ate breakfast on the 2nd day, as the restaurant doesn't open before 7am and I needed to leave earlier on the first day.

Although it is a buffet breakfast, served in heated containers, I found the food to be luke-warm which was a disappointment. Good selection of food, but would have been 100% better if hot.

Wouldn't necessarily return as I don't think the price paid reflected experience received.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear LincolnAndrew ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Kensington, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Kensington and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Nogueira

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    597
    300
    124
    75
See reviews for
206
573
153
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location is good and near many restaurants and shops at Earl's Court and underground station . The room was good and everything I needed was there. Internet is fast enough to serve anything. However, I had only one issue as they requested to authorize 50 pounds from my card and it was strange as I haven't been requested anything like that before at Mercure or Accor Hotels

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ahbannaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ahbannaga,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Kind regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 8th to11th June on our first trip to London.
This is a fantastic location easy walk to underground and bus and taxi out front.
The staff were fantastic and yes our room was small but it was clean inviting and comfortable, after all how much time Do you spend indoors.
Drinks in bar were lovely after a day out sightseeing.
Breakfast was a delight with plenty of options.
No complaints from us and maybe some folks are just plain fussy and expect a palace.
We didn't have any problems with wifi just log in!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jenf61,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedbakc. We are deligthed to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are grateful for your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest Regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
255 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent one night at this Mercure and it has a nice location about a five minute walk from the Gloucester Rd Underground station. Overall think the hotel was acceptable but probably would not stay here again unless the price was right. The rooms were very tiny and the elevator doesn't go to the fifth floor. Had to walk up a flight of stairs from 4th to the 5th. For an Accor hotel think they could do better. The room looked a little tired. The one nice touch was a complimentary minibar (soft drinks)--at least the room I was staying in.

The Breakfast was good and had a nice variety.

Unless you are looking for an Accor hotel in this area, suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor or below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mcmurrytravels,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.
I am delighted to see that you found our location ideal.

When it comes to the room size, some of our rooms are indeed very compact. We do, however, have a range of room types from small doubles to king executive. My suggestion for future stays would be to book one of our executive rooms as they are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed.

We pride ourselves on our high standards of service and I do hope you will not judge us solely on this experience.

Kindest Regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room was so small, you to turn sideways to get past the bed. Nowhere to put 2 bags down. The hotel is modern and generally comfortable, but the tiny room made our 4 days stay very uncomfortable. Ten minute walk from Earls Court Station. Only 30 minutes wifi allowance per day. I had problems connecting, but the staff didn't care, and wouldn't help. Excellent hot buffet breakfast was included in our price, but don't order the coffee, which is undrinkable. Lifts were not working, on our arrival, so luckily they changed our room to the first floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor, unless you like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sue C.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Kensington and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Best regards

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#595 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing