We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO WELCOMING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cannes, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SO WELCOMING”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This HOtel is just what we need:
SO Welcoming
SO Helpful team
SO Clean
SO great location
SO SPA SO UNIQUE
SO FIT
SO HAPPY place
will be back

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS ARE GREAT and THE BEDS ARE JUST PERFECT
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nadiamoussalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Madam,
I am very happy that my whole team has fulfilled your expectations.
It will be a joy for us to welcome you back in the near future, I hope.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,218
    608
    123
    45
    24
See reviews for
980
1,720
271
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This wonderful hotel is a very nice place of quietness in the middle of the city and close to all attractions. I really recommend it, as one of the best place to stay is you want to be at walking distance of all nice places to visit and shop in London. Very good breakfast.
The Sofitel "My Bed" is great, like being at home in an extremely comfortable bed. You need to try it at least once.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, no outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlecasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I thank you for your positive feedback.
Indeed our Chef prouds himself to use only the freshiest seasonal products for each and every dish prepared in the kitchens hence so tasty.
Sofitel Luxury Hotels has implemented MyBed which takes you to sleep among two cloudy layers.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel London St James and look forward to the next time.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this hotel during our vacation. Wonderful location and beautiful hotel which is right in the middle of London. Walking to St. James Park, Talfager Sq, SoHo and the west end were major pluses! The room was perfect for our stay. We upgraded to a Luxury room which was on the top floor. Nice view, very clean. We were able to check in early at 11 AM which was nice after a long flight from the States. There was no coffee/espresso machine in our room when we checked in, but once I requested it on our way out for dinner, a wonderful automatic espresso machine was set up and ready on the desk when we returned. We dined in the restaurant only for breakfast, which was expensive but definitely worth it. All you can eat British/American buffet and cook to order which was a perfect breakfast/brunch to get the day started kind of meal.
The only non wonderful experience we had at the hotel was with the Concierge, Guillaume. When we mentioned we didn't have reservations one night he was outright snooty about it. He was not very friendly and then later forget one of our dinner reservation requests the last evening.
Overall, we were extremely pleased. Definitely will stay here again next time in town.

Room Tip: Book throught the hotel website, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinguytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had an initial mishap when the upgraded room I requested wasn't available for the first night. It took a little while but everything was sorted out by 11AM the next day. The hotel staff were very accomodating and tried to make it right. Needless to say we enjoyed our stay at the St James. The centalized location was great for day trips within the city. The staff were very attentive at the Brasserie Roux and the breakfast and dinner were quite nice. We ended up having to check out early because the streets were being blocked off due to a St Patricks parade. No worries, everything ended well even with the rough start.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am glad you had an enjoyable experience at the Sofitel London St James.
I thank you for your complimenting my whole team. I will share your positive feedback with them as well as with the Chef who is very proud to use only the freshiest products on the market to prepare all the dishes.
I hope your next stay with us will be very soon.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I suppose I should present my "credentials" first. I've been a regular client of Sofitel St James (SSJ) for the past 5 or 6 years and am an A-Club Platinum Card holder. So, I have a strong connection with the franchise.

While sleep comfort remans high, other standards have slipped over the past few years, to the point where, in the past 12 months, SSJ is no longer my choice in London.

The rooms are now tired and the amenities offered are well below par. The white clock wallpaper is becoming tatty; the furniture is worn; the fitments marked; the bathroom showing signs of wear (particularly the enamel in the bath) ...

On my three most recent stays, no platinum upgrade was offered. During my most recent visit: the champagne ordered for 9PM failed to materialise; the girl on reception made a total hash of checking me in and had to be reminded to return my credit card; the flower display in the corridor consisted of a cheap houseplant in a plastic pot, incongruously screwed into an ill-fitting vase.

In a three-star, these would be minor annoyances. In a hotel in this price range, they are simply unacceptable.

The Soho Hotel offers much more (albeit, without the Sofitel beds) at a similar price point and I would recommend you consider its merits before booking with at The Sofitel St James.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MacSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Weve stayed in Sofitel St James since 2002....another fabulous stay thanks...we always enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the staff are always first class; the room was excellent and the rose tea room is a great place to relax

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am grateful to your positive feedback even if your stay was short.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to offer you our undivided attention on your next longer stay.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

From the moment you arrive to the moment you check out, there is nothing to fault even travelling with a demanding 2 yr old
All of the staff went beyond the call of duty to make our stay special, so much that my son did not want to leave and still asks to return to the hotel
The Setting is that of elegance and sophistication but achieved in a very relaxed manner
The concierge staff made my sons stay very memorable and we all cant wait to return
Once stopped here, you wouldnt imagine stopping anywhere else

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Madam,
It was a pleasure reading your feedback.
We have a passion for our guests and we love to indulge you.
I thank you for the special mention of our Concierge.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
798 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,791 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,252 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,069 in London
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing