We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas in magnificent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,216
    608
    123
    45
    24
See reviews for
979
1,719
271
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Sofitel St James is in a great location, just at the end of Regent St. My Wife & I had afternoon tea in the Rose Lounge. The service was excellent. You can choose from a number of different teas from the menu. I stared with a champagne cocktail which was very refreshing. Good choice of sandwiches, lovely fresh scones with clotted cream, jam and lemon curd! Then you have a choice of cakes from the cake trolley. We were not rushed and the cost is very good value compared to other 5* hotels in London. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Deare Sir,

I am truly glad to hear that you and your wife have very much enjoyed our Champagne Afternoon Tea. We love to indulge our guests with warm standards of service.

We look forward to your next visit. Next time please pay a visit to our St James Bar. The atmosphere is amazing, very cozy.

Au revoir,
Denis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

You can actually not dream of a better combination of ideal location (totally central near Piccadilly Circus), superb building (it was a former bank and the spa is located where the safes were!), and absolutely stunning friendly staff.
I spent the weekend there and wished I could get a room rental for the year! I would recommend the rooms not facing the street and rather on the 6th floor so you are sure to sleep like a baby, far away from all the noise. I would also recommend some treatment (deep tissue massage) at the spa, followed by a tea in the relaxing room. Especially nice on a rainy day! The rooms superior are small (but decent size for London) and well decorated.

Room Tip: go to the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

I am thrilled to hear that we are the "best hotel in London"! Indeed we genuinely love to indulge all of our guests.

I thank you also for recommending our So-SPA.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I really like Sofitel Hotels - there is something really elegant about the way they provide customers service - from check in to room service, you always know they have the guest in mind.

The location of the St James could not be beat - right off of Picadilly Circus and very close to the Underground station - was very convenient for both work and pleasure.

The rooms were great - especially the bathroom, which by European hotel standards, was massive!

The one thing I did not understand was the gym, they had this very strange "sensory depravation" pod set up and it was behind a curtain in a separate room in the gym, I could not help but try it, however I just could not figure it out - never saw anything like this in any other place I have stayed!

The hotel was pricy, but for the location and the service, it could not be beat! Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoy Sofitel hotels and especially Sofitel London St James. Indeed we genuinely love to indulge all of our guests.

The device you are talking about in your positive feedback is called the Sha chair. It is the ultimate relaxation chair. It takes some minutes to turn on but please do not hesitate to try it on your next visit. You will love it!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was visiting on a business trip, and I had a great stay, the hotel was close to most things and the rooms and staff were great, I will definitely return hopefully next time it will be for leisure and not business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I thank you for mentioning your "great" stay at Sofitel London St James.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon either for business or leisure purposes.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Sofitel St James's and I just love it. the staff are excellent rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. We decided to have cocktails and dinner in the hotel( delicious) Continental breakfast in the room was, I thought, a little expensive....but it was just perfect. looking forward to my next visit - they do just get it right. My daughter said her bed was ' like a cloud '.
I

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulinelocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am truly glad to hear that you and your family have loved to stay at Sofitel London St James. This is our utmost reward.

We look forward to your thrid and many more other visits.

Au revoir.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
795 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,786 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,251 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing