We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The reputation and consistently high guest ratings are very well deserved.

From the moment I checked in to the minute I checked out, I found everything about Sofitel St James to be absolutely perfect.

From the amazing location to the splendid decor. From the friendly, helpful and extremely professional staff to the Hermes toiletries. From the ultra-comfortable bed to the mirror-polished chrome electrical switches.

The hotel bar and restaurants are also noteworthy - the St James bar in particular being in a class of its own for ambience, decor, the drinks menu and (again) wonderful staff.

Overall, utterly fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2bitKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for this exclusive feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that your experience at Sofitel London St James was "utterly fantastic"!

Thank you also for pointing out your entire satisfaction with our restaurant The Balcon and our St James Bar.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,054
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,648
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Sofitel St James London and we were extremely pleased with our stay. The location is just perfect, just minutes away from restaurants, shopping, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, etc... The service was excellent! Staff is very friendly, helpful. The rooms are just amazing, I loved the bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very good feedback!

It is a pleasure for us to read such positive lines so we know that we are on the right path in providing high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a luxury room mid-week as we were going to a concert at the O2.
The greeting on check-in was very nice, they welcomed us back as return guests.
Our room was not ready but they offered us a free cup of tea in the beautiful lounge. Very nice and very welcome!
The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable.
A note was left for us in our room on our return from the concert hoping we had enjoyed our evening and with it a lovely chocolate treat.
Thank you Jennifer for the excellent attention you gave us. We would return to this hotel again and look forward to another very good nights sleep

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guests,

I thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel London St James.

I am truly pleased to hear that you have been looked after as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you at many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The property is located centrally on a quiet street facing in a central location. Our room was a Prestige Suite and it was by far the best suite we have stayed in in London, and everything was immaculate. Sofitel's usually have a lovely muted style with soft lighting in the corridors and music, if any, that is in the background not in your face, and decor that is very attractive and opulant. Great design PLUS fantastic service and amenities. I mean at breakfast, which is also GREAT Food and French press coffee, the staff were all over us in a nice way to make sure everything was done efficiently, with care and excellence. I LOVE the Sofitel brand and style and stay there when I can in Washington, D.C., London, Paris and elsewhere. St. James is WORTH a visit, trust me.

Room Tip: The Noel Coward Suite will not disappoint!! And the theater district is a ten minute walk, as is The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwheel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

It was a real pleasure for us to pamper you all through out your stay.

I look forwward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed . The customer service at this hotel is fantastic! Everyone is there to make sure your stay is wonderful. A big thanks to Oliver, the concierge for handling our every question and request. The staff at the Balcon was superb and made each morning so pleasant for us. Location only a few blocks from Picadilly and Trafalgar square made getting around very easy. Will stay here anytime!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this positive feedback!

I am truly happy to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us as we genuinely strive in providing the highest standards of service.

I thank you for mentioning Oliver from Concierge as he is a true asset for the hotel.

I also thank you for pointing out the excellent breakfast and service provided to you in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sofitel St James in a year and it did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely and the location is perfect. It's in a classy area of London - close to Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square. The best part of this hotel however is the staff. The service is excellent and the staff so friendly. In particular, some of those working at the Balcon were very professional, attentive and extremely kind to our young son- always making him (and us) feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The Balcon staff are a real credit to the hotel. The food is also excellent. We were there for a week and had dinner in the hotel every night- that's how good it was! Really enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your words of praise!

I felt extremely proud of my team while reading your lines as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to your third stay and many more others.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and decided that the hotel would be somewhere very special to stay - we were not to be disappointed.
The reception staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming. I am a member of the Sofitel guest loyalty programme and the reception staff upgraded us to a Junior Suite to mark the occasion of our anniversary. Our room was very spacious and in a quiet location with a view over Pall Mall. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable, so we slept well.
We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant - Le Balcon (The Balcony). The food was excellent with a good choice of menu options.
Overall we had both a memorable and an enjoyable stay. We plan to return for the next special occasion - my retirement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir,

I am truly glad to hear that you have had a wonderful and memorable 38th wedding anniversary with us at Sofitel London St James. Such an occasion can't be missed.

I thank you for complementing the whole staff for their high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to celebrate your retirement and for also many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#45 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#52 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing