We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“french touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Providence Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“french touch”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Sofitel is a really sure place to sleep. this one is like the other one, clean, recpectfull staff and well located.
The room are maybe little bit smaller than other I booked before but the amenities are present, so good stay. just the price is maybe too more expansive but everyhotel are on london, so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,169
    600
    122
    45
    23
See reviews for
961
1,696
266
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The premium linens can't hide an old or uncomfortable mattress. This was especially disappointing because my husband upgraded our room to a suite (not inexpensive!) for our 3 night stay. Additionally, the water in the sink didn't drain very well - something housekeeping surely noticed but did not address. The shower was very small - almost impossible to move in. And, there was insufficient lighting -the couch area needed a lamp or overhead lighting. The staff, on the other hand, was exceptional. Very courteous, helpful and professional. Plus, the place smells wonderful when you enter the hotel. This was our second stay at the hotel, mostly because of it's great location. We will stay elsewhere next visit. Just didn't find it worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at the Sofitel London St James last week. The service was exemplary, the staff so friendly and helpful. One room was not quite ready when we were checking in so we were shown to the bar and provided with a lovely cup of tea while we waited. Later that evening we returned to the bar to be entertained by the staff mixing cocktails with flair. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and beautifully clean. Lovely toiletries and every facility you could want or need. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We had the little rooms overlooking the rooftops of the City of London, quiet +++
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel London St James in December and we were very impressed! It was the first Sofitel hotel we have stayed in and now we know we can trust the Sofitel name. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. It was a very central location for nearly all of the tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend the Sofitel London St. James.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcouple28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Madam,

I am extremely glad to hear that your husband and yourself were amazed by Sofitel London St James.

We genuinely love to look after and to pamper all of our guests.

I thank you in advance for your loyalty towards the Sofitel brand and look forward to welcoming you back in London.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night in May as I was running a race in London and wanted to combine that with a night away just myself and husband. We arrived earlier than normal check in but was pleased to find our room was ready early as requested earlier in the week by email. Our room was on the first floor and was beautifully decorated and very clean just as all our previous visits the only downside was the room wasn't a ' bright airy room ' as described by the lady on check in as it was in a inner view of the air conditioning units! However this didn't bother us as we were only staying one night and were heading straight out. Lovely big bathroom with a shower and bath which is always a bonus and the bed and pillows are so comfortable we didn't want to get up! We knew this from previous visits so ordered breakfast in room which was very good for room service, still fairly hot and fresh. The best thing about this hotel for us is the amazing bar! The cocktails are to die for and the staff really make them special. If something isn't on the menu the staff will mix it up for you anyway. The only thing which wasn't good for us was the oar conditioning didn't get cool enough for us but again as we were only staying one night it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guests,

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent St James Bar and its bartenders. They are indeed a real asset for the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,068 in London
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,708 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,007 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#42 of 1,068 in London
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing