We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location; 5 star;great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #25 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,136
    599
    121
    45
    22
See reviews for
950
1,683
265
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I was at this Hotel for a business meet and it surely is one of the better Hotels I've been to. Located bang in the centre of London, Trafalgar Square, St.James Park and Buckingham Palace are a maximum of ten minutes on foot. The conceirge is very helpful and gives you very sound advise on how to go about seeing London and infact has entry tickets to some of the attractions that can be bought then and there. The spread over breakfast is quite good and would offer you just about everything thats expected of a true English Breakfast. The Gym is housed on the first floor and is well equipped. Lastly, the building has been kept very well and the staff is always willing to help with a smile :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MMis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I thank you for ranking Sofitel London St James among one of the best hotels you have been to. The whole team and I have felt very proud of that.

I thank you also for pointing out the efficiency of our Concierge officers. They are indeed a true asset to the hotel.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your breakfast as we proud ourselves in offering the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Of all the good hotels my favourite one.. Very good located, top appearance, good food (amazing breakfast!) and really friendly staff that makes you feel very welcomed. The St. James bar has probably the best cocktails in town and again very friendly staff, always trying to make you happy.
Of all the hotels I've been to already it's the one most worth it's price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaBurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I am truly pleased to hear that Sofitel London St James is your favorite hotel.

I thank you for mentioning our good food as well as our really friendly staff.

I also thank you for pointing out our amazing St James Bar with its best cocktails on town! Indeed we have a tremendous and passionate team in our bar!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I had a great dinner in the hotel restaurant after seeing a show at Christmas. Food was superb, wine well selected with helpful, not patronising, advice and service was exemplary. We could have stayed for many hours more as it was so pleasant. However this treat cost over £200 for three but we think it was well worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eagle95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I am really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your experience in our restaurant The Balcon!

The Executive Chef and I were thrilled to read your feedback regarding the "superb" food served to you and your family.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir.

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,067 in London
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,940 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#46 of 1,067 in London
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing