We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Superb Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My sister and I had a wonderful stay at the very central & ultra comfortable Sofitel. A slight hiccup at start over rooms was quickly resolved by Sally Ann , Duty Manager. A lovely hotel that prides itself on service and we agree!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Sir,

We were extremely glad to surprise you and your sister for her 70th birthday. We love to indulge each and every guest and even more on special occasions as this one as every guest is very special for us.

I thank you for quoting us as “a true gem in London City” which made me very proud of my team.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed sleeping on MyBed, a unique concept imagined by SOFITEL Luxury Hotels to bring guests the experience of spending nights like sleeping on smooth clouds.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,056
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,649
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Great location-yes
Great Service-yes, yes. They saw me arrive from an early morning walk(in gym clothes) and greeted me with a tray containing a towel, water and a power bar. That is over the top!
Food-very good. Went to a pre-theater meal they offered(for 20 pds-a bargain in and of itself)and it was one of the best meals we had in london.
Irritants(hence the lack of 5 stars)-sundries were not refreshed prior to our arrival so we had to ask for lotion, conditioner etc. Even the coffee was barren. Shower door was stuck shut, drains wouldn't seal. We even had masking tape around the bathroom door molding from a prior paint job?A last irritant..sorry...the receiver for the remote control is located in such a spot that makes it difficult to control unless you are in the 'magic spot' which was very hard to find sometimes.
Don't let these minor things deter the wonderful attitude the entire staff had to serve. I would stay there again in a heart beat. They just need some attention to the 'behind the curtain' things.

Great wifi that is free! kudos to a high end hotel for learning this service lesson!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding some maintenance issues you had been going through during your stay. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

Please note that we are constantly upgrading our fittings in view of improving our overall guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your feedback. At Sofitel London St James we pride ourselves in offering a high level of service, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you when you next visit London.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

After staying in many hotels in London over a number of years, we decided to try Sofitel St. James. The location is ideal, close to everything. The service is exquisite. The rooms are clean and inviting. We will come again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for opting for the Sofitel London St James when you last were in London.

I am very pleased that on this occasion we have met your expectations regarding high standards of service.

I hope that from now on the Sofitel London St James will be your "place to be" in London.

I look forward to your next stay with us.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Located in a convenient place to vosit London (very closed to Picadilly Circus station).
Beautiful hotel with e very professionnal service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bd75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive feedback and mention of our high standards.
I look forward to your next visit to Sofitel London St James.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Great location, very comfortable room and fantastic bed. They forgot to deliver the newspaper I had requested on both days, minor detail but for a luxury hotel details matter. Would recommend to anyone traveling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you have pretty much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James. Indeed Sofitel Luxury Hotels has implemented a unique bed concept called MyBed allowing guests to feel like sleeping on smooth clouds.

Please rest assured I took the appropriate action to address the issue with the newspaper in order to avoid any future occurences.

I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to the net surfers who will read your comment.

I am looking forward to your next visit in order for us to offer you our undivided attention.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

i've recently visited london for 5 days and i had the plaisure of staying in st.james sofitel,london.this hotel is one of the best hotels i've been, and me and my husband travel a lot and stayed in many hotels.First of all you can't beat the location,in the centre of everything in london,picadilly, circus leciester square, tralfagar square, big ben,london eye, all of them a short walk from the hotel... the hotel its self is very fine,delecate could say, fine flowers in front desk (where Helene will do everything to help you with the biggest smile),the rooms spacious and clean with lots of amenities( the cleaning ladies are quiet and efficant), the breakfast is a whole new experience when you are served by Cristopher, the food is excellent, everyone is looking after you, like Casha(sorry if i don't remember it exactly)and the coffee is delicious.I could go on for many more details but believe the hotel and its people are worth it... go for it...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ζωή Σ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Madam,

I thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you have had at Sofitel London St James.

I have shared your feedback with my team and in particular with Hélène, Christophe, and Kasha. Your comment truly served as an encouragement to all of the staff as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all of our guests.

I look forward to your next visit to Sofitel London St James.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

mentioned to Sofitel, the coffee at breakfast was very weak nd wwe sent back also the toaster must have been 10 years old!! they said the new one had broken down.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat13ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelStJamesLondon, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding your coffee and toasts. Please note that we serve "ristreto' coffee on demand only.

I am pleased to hear that you liked the hotel and that the staff was very helpful.

I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James soon.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing