We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Opulence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were on business at this hotel and my how the other half live, this was oozing opulence, finesse, elegance just everything and more that you could possibly wish for, I would have loved to have stayed a lot longer. The reception upon arrival to the staff just being there to assist, the food - wow - I can say no more, just a wonderful experience for such a short time.

Room Tip: I just wish I could afford the Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest,

I am really pleased to hear that you and your wife have enjoyed so much your stay at Sofitel London St James.

Thank you for pointing out the delicious food served to you in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back much longer on your next stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 4,179 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so conveniently located to everything. It is elegant yet unobtrusive, comfortable and the staff are a joy. We loved our three nights and hope to enjoy your beautiful hotel again soon. The room was quiet and of ample size, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liontamer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for such positive a feedback!

We love to pamper all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our genuine, high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent five nights at this hotel in May 2014. It was a great experience from beginning to end. Breakfast buffet is superb and service at breakfast could not be better. All staff are very friendly from check in to check out. Room was very clean and absolutely quiet. Excellent location near tube and mens' shopping on Jermyn Street. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear guest,

What a great review. Thank you for that!

I am truly pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your breakfast in our restaurant The Balcon as we proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

Thank you for pointing out your extreme satisfaction regarding the high standards of service provided to you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back many other times.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am a great fan of Sofitel and I use their hotels frequently - St. James in London is absolutely among their best Hotels. Pleasant Hotel with the right location in the right size and with a service minded staff.

I give this hotel my greatest recommendation

Best Regards
Peter


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 150Peter150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

I am truly grateful to you for this wonderful feedback!

Indeed we genuinely love to look after all of our guests and to indulge them. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I thank you also for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night for our 30th wedding anniversary. I would stay again because of the location & the breakfast but probably not for a special occasion.
We went to the theatre in the evening & walked there & back as it was so easy. Very close to St James's Park & Regent Street.
The room was fairly standard but we weren't in it much.
The hairdryer was a waste of time it barely blew luke warm air out.
We had to ask twice for a second bathrobe.
The breakfast was lovely we had eggs benedict.
the teapots are awful very difficult to pour without dribbling even the waiter couldn't manage it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location.

Thank you for pointing out the lovely breakfast served to you in our restaurant The Balcon. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is one of the better hotels in London. Service is great; it's clean and very convenient to Mayfair, West End and tourist attractions. Really enjoyed the staff and atmosphere. The room rate was reasonable given the location. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank socaltrek91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,

I felt extremely proud of the whole team while reading your feedback pointing out the fact that we are one of the best hotels in London.

I thank you for recommending SOfitel London St James to your entourage.

I was also glad to hear that you enjoy the warmness of our service and the atmosphere that we have implemented in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is the 4th Sofitel hotel we've stayed at and our first time at St James. From the moment we arrived for a 2 night stay to the moment we checked out it was fabulous! We were upgraded on arrival as Guests of the Day to a luxury room which was like a suite and little gifts were left each day. The Balcon restaurant was superb as was the service and the St James Bar was excellent. The staff were very attentive and more than happy to make me cocktails that weren't on their list. The location is great and we walked to Regents St, Oxford St , Covent Garden etc with no worries. If you drive the best place to park is the car park in Trafalgar Square, its tucked away so be careful not to miss it. We've parked there many times and never had a problem getting a space. A very relaxing stay and we'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,

All of our guests are extremely important to us and it was a pleasure for us to welcome you for the first time.

I thank you for pointing out the excellent service provided to you in our restuarant The Balcon as well as in our St James Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,077 in London
1,213 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £245 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing