We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every aspect of this hotel was outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Every aspect of this hotel was outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Sofitel London St. James. I booked our room at the last minute via Hotwire, so I didn't know I would be getting the Sofitel. I was very pleasantly surprised. Even though I booked via Hotwire so obviously paid less than other guests, I was upgraded without even asking for it. The room was perfect, the location even better, and the staff were over the top. Every single one went out of their way every time I spoke to them to 'go the extra mile'. I will definitely recommend this hotel every chance I get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Indeed every guest is important to us and we do our utmost to have him/her spend magnificent moments at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,054
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,648
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel.

The service is outstanding and the staff are super helpful.

The hotel is in an ideal location.

Also found the rooms to be very quiet and well appointed.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Our utmost reward is to hear satisfied guests therefore the whole team and I thank you for your words of praise.

We genuinely love to pamper our guests. We can't help it as we have a passion for them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent service, very friendly staff, great continental breakfast, very comfy room and bed, fantastic... I could keep going on and on about this place ..Definetely value for money for few days staying..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for such positive feedback.

We love to pamper all of our guests and I hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our centrally located Sofitel London St Jmaes.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hello! I would like to highlight the flagship of my recent London Vacation: The Sofitel St. James! It was honestly the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and can just talk about it in superlatives. Upon checking in, the receptionist gone out his way to help me with my difficult questions ( 20min check in, I am not a simple guest ). The concierge could nit be more helpful with the recommendations...and all was great! Never disappointing! The room was...simply amazing. Large and spacious, on the top floor (we had this privilege :)), the bathroom amenities were perfect, and gentle... I sincerely hope that I can be a part of this dream again! Anytime!

Room Tip: Choose from the top floor...you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am truly glad to hear that Sofitel London St James is your favorite hotel! This will serve as an encouragement to the whole team to keep on providing such high standards of service.

I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay at the end of Feb, to celebrate my wife's birthday. I chose the Sofitel as we'd had a great stay at the one in Montreal a few years back, once again we wernt to be disappointed.

Positives:

Excellent service, very friendly staff, great continental breakfast, very comfy room and bed, fantastic location right by Piccadilly Circus and the mall.

Negatives:

Shower screen far too small to contain the otherwise excellent and powerful shower, which left the floor rather flooded! It is expensive, though in my opinion it was worth every penny.

Overall would definitely recommend staying, ideally for more than one night!


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thewhitfields4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for coming over to Sofitel London St James to celebrate your birthday. It has been a great pleasure to host and pamper you both at this occasion.

I thank you also for pointing out the "excellent" service provided to you all along your stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fab spot in St James. Rooms barely 5 star but comfortably adequate. Afternoon but tea seemed pricey but was lovely. We liked everyone's attitude but they were chaotic at breakfastime and prices are over the top. The Cooked breakfast on display was an embarassement.

We will stay again and have another try as the hotel seems promising generally.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saddletramp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that our staff members have fulfilled your expectations in terms of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Yes, the hotel is convenient if you need to be at the city center, but there are plenty of hotels in the neighbourhood.
We acquired two rooms and both of them were outdated and looked quite old.
Both rooms were not very clean and most of the furniture were stained and looked very unpleasant.
My bathroom sink was losing water and the bathroom floor was completely wet.
We booked with 3 weeks in advance and reserved a Superior room, and we got a "great" view of a building wall.

Definitely not staying here again. Sofitel has a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CooperSJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during your last stay. As a matter of fact, the points mentioned in your comment do not reflect our normal standards of service. I willl hence address them to the team in order to avoid any future occurrence.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to prove you our high level of service upon a future stay.

Au revoir,
Nicolas Pesty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#45 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#52 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing