We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Sofitel St James's and I just love it. the staff are excellent rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. We decided to have cocktails and dinner in the hotel( delicious) Continental breakfast in the room was, I thought, a little expensive....but it was just perfect. looking forward to my next visit - they do just get it right. My daughter said her bed was ' like a cloud '.
I

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Paulinelocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I am truly glad to hear that you and your family have loved to stay at Sofitel London St James. This is our utmost reward.

We look forward to your thrid and many more other visits.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone travelling to London, especially for sightseeing and shopping as the location of the hotel is ideal. Very welcoming and warm reception with fresh cut flowers and a staff that's very friendly and extremely service minded, especially for beeing in Europe. The cleanliness of the rooms was very good and I got impressed that someone came in after the cleaning personel had been there to verify the qulity of the cleaning. Bar and restaurant is also very good and with the same service as rest of hotel staff, go for the full breakfast, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage and look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St Jmaes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

1night luxury stay for a theatre night - excellent choice. Great location in St James' near Charing Cross UG Pall Mall. Great attention to detail throughout, great service and underlying all luxury and comfort. Excellent rooms with great showers and very comfortable beds and pillows. Great soundproofing in the rooms and you wouldn't know you were in the centre of London. Didn't use the restaurant, hug the hotel bar was god - although small and cramped. For all that, very comfortable and excellent, attentive bug discreet service. Not cheap but you get what you pay for here and we weren't disappointed. Shame we had to miss breakfast and didn't use the Spa or gym.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguelito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for this very positive feedback.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a true asset for the hotel.

I thank you very much for pointing out our "attention to details" throughout your stay as we strive to provide high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back. Please make time to have breakfast and a spa treatment in our So-SPA on your next visit. I am sure you will enjoy.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Genuinely friendly, welcoming and efficient service from the internet booking through to our departure. Brilliant concierge advice and practical assistance. Room service, reception and restaurant staff all reinforced the impression that this must be a great place to work as well as to visit. The decor is stylish, the location second-to-none, the food excellent and the overall experience of staying here for two nights with my daughter was a great pleasure. As expensive as you'd expect in central London, but worth every cent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

I am truly glad to hear that you have had such a wonderful experience at Sofitel London St James together with your daughter!

I thank you for pointing out the high level of service provided to you in all the hotel departments.

We all look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Somewhat expensive, but totally worth staying here. Location, standard and service were perfect. We stayed for a weekend with our 1 year old son. Our deluxe room was prepared with baby crib, baby bath tub and a teddy bear just for him. The room was spacious and clean and with the luxurious interior, we had the best starting point for a relaxing weekend. Also we enjoyed dining in the restaurant - very convenient with a sleeping baby alongside. We will definitely stay here again, maybe only for those wonderful beds...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torunn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

I am glad to hear that you have had such a wonderful experience with your family at Sofitel London St James.

Children are cherish guests to us and we do our utmost to pamper them.

I look forward to welcoming you all back.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went as a birthday treat for my wife.
Variously:
- we were warmly welcomed;
- we were escorted individually to our room - which was sumptuous;
- I had _not_ told the hotel that it was her birthday. But the woman at the desk realized this when she saw her passport. Later on there was a knock at the door - birthday chocolates (and very good ones) compliments of the hotel;
- we used the spa there - really superb and friendly staff.

Overall - I wasn't quite sure what to expect - and think of Sofitel as a chain, albeit a good one - but this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in - and I've stayed at some nice hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you so much for such positive a feedback!

We genuinely do our utmost to please all of our guests and I can tell that we have achieved our aim here.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Arrived early, hotel were more than happy to welcome us and store our luggage. We were upgraded to a larger room for a small charge, and the room was absolutely lovely. Bed really comfortable, linen very luxurious, spotlessly clean throughout, top quality finishings and touches - even the toilet roll was scented! Staff very friendly and very professional, without any stuffiness. The only criticisms could be that the bath towels smelt of cigarette smoke - I can only guess that the linen store is near the fag break area - but these were soon changed with minimum fuss and an apology. The TV is on the small side, but we weren't there to watch telly, and the fridge would not allow us to remove anything to store some fresh milk for tea in the morning. Small nit picky things that would not put us of staying again or recommending this gorgeous hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j8rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for this positive feedback!

I am pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,081 in London
1,840 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,415 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#17 of 1,081 in London
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#20 of 1,081 in London
1,245 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#7 of 1,081 in London
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £272 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing