We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Choice !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I stayed here as my usual inns were fill up; but I was so impressed with the attitude of the staff and standard of accommodation that I will definately stay here again. A wonderful example of a superbly managed hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldtimer55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for taking the time to post your satisfactory feedback.

I hope that from now on Sofitel London St James will be your home away from home in London.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,022
    588
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
911
1,635
257
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brüssel, Belgien
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great location in the heart of London near St. James Park. Excellent multinational, very friendly staff. They do know how to treat a guest. Good food, excellent service and very good rooms. Whenever we'll be in London again, that's where we'll be staying.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeLena1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Check in was a breeze. The front desk team was very helpful as were the luggage handlers.

Housekeeping was superb both morning and evening turn down.

Although a coffee/tea service was provided in room, I opted for fresh brewed coffee every morning which arrived hot and spot on time requested.

Great bath, very powerful shower (always a huge plus) and comfy bed.

The room itself reminded me of any Sofitel I have stayed at, which is great but keep in mind, this is a chain.

Centrally located and easy to walk to main areas with the Picadilly tube stop a couple of minutes walk.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mako32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel offers absolutely everything. The location is first class within walkingdistance of all the theatres and so close to the tube station. The service could not be better. All the staff take great pride in their work. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious with every possible amenity. The bed is luxurious and comfortable. I have stayed here twice and look forward to my next visit. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed her for one night last weekend whilst visiting London for a show with my daughter. got a great deal through Hotels Click. Have stayed at Sofitel hotel in the past and have always found them really good however this was REALLY good. From our arrival to check out we experienced the most courteous and polite staff who genuinely seemed to care about the impressions they give to guests. The hotel is very well situated only 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus underground station and near Trafalgar Square. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in with feather beds like huge marshmallows! Breakfast was included and the was a smashing selection of everything! What made it for us was the attitude of the staff. Having stayed at Le Meridien and Royal Horseguards this towers above both of them for value for money. Definitely will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The restaurant was not bad , comparing with most other restaurant in London offering the terrible food and poor service , I went to many pubs an enjoyed them however will not go back to London anymore , I enjoyed a lot more staying in Paris in Jan 2011, because of food museum, shopping , life style , great transportation and friendly people. and much more
I

Room Tip: I will nevery fly with Virgin Atlantic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sisal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel was wonderful. The rooms were clean with all the amentiies you need. The shower was fabulous as was the bed. The location was perfect. It is just blocks away from Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery and Picadilly Circus tube is just up the street. Restaurants and convenience stores within very close walking distance. Overall, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajjMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Family Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing