We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming home in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

6th time my husband stayed in the Sofitel St James hotel when visiting London. Friendly staff, impeccable service and a quiet hideaway near Piccadilly Circus. Try the spa, afternoon tea or finish the day with a delicious "la vie en rose" cocktail. The only thing which is getting a bit bored after all those visits are the Hermes bath products. Time for a new fragrance

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your kind feedback.

I am pleased to hear that we are consistent in delivering high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband many other times.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 4,173 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just around the corner from the National Gallery, Trafalger Square and most of the theaters, this location can't be beat. However, the rooms tend to be small and are often dark. This is the second time I have stayed here and opted for a corner suite this time, which was expensive but light-filled and very quiet given the location of the hotel. There is a good gym and an excellent spa as well. I love it that they have ironing boards in all the rooms. The bar is very lively and the bar snacks extensive, which makes for a nice end to a long sightseeing day. Afternoon tea in the Rose Room is also a charming option complete with live harp music in a cozy room off the lobby. Room service was the fastest I have ever experienced, and an after theatre omelet was piping hot and cooked to perfection. There is a lot of attention to detail by the housekeeping staff but the concierges seem overburdened, which is not much of a problem if you have a smart phone that can do the job for you.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in to see if it will serve your needs. The size and amenities v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for this positive feedback.

Indeed our central yet quiet location on Waterloo Place is ideal for both leisure and corporate purposes.

I am truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the atmosphe in our St James Bar as well as in our Rose Lounge for a delicate and tasty Afternoon Tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stay at this hotel every year for all our trips to London. It never disappoints. Courteous and caring staff in all departments; beautiful stylish decor; and an excellent bar and dining room. The bedrooms are comfortable, clean, and the air conditioning is responsive.
The locations is exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guests,

I am extremely thankful to your loyalty towards Sofitel London St James. This means a lot to us as we genuinely strive in providing the highest standards of service and we love to pamper all of our guests.

Again thank you for staying with us on every of your trips to London and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is in a central location, close to Piccadilly, Green Park with the tube at the end of the street. Also very quiet for London. Our room was well appointed, good size for London, staff were helpful and respectful. All of the above you expect for the price paid. The concierge staff were very helpful, we booked theatre tickets all of this was seamless. One night we requested tickets for an event that were hard to book. The concierge managed to get them for us. We had a memorable night at this one off performance. We ate in the restaurant one night when we were tired, the food was very good. The bed suited one of us, the other hated it! As with most London hotels the shower was over the bath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My fiance and I checked in on the 16th June. The lady at the reception was super friendly (forgot her name, she had blonde short hair) and very very helpful. Took us up to our room and our first impression of this hotel was very good. Room was clean and the thermostat worked superb (coming from Australia, we weren't very used to this cold summer).
However, the first day the fridge wasn't working properly (the tech people came and said someone turned the whole thing off), and the draw above the fridge which were suppose to have snack in it was empty... and as we did not know the fridge was autodectect, we took drinks out to put some stuff in. We got charged the next day for that along with the snacks (which we did not eat), but the hotel nicely explained to us and took it off the bill. The bath tub was a huge disappointment as it was not clean. We filled the tub and there were black things floating on top of it......the kettle wasn't working properly,we didn't bother to change it since we were only staying for 2 nights, it was still usable, we just had to spend a while to get it in the right "position" for it to boil......We were suppose to get newspapers in the morning (as we requested it at the time of checking in) but every other rooms on our floor got it except us..lol.....And don't know what was wrong with the shower door, even though we shut it completely, the floor in the bathroom still get's drenched after we take a shower....

Overall it was a nice comfortable hotel.....however it had too many little flaws that added on a bit of disappointment...

Compliment to all the staff here though, everyone was super nice, friendly and helpful! (and LOVED that there were apples at the reception that was free for us to take instead of lollies like a lot of other hotels)

Room Tip: Don't take things out of the fridge and check all minibar things are present in case of mistaken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhung33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I chose to stay here for one night, mainly due to location. How pleased I was to find this hotel! Expensive but totally worth it - friendly and very helpful staff, great bedroom, wonderful shower. Considering this is a hotel in central London the rooms are well sized and the cost competitive, making this a real gem. If you are looking for a hotel in London you will not be disappointed if you chose to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fab location, very close to tube station and the West End. Surprisingly quiet part of London. Very polite courteous staff, Very clean room although slightly smaller than I would have expected for the price, however it was very well facilitated with the usual amenities, all the fixtures and fittings were in excellent condition and I could not find any fault with the room. The bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff throughout the hotel were all very attentive and are a credit to the Sofitel brand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,077 in London
1,213 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,701 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £246 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing