We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$671
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,425)
Filter reviews
4,425 results
Traveller rating
3,576
640
134
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,576
640
134
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiccadilly circuspall mallrose loungehermes toiletriesluxury roomnational gallerybuckingham palacejames parkregent streetbeautiful hotelroom serviceturn down serviceperfect locationafternoon teawest endfive star hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 4,425 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The property is located centrally on a quiet street facing in a central location. Our room was a Prestige Suite and it was by far the best suite we have stayed in in London, and everything was immaculate. Sofitel's usually have a lovely muted style with soft lighting in the corridors and music, if any, that is in the background not in your face, and decor that is very attractive and opulant. Great design PLUS fantastic service and amenities. I mean at breakfast, which is also GREAT Food and French press coffee, the staff were all over us in a nice way to make sure everything was done efficiently, with care and excellence. I LOVE the Sofitel brand and style and stay there when I can in Washington, D.C., London, Paris and elsewhere. St. James is WORTH a visit, trust me.

Room Tip: The Noel Coward Suite will not disappoint!! And the theater district is a ten minute walk, as is The Ivy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwheel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

It was a real pleasure for us to pamper you all through out your stay.

I look forwward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed . The customer service at this hotel is fantastic! Everyone is there to make sure your stay is wonderful. A big thanks to Oliver, the concierge for handling our every question and request. The staff at the Balcon was superb and made each morning so pleasant for us. Location only a few blocks from Picadilly and Trafalgar square made getting around very easy. Will stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for this positive feedback!

I am truly happy to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us as we genuinely strive in providing the highest standards of service.

I thank you for mentioning Oliver from Concierge as he is a true asset for the hotel.

I also thank you for pointing out the excellent breakfast and service provided to you in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sofitel St James in a year and it did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely and the location is perfect. It's in a classy area of London - close to Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square. The best part of this hotel however is the staff. The service is excellent and the staff so friendly. In particular, some of those working at the Balcon were very professional, attentive and extremely kind to our young son- always making him (and us) feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The Balcon staff are a real credit to the hotel. The food is also excellent. We were there for a week and had dinner in the hotel every night- that's how good it was! Really enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your words of praise!

I felt extremely proud of my team while reading your lines as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to your third stay and many more others.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and decided that the hotel would be somewhere very special to stay - we were not to be disappointed.
The reception staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming. I am a member of the Sofitel guest loyalty programme and the reception staff upgraded us to a Junior Suite to mark the occasion of our anniversary. Our room was very spacious and in a quiet location with a view over Pall Mall. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable, so we slept well.
We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant - Le Balcon (The Balcony). The food was excellent with a good choice of menu options.
Overall we had both a memorable and an enjoyable stay. We plan to return for the next special occasion - my retirement.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sir,

I am truly glad to hear that you have had a wonderful and memorable 38th wedding anniversary with us at Sofitel London St James. Such an occasion can't be missed.

I thank you for complementing the whole staff for their high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to celebrate your retirement and for also many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in June with my husband and two teenaged children. The location was excellent for us since we were interested in all the touristy things -- walking distance to many major sites. Our rooms were well-appointed and service was generally good. The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was excellent, and we reminisced about it during the remainder of our trip. The only issue we had was that since this is an older building, we had a couple of things that needed attention, but nothing major. The most annoying thing was a toilet that flushed when it wanted to -- but would generally flush after a few tries. All in all, quite posh! Had to warn the kids that the hotels on the rest of our trip would not be as nice. One final note on location -- walking distance to Piccadilly Circus, the London Eye, Big Ben, the National Gallery, among others; also a block or two from a hop-on-hop-off bus stop, as well as the subway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very nice feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that you and your family have really enjoyed staying at Sofitel London St James.

Thank you also for pointing out the delicious breakfast you have had in our restaurant The Balcon. We proud ourselves in using the freshest products on the market.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you all back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews