We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$381
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton London Canary Wharf(London)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,428)
Filter reviews
4,428 results
Traveller rating
3,579
640
134
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,579
640
134
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiccadilly circuspall mallrose loungehermes toiletriesluxury roomnational gallerybuckingham palacejames parkregent streetbeautiful hotelroom serviceturn down serviceperfect locationafternoon teawest endfive star hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 4,428 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Sofitel St James London and we were extremely pleased with our stay. The location is just perfect, just minutes away from restaurants, shopping, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, etc... The service was excellent! Staff is very friendly, helpful. The rooms are just amazing, I loved the bathroom!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celestine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very good feedback!

It is a pleasure for us to read such positive lines so we know that we are on the right path in providing high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a luxury room mid-week as we were going to a concert at the O2.
The greeting on check-in was very nice, they welcomed us back as return guests.
Our room was not ready but they offered us a free cup of tea in the beautiful lounge. Very nice and very welcome!
The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable.
A note was left for us in our room on our return from the concert hoping we had enjoyed our evening and with it a lovely chocolate treat.
Thank you Jennifer for the excellent attention you gave us. We would return to this hotel again and look forward to another very good nights sleep

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guests,

I thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel London St James.

I am truly pleased to hear that you have been looked after as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you at many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The property is located centrally on a quiet street facing in a central location. Our room was a Prestige Suite and it was by far the best suite we have stayed in in London, and everything was immaculate. Sofitel's usually have a lovely muted style with soft lighting in the corridors and music, if any, that is in the background not in your face, and decor that is very attractive and opulant. Great design PLUS fantastic service and amenities. I mean at breakfast, which is also GREAT Food and French press coffee, the staff were all over us in a nice way to make sure everything was done efficiently, with care and excellence. I LOVE the Sofitel brand and style and stay there when I can in Washington, D.C., London, Paris and elsewhere. St. James is WORTH a visit, trust me.

Room Tip: The Noel Coward Suite will not disappoint!! And the theater district is a ten minute walk, as is The Ivy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwheel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

It was a real pleasure for us to pamper you all through out your stay.

I look forwward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed . The customer service at this hotel is fantastic! Everyone is there to make sure your stay is wonderful. A big thanks to Oliver, the concierge for handling our every question and request. The staff at the Balcon was superb and made each morning so pleasant for us. Location only a few blocks from Picadilly and Trafalgar square made getting around very easy. Will stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for this positive feedback!

I am truly happy to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us as we genuinely strive in providing the highest standards of service.

I thank you for mentioning Oliver from Concierge as he is a true asset for the hotel.

I also thank you for pointing out the excellent breakfast and service provided to you in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sofitel St James in a year and it did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely and the location is perfect. It's in a classy area of London - close to Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square. The best part of this hotel however is the staff. The service is excellent and the staff so friendly. In particular, some of those working at the Balcon were very professional, attentive and extremely kind to our young son- always making him (and us) feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The Balcon staff are a real credit to the hotel. The food is also excellent. We were there for a week and had dinner in the hotel every night- that's how good it was! Really enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your words of praise!

I felt extremely proud of my team while reading your lines as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to your third stay and many more others.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews