We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #30 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Sofitel St James is my 1st choice of London Hotels, Always a warm welcome, excellent service, comfortable rooms, helpful consierge. East walking distance and well placed for restaurants and theatre. Great bar with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are extremely proud to be your first choice of hotels in London.

Indeed we genuinely love to look after our guests.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    585
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
909
1,631
257
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

What can I say but wow we were blown away by this place. Lunch was excellent and the service outstanding.

We live in London and will most certainly be back. I would highly recommend this restaurant/ hotel.

We also recently stayed at the sister hotel in Venice also brilliant but very different. Sofitel in London has both the old school charm with a French contemporary twist whereas Vienna is super modern in design, quite a piece of architecture.

Loved it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cococurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for those words of praise! I am truly glad to hear about our "excellent" food and our "outstanding" service!

I also thank you for recommending both Sofitel London St James and our restaurant The Balcon to your entourage.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I returned to the Sofitel St James for a third visit to celebrate my youngest daughters 21st birthday. I spoke to Laura (guest relation officer) on the suggestion of one of the booking staff while organising our afternoon tea booking. To say that Laura went above and beyond her job description is an understatement , she ensured our visit was memorable. We booked tea in the wonderful Rose Lounge, with harpist playing our favourite song. We could not have had more care and thought put into our stay, we were all very touched.

Laura and all the staff at the Sofitel are a different league, they made our visit perfect and my daughters birthday so beautiful. To anyone contemplating staying here, look no further. This is the perfect hotel for a

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinelocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all CONGRATULATIONS to your daughter!

I am extremely touched by your feedback and I thank you for that.

Indeed we genuinely care for our guests and we love to pamper them.

I thank you for mentioning Laura as she is a true asset to the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Sofitel London St James delivered hands down the best customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel.

We arrived at 10am some four hours before stated check in, I expected to just leave our bags with the concierge but was told that our room was ready and we could check in straight away. We were given a quick tour and headed for the room. It was excellently appointed with a beautiful bathroom, full of Hermes toiletries, a DAB radio with ipod dock, lovely towels and robes etc etc. We headed out for the day and when we returned our bags were in our room with my suit bag being hung up in the wardrobe. I couldn't get the shower to run hot, and within 2 minutes of calling reception a friendly handyman was at the door explaining how the safety feature worked, allowing me to shower with piping hot water.

We then went down to the bar for a pre dinner drink and the service here was also outstanding. I ordered an old fashioned which was off menu and notoriously long to make and difficult to get right, no problem for the barman who made us two fabulous cocktails, the drinks are expensive at £15 each but they were top notch as was the service and snacks served with them. I look forward to visiting the bar again soon as it's the best cocktail bar I have ever been to.

Check out was straightforward and friendly and when we came to collect our bags later in the day the doorman was very helpful in sorting us a cab.

All in all I was extremely impressed with the Sofitel St James and would highly recommend it. I would have liked to have taken breakfast there but the prices were very high so I decided to go elsewhere instead.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtwitchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#58 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing