We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it used to be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

When I stayed there last year - almost at the same time of the year, I got the best impression ever. Unfortunatelly this time i collected a lot of dissapointness...if it wasn't for an employee on our last day, i would say, our stay was close to a disaster if you thik about the costXbenefit relation. For sure I would chekc other option next time

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank LuSeabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am sorry to read you were not satisfied with your last stay and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.
I would like to have the pleasure to talk with you about the issues you have through. My personal e-mail is: h3144-am@sofitel.com .
I look forward to your feedback and once again I am very sorry.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 4,121 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed at the Sofitel for our anniversary and had a very enjoyable experience. Not our first visit as we try and stay at this hotel whenever we are staying in London as it is in the centre of the city with excellent amenities

Room Tip: Use your A Club card when you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgcomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We were very happy to welcome you for your anniversary.
I look forward to your next visit, very soon I hope.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manazger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

everything was perfect: service, rooms, location, etc.

Room Tip: The luxury room was perfect: view, space, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gildas_golvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear SIr,
I thank you for such rewarding a feedback. We do our utmost to be "perfect" for our guest.
I look forward to your next stay at the Sofitel London St James.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This HOtel is just what we need:
SO Welcoming
SO Helpful team
SO Clean
SO great location
SO SPA SO UNIQUE
SO FIT
SO HAPPY place
will be back

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS ARE GREAT and THE BEDS ARE JUST PERFECT
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank nadiamoussalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Madam,
I am very happy that my whole team has fulfilled your expectations.
It will be a joy for us to welcome you back in the near future, I hope.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This wonderful hotel is a very nice place of quietness in the middle of the city and close to all attractions. I really recommend it, as one of the best place to stay is you want to be at walking distance of all nice places to visit and shop in London. Very good breakfast.
The Sofitel "My Bed" is great, like being at home in an extremely comfortable bed. You need to try it at least once.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, no outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I thank you for your positive feedback.
Indeed our Chef prouds himself to use only the freshiest seasonal products for each and every dish prepared in the kitchens hence so tasty.
Sofitel Luxury Hotels has implemented MyBed which takes you to sleep among two cloudy layers.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel London St James and look forward to the next time.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this hotel during our vacation. Wonderful location and beautiful hotel which is right in the middle of London. Walking to St. James Park, Talfager Sq, SoHo and the west end were major pluses! The room was perfect for our stay. We upgraded to a Luxury room which was on the top floor. Nice view, very clean. We were able to check in early at 11 AM which was nice after a long flight from the States. There was no coffee/espresso machine in our room when we checked in, but once I requested it on our way out for dinner, a wonderful automatic espresso machine was set up and ready on the desk when we returned. We dined in the restaurant only for breakfast, which was expensive but definitely worth it. All you can eat British/American buffet and cook to order which was a perfect breakfast/brunch to get the day started kind of meal.
The only non wonderful experience we had at the hotel was with the Concierge, Guillaume. When we mentioned we didn't have reservations one night he was outright snooty about it. He was not very friendly and then later forget one of our dinner reservation requests the last evening.
Overall, we were extremely pleased. Definitely will stay here again next time in town.

Room Tip: Book throught the hotel website, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austinguytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had an initial mishap when the upgraded room I requested wasn't available for the first night. It took a little while but everything was sorted out by 11AM the next day. The hotel staff were very accomodating and tried to make it right. Needless to say we enjoyed our stay at the St James. The centalized location was great for day trips within the city. The staff were very attentive at the Brasserie Roux and the breakfast and dinner were quite nice. We ended up having to check out early because the streets were being blocked off due to a St Patricks parade. No worries, everything ended well even with the rough start.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am glad you had an enjoyable experience at the Sofitel London St James.
I thank you for your complimenting my whole team. I will share your positive feedback with them as well as with the Chef who is very proud to use only the freshiest products on the market to prepare all the dishes.
I hope your next stay with us will be very soon.
With my best regards,
Denis Dupart,
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,076 in London
1,185 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,935 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £279 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing