We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,483)
Filter reviews
4,483 results
Traveller rating
3,626
647
135
48
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,626
647
135
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiccadilly circuspall mallrose loungehermes toiletriesluxury roombuckingham palacenational galleryjames parkregent streetroom servicebeautiful hotelperfect locationturn down serviceafternoon teawest endfive star hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,555 - 1,560 of 4,483 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Sofitel twice before and we are coming back again on the 11th-13th for my 21st. After the first two stays I could not think of anywhere else I would go!

The rooms are beautiful with crisp white linen, super-soft beds and prompt room service. The bar is so elegant but with a decadent touch, the cocktails are delicious and presented so well.

The staff are altogether of a different calibre, attentive and discreet - Have made every visit a joy. We also had the pleasure of having afternoon tea in the Rose Lounge and dinner in the Balcon. Both were exceptional. The decor of the Rose Lounge is divine and the changing of the flowers in the main hall is reminiscent of George V in Paris.

Overall our number 1 spot in London. Cannot wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for posting such positive a feedback.

I thank you for pointing out the attentive staff all over the hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

Indeed the Rose Lounge is a magnificent blend of English charm and French elegance. I am glad to hear that you have loved it as well as your dinner in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 21st birthday.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Returned here for a brilliant weekend break. London is a magic city and The Sofitel just makes it more special. The hotel has to be one of the best locations in London offering a great access to the underground and the centre of the City. From your arrival it is clear to see the staff are there to help in anyway possible, all very professional and informative on the Hotel and the City. The sleep quality of the hotel is amazing and the rooms are well set out and spacious. We upgraded to a suite that was situated just above the reception that initially worried me but in was great and we never heard any disturbance. The bar is fantastic, you must sit at the bar itself and watch the guys making there various cocktails and they explain everyone! The food is also fabulous. The Hotel is little expensive but then again so are all great things in life. Looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I thank you for this brilliant feedback!

Indeed we have a passion for our guests and they can feel it. We make our utmost to have them spend magnifique moments with us.

Thank you also for pointing out your great experience in our St James Bar as well as the "fabulous" food in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely hotel, impeccable service. Absolutely no complaints.
Location is very convenient, a few steps from Piccadilly and Trafalgar Square.
Check-in was smooth and attentive. We got an upgrade to a deluxe room due to our Le Club status – room was spacious and very comfortable (I love MyBed!). Housekeeping was probably the best ever – they even left a note when they came one night for the turndown service and we had left the “do not disturb” button on.
We had a drink at the bar – ambiance was nice and the barman was extremely nice.
Check out was super quick and we felt a warm goodbye.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for this wonderful feedback!

I am truly pleased to hear that we have fulfiled and exceeded your expectations in terms of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews