We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel London St James Hotel for 4 nights in July. We were on a family holiday to London to see the sights. The hotels location was absolutely perfect for seeing the sights of London, right next to Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square would really recommend for this.

When we were checking in we all got complimentary fruit juice which was really nice as it was so hot outside at the time, the hotel lobby was gorgeous with fresh flowers and a lovely smell every time you came into the hotel.

We have an 11 month old daughter who the staff were extremely lovely too, they even left a teddy bear gift in our room for her which she loved!

The room was cleaned and tidied every time we left, no complaints at all. Also really appreciated the air con as it was so hot when we stayed it was lovely coming back to a nice cool room.

In all i can't pick one fault with the hotel and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Io C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

I am truly happy to hear that you and your family have very much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed all of our guests are very important to us and we genuinely love to pamper them.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,075)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 4,076 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Planning our 35th anniversary to London we picked the Sofitel St. James because of it's reputation. We were overwhelmed with their staff and service and not disappointed. We had arrived from Los Angeles after a long delayed flight tired, hungry and weary. Since the Tour de France was in London that day our transfer from Heathrow was cancelled plus no taxis available. But taking the subway, which was a great way to start our London experience, we walked the last few blocks which was fine. While checking us in the sweet front desk staff immediate served us juices as a welcome which was very kind. The staff, from the doorman to the conceirge to housekeeping and kitchen staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable for 5 nights. The staff in the restaurant where very attentive to all our requests. The food excellent. The room and bath was large and spacious. The hotel was very clean and tidy and close to everything. Theater district, Piccadilly Circus, museums et al. I highly recommend the Sofitel. You'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this great feedback!

Thank you for pointing out the very attentive staff as our priority is to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location (close to the Theatre Royal), décor, helpfulness of the staff and the evening meal in The Balcon were excellent.


We expected a 'cooked to order' breakfast not a disappointing buffet. The rest of the breakfast choices were very good. If you cannot get hot water in the bath; ask where the safety button is.

Room Tip: If you are our age (65+) make sure that you ask for a room with a bath. Room 501 only has a shower...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Howie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your positive feedabck.

I am happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

With regards to breakfast, you can definitely have it ordered A La Carte if you wish so. We also have this option appart from our fresh buffet.

Looking forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a business trip and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, from the moment I booked the stay through to the time we left.
The location is perfect - the peace of St James Park where we ran every morning and the hubbub of Piccadilly and beyond.
Would struggle to find a nicer hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie21265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for this great feedback!

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a very enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back for leisure purposes too.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is the second time that we went there as the location is very convenient to meet with our friends, go shopping and have a walk in St James Park.
We could appreciate also the kindness of the staff : as an example, my 3-year old daughter spilled part of welcome drink on her shirt and it was cleaned in two hours... and staff member remembered her name the following days. Each time we had a request, it was quickly handled.
We were upgraded to Prestige Suites and we could appreciate how quiet they were, especially in the Pall Mall-Waterloo Place corner.

Room Tip: Rooms on Charles II St are near a bus stop... nevertheless isolation is very good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaud N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear sir,

I thank you for your very good feedback!

Indeed every guest is highly important to us and it is our priority to pamper and look after each and every one.

I am truly glad to hear that you and your family have very much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James and I look forward to welcoming youall back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rather stumbled across this great bar in St James' whilst taking a detour to the office. You will find it deep within the opulent building and it is really cosy. The staff are very attentive and the wine list (for the area) is well priced. I went to have a 'nose' in the restaurant and again the staff were very friendly. I shall most certainly return when I have more to time to enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NickTip124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear sir,

It is very good to hear that you have really enjoyed our St James Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you again and please have either lunch or dinner or both of the meals in our restaurant The Balcon. I am sure you will love it too.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location, great facilities and lovely staff. Close to Trafalgar Square, National Gallery, Her Majesty Teatre and more. The concierge kindly got tickets almost impossible in premium seats. And due my loyalty card and status, i got upgraded apartment to suite, making the value be more appropriate. Then this is a great place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank GranvileAlencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I am truly glad to hear that our Concierge officers have been able to find you seats to the show you were willing to attend as sometimes it is quite challenging.

I thank you for your loyalty and look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
814 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,869 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,072 in London
2,548 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,072 in London
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £282 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing