We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #25 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent staff and front desk was very helpful at the check in. Great bar and good hangout in the evening. The Breakfast was excellent and my room was clean and comfy.
ood Internet access in lobby. Would return again at right price. Reliable hotel in good location. Would recommend it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank frederic t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of service. Indeed we love to indulge all of our guests.

I also thank you for pointing out our excellent breakfast as we serve the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 4,117 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a rather fantastic hotel which I would reccommend to all travelling to, or living in, London. The cocktails at the bar were spot on and afternoon tea in the lounge was delicious. I was with a large group, however the waiters were always present when needed and in particular the girl with glasses was very attentive (I didn't catch her name).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Indeed we do our utmost to satisfy our guests and to anticipate their needs. I thank you for pointing out Tessa from our St James Bar. She is very dedicated. I am also glad to hear that you have really enjoyed your experience in our bar as well as in the Rose Lounge with your Afternoon Tea.

I then look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Working in the hospitality/ hotel industry myself, I am overly critical and subconsciously always looking for flaws- and I can safely say that Sofitel St James has none, it is the perfect hotel!
From check in everything went seamlessly, great decor, friendly staff, perfect location for everything in London, great accommodation, and possibly the most comfortable bed ever!

The bar was a great way to end the evening, so well designed and brilliant service. The picture on the ceiling proved to be a great talking point for my mum and I.

Breakfast in The Balcon couldn't have been better, and the staff were friendly and attentive, spending time with each guest making sure that they had all the juice/ tea/ food they needed. I forget their names, but special thanks to two girls in particular working on breakfast who looked after us very well (one of whom has a two hour commute to work- very dedicated to her job!).

Special thanks to Laura, the customer service officer, who helped via email even before arriving, I wanted to put a special little something in the room for my mum. Laura also sought to greet us on check in to introduce herself in person, and was attentive throughout our stay, even remembering what our plans were the day before.

All in all, a great stay, my mum even said it was 'the best hotel she had ever stayed in'.

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian-t89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for this marvellous feedback!

I thank you for mentioning into details you very satisfactory experience throughout the different departments in the hotel.

Our bar, the St James Bar, is indeed much appreciated by both our in house guests as well as by our loyal Londoner guests.

I also thank you for pointing out Laura who is a huge asset for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back at Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We use this hotel to stay in town after a show or concert. Location is perfect. The bar is spot on and perfect to start and end an evening, and the breakfasts worth making time for. Always been lucky with a decent room, which are clean, luxurious, really comfortable and quiet. We will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Althea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

It is great to hear that we are consistent in providing high standards of service!

I thank you for pointing out one of our gems: the St James Bar.

I am also pleased to hear that you love your breakfasts in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Sofitel hotel in London is a beautiful old hotel. It is a classic building with a lot of grace and charm. The rooms are very comfortable, if not overly large. The hotel is a short walk from Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square. There is construction on the street in front of the hotel but I wasn't bothered by noise. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing the back of the hotel on the top floor. While the view wasn't that go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for this extremely positive feedback!

It has been a pleasure for us to provide you with high standards of service and we look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you are looking for a place to feel at home in London, whether you are alone on a business trip or with your entire family, it's the place to be.
Food is as excellent as the rooms are confortable, plus a great French refinement.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Remy2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the French refinement and the English traditional atmosphere that we implemented in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed in the Sofitel last August for 4 nights, the service from the outset was fantastic. The room was more than adequate, although the view from the window was horrendous but it’s to be expected in central London. Cocktails at the bar were delicious and breakfast was great also. The high standard of customer service started from the moment you stepped out of the taxi, which was delightful.

Money did however go missing from our room while we were out; it seems the blamed was placed on the cleaning staff. Kudos to the hotel however, they handled the issue with the upmost care, Making sure we were kept up to date with what was happening, The money was replaced by the hotel (was a collection of £2 pound coins) and a bottle of wine was sent to the room. The next day the hotel apologised again and a member of security spoke to my partner regarding the issue.
Truly fantastic customer service, and even with a minor blip, we left satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

Indeed we take our guests security very seriously as no robbery has ever occured in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,076 in London
1,184 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,076 in London
3,930 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,076 in London
2,571 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,076 in London
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £281 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing