We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revised Ratings. Great Dim Sum”
Review of Dim Sum House - CLOSED

Dim Sum House
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Revised Ratings. Great Dim Sum”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This will be the 3rd time i've changed my rating of the restaurant. At first i gave it 4 stars, then 2 and now i'm giving it 4 stars again.

This place has always done good food - i've looked at the reviews and generally speaking, even the poor ones don't seem to disagree with this. The Dim sum is as good as anywhere you'll get in China Town - the other dishes are also good - freshly cooked, good ingredients, served hot, quickly etc.

The problem has always been its service (*cough*), which, to put it mildly, has been lacking. This lack of service stemmed from the old manager who worked there. Please believe me when i say i've had just as bad, if not worse, experiences with him than anyone on this site, my own opinion of him not being something that i could really say on a public forum!

As it happens, we were walking by the restaurant a little while ago now, realised the manager wasn't there, so decided to talk to the owner (fluke that the person we spoke to happened to own the place) and tell her what we thought of this guy. Cut a long story short, i'm pleased to say that he's been sacked (the owners have seen the reviews on here and have acted upon them). This happened about a month ago now, and since then, i've been back to eat at the restaurant a few times.

I think it's really unfortunate that they employed this guy to begin with, but since his departure, the place has got a bit more of a relaxed feel (they've also got rid of a couple of the pretty mediocre waitresses who were there and replaced them with a nice waitress whose English is very good), the place is a bit more busy and it's definitely a much nicer place to have a quick munch.

I totally understand why people wouldn't want to go back here and it was only 'cause my g/f loved the food that we even walked back in after the experiences we'd had, but i'm definitely going back and will be happy to recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    6
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for great food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friendly staff, and reasonable value for money. Fabulous Dim sum, especially the ‘Char Siu Bao’ and the steamed Scallop with spinach.

and there was no loud music playing in the background, you can actually have a conversation with your dining parties without having to shout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“All You Can Eat Menu”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and girlfriend walk pass this restaurant last night and saw a All You Can Eat offer. So we decide to give it a go. Quite surprise to see the menu choices, I think over 60+ to choose from. The best we like is a good selection from dim sum, traditional starter, aromatic duck as well and they all cook freshly.

The food can be slow, so suggest you order a few dishes or more at a time.

Perfect for weekend lunch. You dont need to have dinner :) after.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MONEY HUNGRY!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

So we use to enjoy coming here for the all-u-can-eat deal, which was great value and made for an enjoyable meal.We went last week and the menu has been chopped in half and most things now have a hidden extra charge! ALSO they "do not serve tap water"?!?! I stated that I thought that was actually illegal and the manager became quite confrontational and said that he could charge £4 for tap water if he liked - so we walked out!! Never again. People just ruining a good thing just to try and make a few extra quid... has done the opposite in my books!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank shane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good chinese restaurant in north london.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been going there for over a year now. There was some fluctuation in food quality and service in the past, but overall it has been the best authentic chinese restaurant we've found in north london, especially their dimsum and sea food are very fresh all the time.
Dimsum basket(6 piece) is the must try if you like steamed seafood dumsum and their order to cook buffet menu whcih was recently launched is also very good value and range.
I never used a voucher so not sure if it is troublesome to use them.

This place is very good in terms of food quality and location as the street parking is available outside as well as bus and tube station closeby. Shame that it is getting bad reviews mainly because of the service and hope that manager tries harder to improve it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jyhan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dim Sum House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing