We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,509)
Filter reviews
4,509 results
Traveller rating
3,648
649
136
49
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,648
649
136
49
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piccadilly circus pall mall rose lounge hermes toiletries luxury room buckingham palace national gallery james park regent street room service beautiful hotel perfect location turn down service afternoon tea west end five star hotel junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,592 - 1,597 of 4,509 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Celebrating husbands birthday. Started the day with cocktails in the bar and then on to lunch in The Balcon restaurant.

On arrival Concierge were extremely helpful, storing cases whilst we enjoyed drinks and lunch even though we were not actually staying. The bar staff were friendly and chatty and the restaurant staff attentive without being intrusive.

There was four of us in our party and we all enjoyed superbly cooked meals.

We visited the theatre just round the corner returning to collect our luggage later. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Excellent all round. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

First of all congratulations to your husband for his birthday!

I thank you for pointing out the professionalism of the whole team you have been in touch with. Indeed we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests, being in house guests or not.

I also thank you for your words of praise regarding the quality of the dishes you have had in our restaurant The Balcon. We proud ourselves in using only the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here on New Year's Day 2014 for 5 nights and had the best time. Chose the location as it was central to lots of attractions yet just away from the craziness of Piccadilly. Went to see a play around the corner, Covent Garden markets, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly, Regent st, Carnaby St and some fab restaurants, St James Palace is just down the road. We were on the 6 floor facing towards Westminster and we could see Big Ben, London Eye and the cathedral from our room, just fabulous. Easy walk up to Buckingham palace and we did the tour through the state rooms of the palace and this was quite simply the most amazing tour I have every done. Easy access to the tube at Piccadilly or Charring cross. Recommend you get an Oyster card for tube and bus journeys ad single tickets can be very pricey. Super luxurious hotel with very slick staff ready to assist as required. Great place and highly recommend to all types of travellers looking for a great location and a bit of luxury in the heart of London.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank BlueDog333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much for this very positive feedabck!

Indeed our central yet quiet location is extremely convenient for both leisure and corporate purposes. We are a haven of peace in the buzzing London.

I am truly happy to hear that you have had the best time ever at Sofitel London St James and do hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for one night, New Years Eve which was my wife's 50th birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, real shame we were only there for one night. On arrival our cases were taken up to our room and we were offered drinks whilst checking in. Our upgraded room was fabulous, spacious and great to relax in. An excellent location as we watched the fireworks at midnight 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was amazing with a vast choice, not cheap but plenty to eat. We would defintely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicNic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

What a great idea to come and spend New Year's Eve at the hotel and particularly on your wife's birthday.

Indeed all of our guests are extremely lucky to be so close to the fireworks.

I thank you for pointing out our "amazing" breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were a party of 3, meeting my brother and his family (a party of 5) who were on holiday from Australia. Lunch was excellent, and the attitude and approach of the restaurant staff was perfect for the occasion. Our room was of a high quality, and the reservation staff put on on the same floor as my brother's two adjoining rooms so that our son could sleep in the same room as his children. The concierge even spotted a single yellow line to park my car on right next to the hotel (single yellow lines aren't active on public holidays) saving me £100 in parking fees!
Breakfast was excellent (Trealy Farm black pudding = yum) and good value, given that the children ate free.
Of course it's expensive (almost £400 room only for the 3 of us in one room) but it was a great occasion, and worth every penny....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTaffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I am truly glad to hear that you and your family have had such an enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James.

We proud ourselves in serving the freshiest seasonal products in our restaurant The Balcon and I am happy to read that you were all enchanted by your meals.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Sofitel St James is on Lower Regent St just about 200m from Piccadilly Circus. The service was impeccable, the room was fantastic, and the staff were very helpful. On a day when rain was forecast, a member of staff offered us an umbrella just in case. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe upgrade
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameslesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your positive lines regarding our "impeccable service". You have made my day! I have passed on this great feedback to the whole staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews