We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wickford, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed 4 days on our first trip to London. From the moment you step from your car one of the Sofitel Ambassors make you feel welcome. Marne at the front desk is an outstanding host. She explained the amenities of the hotel and asked us to wait for 15 minutes while they freshened up our upgarded room, well worth the short wait. Room (#609 which has views of Waterloo Place, The Eye, Big Ben and Parliment) was outstanding is everyway, king size Sofitel brand bed, full bath and excellent views. An outstanding location with Pall Mall out side the door, Regent Street and Piccadilly Circus 2 blocks away and the theater district also 2 blocks away. There are many places to breakfast, lunch or dine close by. Everything was a short pleasant walk, The Balcon restaurant assisted us with reservations that insured we would make our show. Anthony of the waitstaff was of special note explaining all the offerings in detail and making each sound delicious. Lastly, we had a late flight from Heathrow and the concierge held our luggage for us long past check out time. Check out was fast, efficent and curtious. We will not hesitate to stay at this property again when in London. Well worth the extra monies to be so well taken care of.

Room Tip: Room 609 great views with minor obstructions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this very nice feedback!

I will make sure to pass on your positive lines to the whole team and especially to Marine in Front Office and Anthony in our restaurant The Balcon. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing high standards of service.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,056
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,649
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I had a 10 day stay here for the first time here last August. I chose the hotel based on reviews, central location (walk to most theaters, National Gallery, etc.), and good experiences with other Sofitels. I was not disappointed.
The hotel is elegant, comfortable and enjoyable in all ways. Especially of note was the friendly helpfulness of all of the staff. From restaurant reservations coordinated with my theater going to obtaining an "off market" ticket for a sold-old exhibition to arranging needed medical care, all requests were carried out with dependability.
I eagerly look forward to my next stay at the St. James !

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ed3rdmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this very positive feedback.

It was a pleasure for us to pamper you all over your stay.

I thank you for your words of praise concerning all of the departments in the hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was lucky to get a good rate for a deluxe room om top floor. Absolutely fantastic for London. Really 5 star level. Didnt go for their 23 GBP breakfast. Pret a mange around the corner does wonderfully. Great location. Friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,

I am truly glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed for 2 nights - great hotel in a very central location. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bed was SO comfortable - it was like sleeping on a cloud!

This would have been a five star review but for 2 little niggles - mini-bars across the world are an expensive way to have a drink, but £5.50 for a can of Diet Coke? Also, restaurant bill was presented with a 12.5% service charge already included but there was space left for an additional tip - this is cheeky. I am always happy to reward good service but including a service charge and then effectively asking for an additional left a bad taste.

Other than this we loved the hotel - and will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 560Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for this positive feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that the whole team was welcoming and attentive as we strive in providing the best service.

I guess MyBed has once again achieved its aim in taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent just one night here on a recent trip to London with my wife. Booked effortlessly through accor.com and was warmly welcomed by the front desk upon arrival. A check-in procedure other top hotels should copy - friendly but not too over-attentive.
The room was large enough, beautifully decorated with the added thought of heart of rose petals on the bed!
Great bar with superb staff and an interesting array of cocktails. French chic in the heart of London!
The following morning breakfast was amazing with good customer service.
Cannot praise the staff more for their efforts.
Also, very well placed for the sights and attractions of the West End.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that we have provided you with the highest standards of service. As a matter of fact we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

I thank you for pointing out the "great atmosphere" in our St James' Bar as well as the "amazing" breakfast in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

End of March 2014 4 day stay with my wife and 2 children. End to end superb experience, from phone reservation, pre-booking of activities, breakfast, lunch and dinner to check out. Fantastic location, very nice residence and most of all super nice staff. Connecting rooms were guaranteed and we received what expected, small gift for children at arrival. Children (and adults) loved the soft and conformable beds. Staff attitude had us feel really welcome, warm atmosphere in a 5 start hotel! Breakfast until 11am and until 12.30pm un Sundays is a treat. Really nice place to relax after a lot of sightseeing and shopping tours. We are definitively looking forward to the next stay at this hotel when back to London.

Room Tip: Our room was not on Waterloo place (so no view), but nevertheless it was very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ESBDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedbak which will certainly encourage the whole team to keep on providing high standards of service with a genuine intention to pamper all of our guests.

I also thank you for pointing out your delicious food & beverage experience all over your stay.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Sofitel St.James for 7 nights. The hotel is very well located and in walking distance to many of London's attractions.It is also very convenient for accessing the theatre district.The staff all performed exceptionally well trying their utmost to meet the needs of the guests.I had requested an early check in and this was arranged without any problem which is a great bonus after a long flight. The hotel is beautiful, modern and tastefully decorated.Highly recommended!Would return without any hesitation in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guests,

I am grateful for this great feedback.

I am truly pleased to hear that you were provided an excellent service through "exceptional" staff. This will serve as an encuoragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

I thank you also for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing