We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, but rooms could be larger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, but rooms could be larger”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

2 minutes walk from Picadilly, while being on the quiet Waterloo Place, that's a hard to beat location for London!
As often in London, room size is too small. Managed to get a very good rate, paid less than 150 GBP so this is fine, but I would feel poor value for money if I paid the rack rate for this room size.
Excellent sleep quality with the SoBed and good bathroom amenities.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I am happy to hear that you have appreciated our central yet quiet location at the very heart of London.

Regarding the size of your room may I suggest you to book a higher room category on your next stay so you feel more comfortable in a larger space.

I can tell that Sofitel Luxury Hotels has once again achieved its goal on taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,089
    595
    121
    44
    21
See reviews for
934
1,662
262
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castiglione Delle Stiviere, Italia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I spent 3 nights at sofitel hotel and I found it wonderful..very nice bedroom, clean and full of conforts, waitress came before sleeping to bring bottles of water and prepare the sheets for the night and I found this piece of attention really nice. The tea room was really romantically furnished and the hotel ladies' room clean, perfumed and adorned with fresh flowers. the hotel is in the heart of the city, very close to piccadilly tube station end very close to st. james park and buckungham palace, national gallery and many others places of interest. so it was perfect!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fravilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
I thank you for your kind feedback.

Indeed our aim is to constantly enchant our guests and we do it with passion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located Sofitel London St James.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albury, new south wales, asutralia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We travel from Australia and stay in London each year. Recently we stayed at Sofitel London St James, from the time we arrived from the door man, check in staff, everyone - the experience was wonderful. The bed was to die for, so comfortable, the location is excellent. The restaurant is soooo good!!. Our son is living in London doing the 'living the dream thing' in a house with 5 other Aussies. It was so nice to be able to take him to the in house restaurant and feed him up in such a lovely atmosphere. Looking back the hotel just made our trip so much more more enjoyable.

The rate was reasonable and I believe value for money. Well done Sofitel London St James!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maree c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
I am really glad to hear that all Sofitel London St James's staff members have enchanted you during your last stay. Satisfying our guests is a genuine pleasure for us.

We have put a lot into our newly refurbished restaurant, The Balcon. The Chef, Vincent Ménager, is truly pleased to have offered to you and your family the freshiest seasonal products.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel in St James due to it's position and our experience of previous hotels within the Sofitel brand. It was our wedding anniversary and so we were looking for a memorable experience.
I am delighted to say we were not dissapointed in any way. The staff were welcoming on arrival and followed this through with very good service throughout our stay.
The hotel's position is very good for all aspects of London and if required arrangements could be made for all manor of entertainment and dining.
Our room was excellent without being 'over the top' all of the staff were attentive and helpful.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parvs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Delivering high standard of services is our pleasurable priority. We love to indulge our guests, we cannot help it. I am truly glad to hear that we achieved our aim in delivering to you such memorable a stay!

We all look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel London St James.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed as a family in the Edith Adams suite and the adjoining room for 5 nights. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived at lunchtime but the staff offered us a complimentary lunch while we waited. They immediately made us feel welcome, and that hospitality continued throughout our stay - they were always helpful, cheerful, polite, hospitable, and never missed a beat with their meet/greet and farewells.
Our rooms were fabulous, and the location of the hotel can't be beaten - close to St.James Park, Piccadilly Circus, Regent Street, Mayfair, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, and the West End theatres.
This hotel really became the star attraction of our stay - we'll be back !

Room Tip: The Edith Adams suite, in the corner overlooking Pall Mall, is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
I was extremely pleased to read your positive feedback and I thank you for that. It is such a joy to hear our guests satisfaction. Our genuine aim is indeed to offer memorable and enchanted experiences.

One of our other assets is also our central yet quiet location in the very heart of London at walking distance from the main attractions.

My team and I look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

In early May we enjoyed four days at this outstanding property. Our luxury room, 318, was a decent size for the centre of London and had all the expected style, high quality finishing and amenities. In was nice to find that the window could be opened so we were able to enjoy some fresh air in the room. Although the views were of rooftops and electrical plant, the recessed window made this less obvious. The soundproofing of the rooms is excellent and the curtains did black out all light. The marble bathroom had a bathtub, rain and hand held showerheads and lovely Hermes amenities. Wifi is available in the room and when going through the signing in process, we found that light usage is at no charge – very unusual for a high end hotel and appreciated by these guests.

The professional staff made the hotel (gave the hotel an extra ambience). All who we came into contact with were competent, efficient and personable. Above all, they seemed to enjoy their jobs and being able to help guests. In particular, the wait-staff at Balcon restaurant were excellent and made our evening very pleasant. We enjoyed relaxing in the St James Bar after some serious walking. Our only less than ideal experience was at high tea in the Rose Lounge and it was not the hotel's fault as some guests thought it appropriate that their crying and fussing infant remain in the Lounge, drowning out the harpist (who did her best to cope with this rudeness)! We left after an hour, but the infant, its parents and friends remained there much longer. Management must have some way of drawing a guest’s attention to the necessity to maintain decorum and ambience for all guests.

We were travelling for leisure and felt very welcome at the hotel. From the hotel we found it possible to walk to most theatres, shops and many of the main sights of the city. Tube access was also quite close.

Highly recommend this boutique luxury hotel for location, staff/service and the high quality rooms.

Room Tip: We did not require a street view, but if it is important to you make sure that you specify this on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing