We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Rooms, Cocktail Bar and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has got it all for central London. It is a few minutes walk from Piccadilly circus tube station, round the corner from trafalgar square and within walking distance of the theatre area. It has a nice gym with a weird relaxation bed thing that i have never seen before - check it out! We were upgraded to a superior room and it was very large, the bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom compact but functional with Hermes toiletries which i liked allot. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly which is pleasant to return to after a day in the hustle and bustle of London. The cocktail bar is fabulous with a wide array of interesting cocktails on offer. We had dinner one evening and found the ambience and wine selection very good but unfortunately the food was not that great. Similarly the breakfast continental and cooked selection could have been better. Overall its a beautiful hotel in the heart of the city...a true sanctuary in a great location.

Room Tip: Superior room was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shazfantaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this positive feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for pointing out the excellent cocktails served in our St James Bar. The team there is really amazing.

Yes try out the Sha chair in the So-FIT on your next visit. You will love it. It is a unique experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 4,119 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent location, superb food, and friendly and competent staff. Many interesting sites are just in Walking distance, e.g the Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Buckingam Palace, The National Gallery and so on.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

What a wonderful feedback! Thank you for that!

I felt proud of my whole team to read your quote as Sofitel London St James being "One of the best places to stay in London"! Indeed we genuinely love to look after and to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights! The staff make this hotel very pleasent and helpfull and look happy to be working there. Breakfeast are amazing great start for the days ahead. Stayed in a classic room not big however bed very nice good showers. It was our Anversery and on the second night the hotel laid on a lovely cake in our bedroom great touch.

Good location for all of London. Parking expensive so have a look round before you book.

The only down size Drinks very expensive, however very well presented so good for a night cap.

Room Tip: Pre book your car park !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay as well as your breakfast in our restaurant The Balcon.

I look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for six nights at this hotel in June. We arrived by Eurostar into St. Pancras Railway station and took the underground to Piccadilly Circus Tube Station. The hotel is a short, two block walk from Piccadilly Circus Station. The staff were very helpful and after a quick check in(we arrived early, around 10:30 am and our room was ready) we settled into our room. We were asked if we wanted an upgrade which we declined, and I must say that our room was lovely. Very nicely appointed, lovely bathroom with separate tub and shower, and the bed was wonderful. Very nice linens and it was like sleeping on a cloud. The room was incredibly quiet and just perfect. There was complimentary wifi that worked beautifully and quick. I love that I don't have to pay for wifi. The hotel location was perfect, so close to the underground, but also very close walking distance to many of the sights. We really agonized about the location before we booked, and I must say that I think we did really well with the location. Lots of restaurants near by. A wonderful Pret a Manger right by the hotel that had wonderful sandwiches and breakfast choices. The hotel is also very close to the theatre district; we walked home one night from seeing a musical. All in all it was a perfect hotel, perfect location. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Floatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your words of praise.

I am truly happy to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James. I thank you also for pointing out our attentive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location - a little off the main roads so surprisingly quiet at night but close to all the main central London activities.

Service was absolutely first class and we wre well taken care of at every part of our stay from checking in, to getting a taxi to service in the bar.

Rooms are nicely decorated but ours was quite small - I was hoping for something a little bigger. We also were at the back of the hotel so no views. We booked through American Express and I guess we didn't pay enough to have a room with a view! having said that the beds were wonderuflly comfortable and we slept better than we ever have!

Bathrooms are lovely with good strong showers. The only issue was ours didn't have a proper bathroom door, just two closet type doors. So you could not really get any privacy - if you wanted.

I would happily stay here again when next in London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SAD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

I am happy ot hear that you have very much enjoyed staying at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed our location is perfect as it is central yet on the quiet Waterloo Place.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent service as we strive in genuinely providing high standards.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a "luxury room" @ £360 per night.

London has always offered poor value for money compared with other great cities. So our room expectation was lowered but we focussed on the 32m2 and the fast internet.

The actual bedroom is 3.5 x 4 m for about 14 m2. The hall ( containing 2 small wardrobes is over 10m2. The resulting package is poor value for money.

The "wifi and high speed internet" is very poor. Look at the test results.

The fact that the room was not ready until 3.45pm ( contracted 3pm ) did not raise my joy.

The value for money reminds me of my last visit to London and the value is decreasing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room. As a matter of fact our rooms do not have the same layout and shape so each and every one is different however Luxury Rooms are spacious and much much larger than the measurements mentioned in your message.

Usually our complimentary 512KB wifi is enough to browse your e-mails and noone never complained about our high speed internet connection not being fast enough. Sorry about that.

Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,076 in London
1,184 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £279 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing