We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is excellent in this hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #23 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and could not fault the service - from restaurant, housekeeping, concierge, to bar and restaurant -it was excellent. The bed was also excellent and having stayed in Sofitel St James before, this is one of the best things about it, however the room was very small and if there was anything to point out it would be the possible difference in size of rooms. The food and wine service was also superb as was the bar / restaurant ambience - overall we would highly recommend this hotel and its excellent location

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms - there is a variation in the size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 485Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

I thank you very much for pointing out our "excellent" level of service all over the hotel. Indeed we genuinely love to pamper our guests and they can feel it.

I have passed on your words of praise to my whole team in order to keep on providing such high standards.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excelent service, excelente hotel. Best location.
Excelent breakfast very nice staff
I most defenitly come back. I was in London for the weekend and the hotel was just fantastic. No noise at all, very good bed good comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroMChaves421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for such positive a feedback.

I am truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed our high level of service all over the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ate logo,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I will not stop complimenting about Sofitel London St James with such a charming atmosphere, welcoming and efficient team....great breakfast, stunning So Spa....enjoyed the French galette at St James bar.....just love it....thank you all

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of service. We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and they can feel it.

Thank you also for mentioning our "great" breakfast in The Balcon, our restaurant, as we proud ourselves in serving the freshiest products on the market.

Thank you so much for complimenting our So-SPA as being "stunning". This is our utmost reward.

Thank you again for this great feedback and I look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Sofitel twice before and we are coming back again on the 11th-13th for my 21st. After the first two stays I could not think of anywhere else I would go!

The rooms are beautiful with crisp white linen, super-soft beds and prompt room service. The bar is so elegant but with a decadent touch, the cocktails are delicious and presented so well.

The staff are altogether of a different calibre, attentive and discreet - Have made every visit a joy. We also had the pleasure of having afternoon tea in the Rose Lounge and dinner in the Balcon. Both were exceptional. The decor of the Rose Lounge is divine and the changing of the flowers in the main hall is reminiscent of George V in Paris.

Overall our number 1 spot in London. Cannot wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for posting such positive a feedback.

I thank you for pointing out the attentive staff all over the hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

Indeed the Rose Lounge is a magnificent blend of English charm and French elegance. I am glad to hear that you have loved it as well as your dinner in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 21st birthday.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Returned here for a brilliant weekend break. London is a magic city and The Sofitel just makes it more special. The hotel has to be one of the best locations in London offering a great access to the underground and the centre of the City. From your arrival it is clear to see the staff are there to help in anyway possible, all very professional and informative on the Hotel and the City. The sleep quality of the hotel is amazing and the rooms are well set out and spacious. We upgraded to a suite that was situated just above the reception that initially worried me but in was great and we never heard any disturbance. The bar is fantastic, you must sit at the bar itself and watch the guys making there various cocktails and they explain everyone! The food is also fabulous. The Hotel is little expensive but then again so are all great things in life. Looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I thank you for this brilliant feedback!

Indeed we have a passion for our guests and they can feel it. We make our utmost to have them spend magnifique moments with us.

Thank you also for pointing out your great experience in our St James Bar as well as the "fabulous" food in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank CatherineBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Heinz197x
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
1,199 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,676 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
The Trafalgar St. James, Curio Collection by Hilton
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £245 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing