We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special experience at the Sofitel St James”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #23 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a beautiful, luxurious hotel perfectly located next to Piccadilly Circus. The style was opulent, the beds were enveloping and luxurious, the service was just that little bit better than anywhere at every touch point. I would love to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NigelDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your extremely enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Sofitel St. James is a wonderful hotel. Service, accommodations, ambience are all top-notch. Concierge services are excellent. Location is wonderful. I highly recommend the St.James...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarpeDiem153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for complimenting our high standards of service. This is our utmost reward!

Thank you also for pointing out our Concierge services. The team is a true asset for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On a return visit with my sister ( albeit the gap had been over a year) we were treated like old friends by the lovely Sally Ann and staff at the Sofitel. This deluxe hotel has the edge over many others in London as the staff make you feel part of the family and service is superb..We ate in the bar and restaurant and both meals were excellent with not just efficient service but friendly too and always with a warm smile.
Rooms are very comfortable with wonderful beds and bathrooms with walk- in showers - a must for me! Lovely Hermes toilettries and everywhere is very clean.
This hotel has an excellent location for us as we enjoy the ballet/opera and it's an easy walk to the Colliseum or the Royal Ballet. We also visited the nearby Whitehall Banqueting hall one morning which was very interesting.
We felt safe and cossetted at this hotel - it made a wonderful break for us both. We hope to return soon. Our thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of personalised service. Indeed the staff makes the whole difference when it comes down to service. Thank you for pointing out your extreme satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Was with my girlfriend and it was perfect.
very good hotel, good food and good cocktail.
Central location beautiful room. We hope we can come back very soon.. but london is expensive city :)
thank you Sofitel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear sir,

I am glad to hear that you and your girlfriend have had an amazing time with us at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Sofitel St. James is my favorite hotel for a stay in london. Absolutely helpful guest services team that are very welcoming and helpful. The Sofitel's ambiance is a blend of cozy and modern; I found the facilities to be very nicely renovated and well-maintained and all services are excellent (laundry, room service, wifi and especially the spa which is absolutely lovely). At the same time the hotel is small enough to cater to you as an individual and offer some very nice special touches. I have stayed at the Sofitel various times and have always had a superb stay. This hotel provides most of the amenities of a large hotel although the gym area is rather small as are the restaurant and tea room facilities however if that is not important to you (it was not to me) then everything else makes up for it.

The location is great and in the heart of Piccadilly and St. James which is really as central as it gets in West London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sammooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Madam,

I thank you for this wonderful feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the cosy atmosphere we have implemented in the hotel as well as our personalised service. As a matter of fact we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed there for the second time and it is still the best beds and location for our business trips to London. It is not cheap but what is in this city ? Great great service and very clean rooms and bathroom. Close to National Gallery and so Leicester square it is great hotel to stay. Very quiet. We will go back for sure...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rembrandtvrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your "great stay" at Sofitel London St James. Our guests' satisfaction is our utmost reward.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my 40th last month and from the moment we walked in and were greeted very warmly and with a welcome drink we knew we'd made a great choice in choosing the Sofitel St James.

The friendly receptionist informed us of the history on this beautiful hotel and showed us around, which we thought was a great touch before showing us to our room, which was fabulous, very large with 4 windows and with a view of the Houses of Parliament. The decor was very classy and the bed extremely comfortable. I was even lucky enough to have brought up to the room a small chocolate cake with a rose and cards from the hotel staff, all beautifully presented especially for my birthday. A lovely treat indeed.

The hotel is in a great location in the thick of it all by Regent Street, Piccadilly, Eros and tube stations. The drinks as always are expensive but still worth visiting the bars in the hotel as it's all part of the experience and enjoyment of staying here and again the staff are excellent.

On our first night we were offered a turn down service whereby bottles of water and fresh towels were left and toiletries even replaced.
On the second night we rang through to housekeeping for a turn down service as a card was pushed under the door as we had the do not disturb sign displayed, but unfortunately when we returned to our room after a night out this had not been done. I feel a bit of a misery commenting on this as its the only gripe during our weekend, but when you're paying a very lot of money and the hotel offer this service it was a bit of a disappointment.

However, this is a first class hotel who made my 40th memorable and would jump at the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Madam,

First of all CONGRATULATIONS! Every occasion is a way for us to pamper our guests and I am happy to read that you were touched by our attention.

I am really glad to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sofitel London St James.

I am sorry for the miscommunication regarding the turn down service on your second night. As a matter of fact as the sign Do Not Disturb was still on Housekeeping maids thought that you had changed your mind and did not want to be serviced anymore.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
1,199 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,676 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
The Trafalgar St. James, Curio Collection by Hilton
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £245 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing